We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castillo Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Cristina Playa Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H&B Lodge and Restaurant(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
44
21
5
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
21
5
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Great hotel..great hosts and staff. Luxury and comfortable accommodations, fantastic breakfast and evenings around the bar are the perfect way to end the day!.It's centrally located..easy to move around the region from. Close to natural attractions.Highly recommend Costa Coral!!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks so much for taking the time to post This! We are trying super hard to make all our guests visits the best!!! See you again soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Last week I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at this small garden hotel. Ed and Amelia made sure that everything was perfect and were always around to give guidance about the local community. The room was great, comfortable bed and we quite enjoyed the restaurant. These owners care about the Tambor community and didn't hesitate to recommend other restaurants and bars, which seems rare in this country. Worth the stop during your travels on the southern end of the Nicoya Peninsula!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and your time to write us a review. It's appreciated and makes me smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Spent a wonderful vacation at the Costa Coral this January 2016 and with the help of Ed and Amelia saw a little bit of the real Tico life. We were able to rent a dune buggy and went on adventures exploring off road, neighbouring beaches and towns.

We loved the romantic setting of our room and we saw hummingbirds right outside our door. Our room had its own patio and a sitting area indoors as well as the bed and bath rooms. We saw mackaws flying overhead as we lazed in the pool surrounded by what seemed like a beautiful jungle. The pool was also the perfect temperature at night under the moon. We were able to walk to the beach and see the sunrise.

The restaurant has a wonderful welcoming open air environment and with Amelia and Helen both cooking we were able to try out Costa Rican food as well as fulfil our Canadian cravings. Try out some of the fresh fruit - its amazing how much better it is than what we Canadians get. The pineapples are the best I have ever had. mmmmmmm Thanks again to the wonderful staff... meals were exceptional and so was the hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rika1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I stayed at the Costa Coral from 02 Jan - 06 Jan 16 and I can honestly say that this hotel was awesome. From the managers who are from Aurora Cananda to the staff who always greeted you with a smile. The rooms are very spacious and come with all you need and are cleaned daily and to a high standard. The food was amazing and cooked to perfection and you definatley get an ample amount. You need to try the Maple flavored Cheeze it to die for. The only issue I had was that the interet was at times slow or didn't work. They going through with an upgrade of the system, but hell was there to relax and get disconnected from the world so all good. I would recomend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Louis

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is close to the pool for relaxing with a drink after a day of exploring.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Hey Louis, thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review! It was great to have you and the whole gang of friends you came with, you guys were so much fun! I look forward to your next visit when we meet the family! (ps- Ed and I are from Paris, ON, but I know the past operators were from Aurora, that must have come up in conversations! ha ha-we want our friends to know we are really here, living the dream! ) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We spent 5 days here and found it very convenient for touring around the South Nicoya peninsula. The hotel was very clean and staff friendly and personable. The pool area is gorgeous and we found it a great place to relax after an excursion or just to hang out for a morning or afternoon. Amelia and Ed have done a terrific job and looked after all of our needs. We arrived quite late on our first evening and they made sure we were properly fed and watered before turning in for the night.
All in all a terrific experience.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hugh_and_Terri_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Thank you so much for the great review! You know before we started I didn't realize how much of an impact the reviews would have on my personal being! but it brings joy & a smile to my face to read such nice reviews, we are trying so hard! thanks again and hope to see you next trip! Ed & Amelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews