We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what is going on here.”
Review of Hotel Costa Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costa Coral
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Having stayed in the hotel 8 years ago, I had a reason to be back in the area and had booked this hotel through the Canadian developer that owns this property. We showed up on the day of our reservation with no one knowing we were coming and next to no staff. The silver lining was that Jesus(Chewie) was still around to try his best to make things work. The property itself is still nice although basically abandoned-we were there with Helene and Karinna who did the cooking and small amounts of cleaning and Chewie who was the designated English speaker for us. The bar/restaurant which had been vibrant with locals and travellers alike was empty and no liquor license along with no ability to cook except for the breakfast they rustled up for us. No hot water or even warm water in the showers but I wasn't really sure who I could have look at it since there was o one there at night. My mistake there was security at night to watch the front entrance. Just not a place I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016

Great hotel..great hosts and staff. Luxury and comfortable accommodations, fantastic breakfast and evenings around the bar are the perfect way to end the day!.It's centrally located..easy to move around the region from. Close to natural attractions.Highly recommend Costa Coral!!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks so much for taking the time to post This! We are trying super hard to make all our guests visits the best!!! See you again soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Last week I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at this small garden hotel. Ed and Amelia made sure that everything was perfect and were always around to give guidance about the local community. The room was great, comfortable bed and we quite enjoyed the restaurant. These owners care about the Tambor community and didn't hesitate to recommend other restaurants and bars, which seems rare in this country. Worth the stop during your travels on the southern end of the Nicoya Peninsula!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and your time to write us a review. It's appreciated and makes me smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Spent a wonderful vacation at the Costa Coral this January 2016 and with the help of Ed and Amelia saw a little bit of the real Tico life. We were able to rent a dune buggy and went on adventures exploring off road, neighbouring beaches and towns.

We loved the romantic setting of our room and we saw hummingbirds right outside our door. Our room had its own patio and a sitting area indoors as well as the bed and bath rooms. We saw mackaws flying overhead as we lazed in the pool surrounded by what seemed like a beautiful jungle. The pool was also the perfect temperature at night under the moon. We were able to walk to the beach and see the sunrise.

The restaurant has a wonderful welcoming open air environment and with Amelia and Helen both cooking we were able to try out Costa Rican food as well as fulfil our Canadian cravings. Try out some of the fresh fruit - its amazing how much better it is than what we Canadians get. The pineapples are the best I have ever had. mmmmmmm Thanks again to the wonderful staff... meals were exceptional and so was the hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rika1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I stayed at the Costa Coral from 02 Jan - 06 Jan 16 and I can honestly say that this hotel was awesome. From the managers who are from Aurora Cananda to the staff who always greeted you with a smile. The rooms are very spacious and come with all you need and are cleaned daily and to a high standard. The food was amazing and cooked to perfection and you definatley get an ample amount. You need to try the Maple flavored Cheeze it to die for. The only issue I had was that the interet was at times slow or didn't work. They going through with an upgrade of the system, but hell was there to relax and get disconnected from the world so all good. I would recomend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Louis

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is close to the pool for relaxing with a drink after a day of exploring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Hey Louis, thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review! It was great to have you and the whole gang of friends you came with, you guys were so much fun! I look forward to your next visit when we meet the family! (ps- Ed and I are from Paris, ON, but I know the past operators were from Aurora, that must have come up in conversations! ha ha-we want our friends to know we are really here, living the dream! ) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tambor hotels
3.6 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 km away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
2 km away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 6 in Tambor
1,532 reviews
1.2 km away
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
0 km away
H&B Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Coral

Address: | Center of Playa Tambor, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range: €38 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Coral, located in Playa Tambor, is a 5 minutes walk from the beach. Costa Rica is busier then ever and is under new management. We are a clean, boutique hotel, with a beautifully landscaped garden & pool area. Our wonderfully appointed restaurant is adorned with balconies & beautiful. We offers fresh local cuisine, with the finest ingredients, our food is prepared with heart and soul. We are a great place for your home base as you take advantage of the many activities within a 30 min radius. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Coral Costa Rica/Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing