We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Costa Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costa Coral
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights and had a great stay. Very clean, spacious and bright rooms. Bedroom, Living Room (with couch that folds into a double bed) and bathroom. We overlooked the beautiful gardens with pool and water fall feature. Quiet, private and the hosts were very welcoming and freindly.

Room Tip: By the gardens/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you Clare! Being new to the hotel, it means so much to us to hear positive feed back! We are trying our best and know how important having a good time on your vacation is, and that guests are comfortable in your home away from home! We will continue to work hard to ensure this! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in CR! Give our regards to J. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2015

We are a couple traveling from the East Coast of Canada. This is our 4th visit to Costa Rica and 2nd time in Tambor. We stayed at the Costa Coral on our first visit and loved it. The room was great, a/c rooms, great access to the pool. A large beach(which is amazing) is less than 5 min walk from the hotel. The hotel staff are awesome, great hospitality by Ed and Amelia. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. Jason the bartender/ server has a great personality, very friendly and charismatic. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job making up the room everyday. The restaurant has a wide selection and very reasonably priced. There is a good mix of local and American/Canadian dishes. The Christmas dinner Amelia put together was just amazing...I would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Oh it was such a pleasure to meet you both, thank you for taking time to write us a review! You were a pleasure to host and we appreciate your patience while we learn the ropes here in Costa Rica! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our bit of paradise & to have made new friends down east! Thanks for teaching us a new game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay! Near the beach and other places to visit. Everything clean, ordered, beautiful gardens, attention, exquisite breakfast. Price was good, but the restaurant a little high, however was delicious. I definitely would come back again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Grettel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your honest words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Under new management this charming hotel was perfect for unwinding at the end of a travel day. Even though not quite reopened after renos, etc Eduordo and Amelia were more than gracious and helpful. Rooms were beautiful with lovely linens, small fridge and coffee maker. The hotel itself is beautiful with a fabulous dining area and gorgeous gardens. Excellent pool and deck area. The food was outstanding - some of the best we've had in our month long trip to CR. The only negative is a bit noisy as it is beside the road but quiet in the rooms. Noise seems to be worse when ferry arrives from Paquera

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Thank you so very much for the kind words and taking the time to write. It was a pleasure to host you and your husband and I am so thrilled you stumbled upon us! I hope the balance of your trip is going great, and we look forward to seeing you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We have stayed in Costa Coral Hotel to look at real estate. Very nicely created oasis with complete privacy from the surrounding area. I was impressed with good taste of the owners and exotic flourishing gardens. Each member of the staff and owners were helpful and polite, however service at the restaurant not the fastest possible which did not bother us, as we have decided to take it Central America pace. in We have arrived late at night and were surprised the fruit snacks were ready waiting for us. We were extremely tired due to long travel, poor connection with the airport and yet, we were expected to start viewing properties early morning! We were exhausted! If they let us sleep -would be much nicer. Knocking at our door awoke us every day. High pressure sales environment. Once we were driven back and forth and ultimately did not have enough time to spend on privately discussing investment opportunity and did not end up buying. You have to make reservation for small plane from Tambor to St. Jose. The number of seats is limited and if you miss that, you will spend lots of time on taxi, take ferry and another taxi in order to make it to the airport (maybe 8-10 hours total). So, the location is not easy to access. Also, the sand on the beach was kind of grey and we prefer white or golden.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room as the one we had was not airy enough and we saw lots of ants for some reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tambor hotels
3.6 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 km away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
2 km away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 6 in Tambor
1,534 reviews
1.2 km away
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
0 km away
H&B Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Coral

Address: | Center of Playa Tambor, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range: €38 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Coral, located in Playa Tambor, is a 5 minutes walk from the beach. Costa Rica is busier then ever and is under new management. We are a clean, boutique hotel, with a beautifully landscaped garden & pool area. Our wonderfully appointed restaurant is adorned with balconies & beautiful. We offers fresh local cuisine, with the finest ingredients, our food is prepared with heart and soul. We are a great place for your home base as you take advantage of the many activities within a 30 min radius. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Coral Costa Rica/Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing