We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castillo Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Cristina Playa Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
H&B Lodge and Restaurant(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mar y Sol Ecotel(Tambor)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
44
20
5
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
20
5
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We are a couple traveling from the East Coast of Canada. This is our 4th visit to Costa Rica and 2nd time in Tambor. We stayed at the Costa Coral on our first visit and loved it. The room was great, a/c rooms, great access to the pool. A large beach(which is amazing) is less than 5 min walk from the hotel. The hotel staff are awesome, great hospitality by Ed and Amelia. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. Jason the bartender/ server has a great personality, very friendly and charismatic. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job making up the room everyday. The restaurant has a wide selection and very reasonably priced. There is a good mix of local and American/Canadian dishes. The Christmas dinner Amelia put together was just amazing...I would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, General Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Oh it was such a pleasure to meet you both, thank you for taking time to write us a review! You were a pleasure to host and we appreciate your patience while we learn the ropes here in Costa Rica! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our bit of paradise & to have made new friends down east! Thanks for teaching us a new game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay! Near the beach and other places to visit. Everything clean, ordered, beautiful gardens, attention, exquisite breakfast. Price was good, but the restaurant a little high, however was delicious. I definitely would come back again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Grettel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your honest words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Under new management this charming hotel was perfect for unwinding at the end of a travel day. Even though not quite reopened after renos, etc Eduordo and Amelia were more than gracious and helpful. Rooms were beautiful with lovely linens, small fridge and coffee maker. The hotel itself is beautiful with a fabulous dining area and gorgeous gardens. Excellent pool and deck area. The food was outstanding - some of the best we've had in our month long trip to CR. The only negative is a bit noisy as it is beside the road but quiet in the rooms. Noise seems to be worse when ferry arrives from Paquera

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia M, Manager at Hotel Costa Coral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Thank you so very much for the kind words and taking the time to write. It was a pleasure to host you and your husband and I am so thrilled you stumbled upon us! I hope the balance of your trip is going great, and we look forward to seeing you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We have stayed in Costa Coral Hotel to look at real estate. Very nicely created oasis with complete privacy from the surrounding area. I was impressed with good taste of the owners and exotic flourishing gardens. Each member of the staff and owners were helpful and polite, however service at the restaurant not the fastest possible which did not bother us, as we have decided to take it Central America pace. in We have arrived late at night and were surprised the fruit snacks were ready waiting for us. We were extremely tired due to long travel, poor connection with the airport and yet, we were expected to start viewing properties early morning! We were exhausted! If they let us sleep -would be much nicer. Knocking at our door awoke us every day. High pressure sales environment. Once we were driven back and forth and ultimately did not have enough time to spend on privately discussing investment opportunity and did not end up buying. You have to make reservation for small plane from Tambor to St. Jose. The number of seats is limited and if you miss that, you will spend lots of time on taxi, take ferry and another taxi in order to make it to the airport (maybe 8-10 hours total). So, the location is not easy to access. Also, the sand on the beach was kind of grey and we prefer white or golden.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room as the one we had was not airy enough and we saw lots of ants for some reason.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our group: 2 females (age: 25) & 2 parents (age: ~60)

Rooms: Clean, spacious, A/C worked great, good view of the pool from all rooms

Food: Food was great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (special thanks to the chef for giving us her recipe for the rice & beans!).

Staff: All of the staff was very friendly and helpful! Thank you for making our stay with you enjoyable.

Pool: An oasis! The landscaping and pool furniture setup is amazing - we almost always had the area all to ourselves, were isolated from the road, and it was beautiful :)

Location: 5 min walk to Tambor Beach and a convenience store; 15 minute drive to Montezuma; 30 minute boat ride to Isla Tortuga (which you can book through the hotel)

Thanks Costa Coral staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews