We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Barcelo.comUS$170
Expedia.comUS$170
PricelineUS$170
Hotels.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$170
Trip.comUS$240
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,554)
Filter reviews
3,554 results
Traveller rating
1,658
873
500
303
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,658
873
500
303
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant san jose mini golf the buffet area kids club air transat a la carte restaurants kids pool beach volleyball seafood lounge chairs low tide clean beach howler monkeys a great vacation ferry ride horseback riding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,554 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2021

Worth every penny! Super friendly staff and great location and food! The premium is well worth the money and the personalized care by premium staff like Glenda was exactly what you want to pay for when your at a resort!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank RJGG1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Trip for 4 nights January 2021
Grounds and layout - great, clean beach and area. Pool area clean and tidy.
Room - good. AC unit in our room was loud, could not sleep with the AC running so we turned it off for sleeping.
Room cleaned daily, that part was good.
Food Service buffet - slow and unorganized. Food not especially good. Employees not particularly inspired or friendly. Cold foods and salads much better than the hot food buffet offerings. Covid protocols, not enforced in lineups or seating areas.
Food Service buffet overflow - Q- What time do you open? A-We open at 8 am. Q-It is 8 05. A-We aren't open yet. Seriously!!
Food Service A La Carte - Japanese restaurant - excellent service, excellent food.
Food Service A La Carte - Steak and Seafood restaurant - Very good service, average food. Seafood overcooked, mariscos was rubbery and fish was overdone and bland.
Food Service Snack Bar - slow and unorganized. Lineup for a burger, then lineup again for mustard or ketchup? WTF. 15 people in line and 2 patties on the grill, even I know that isn't efficient. Covid protocols, somewhat enforced, no room to space in the lineup.
Food Service Bar/Drink Service - Quick and efficient, but low quality alcohols. Covid protocols mostly enforced but not always.
Entertainment - good, enjoyable. Live music and also dance troupe. A little loud, but good. Would be nice to have table service for drinks instead of having to lineup while watching the entertainment instead of staff just taking your empties.
Internet in room - hit and miss. Not a great connection and in this day and age paying for internet is a crime.
Entertainment for kids - Trampoline - Q-we want to try this. A-We open at 3. Q-What time is it now. A-......... (It was 3 05). We didn't go.

We had been here before and noticed that the food quality has gone downhill to the point where we may not return. It is certainly not worth the high price to spend so much time waiting in line for mediocre food.

Room tip: The farther away from the main dining entertainment area the better.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

The first impression of the grounds and the buildings is great. The grounds are well kept and very nice looking.
It's hot in this part of CR, but the A/C unit was so loud that we made a decision to cool the room off then turn off the air to try and sleep. None of us could sleep with the air con unit running.
Covid protocols were a little confusing for dining. A lot of tables had signs on them indicating "don't sit here", but if people sat they got served and nothing was said. Covid protocols, buffet service was slow. There are 2 lines going down each side of the buffet service, with 2 people on each side. When your turn comes, the employee takes your plate and you choose your cold foods, then your plate gets handed over to the hot food person and you choose your hot foods. You can imagine how long this takes if there are 20 people in front of you. No "social distance" spacing in line, because there isn't enough room to do that. Then there is the dessert station, with generally 1 person looking after everyone. It is possible to spend 1 hour of wait time just standing in line for each meal 3 times per day. The cold station including salads was good, the hot station with the mains was not great. We mostly passed on desserts because the wait time wasn't worth it, but the few times we braved the lineup, the dessert offerings were good. Unfortunately, milk and yogurt are also offered at the dessert station, so if you want a bowl of yogurt or a glass of milk, into the line you go.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank KPcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

We had an excellent stay in that hotel. The rooms were big, clean and well equipped. The hotel territory is beautiful arranged. The food was good. The food was good, also one of the a la carte restaurants was a bit special. Unfortunately, one of the a la carte restaurants was closed for several days. There was a big animation program and several special events and evening shows. One special thing is, that they have a holy mass every week. The beach is with stones and there are a lot of wild animals. Swimming is not so good because of high waves like everywhere at Costa Rican Pacific Coast. The hotel is helpful with excursion offers. One of the things that weren't so good was the hotel wifi, although it was charged. So we bought a local SIM, which also is quite expensive. Nearby, there is a parrot zoo, which also takes care about wildlife protection, inside the territory operated by the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanshorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia Blanco, Propietario at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Dear Romanshorner

Thank you for your insights following. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepare by our profesional chefs and the entertainment program.

Regarding our beach, we deeply regret your disappointment about swimming.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our wifi service, nowadays the wifi is with higher connection speed and without charge

Thank for your constructive crítics.

Regards
Christian Alvarado
General Manager
Barceló Tambor Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2020

Let's start with the ugly just to get it out of our way: avoid weekends at all costs as the place gets packed with noisy locals and the whole resort experience is about keeping them happy (entertainment will be just in Spanish).

The bad: it is a 25 year old All Inclusive resort and it shows everywhere, rooms, restaurants, theater, bars, lounge chairs so do not expect any luxury here. Food is not a strong point, it lacks quality.

The good: the grounds are manicured with many palm trees all over the resort and lining the beachfront which truly lends a tropical feel to it as you probably expect from your stay in Costa Rica. The beach is rocky yet expansive and perfect to just go for long strolls, mostly at low tide.

Would I go back?. Most probably if interested in an All Inclusive resort at a very reasonable price.

Room tip: Beachfront as away from the pool area as possible
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nostopping1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGX, Customer Experience at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Tambor hotel for your stay.
Regarding your comment about noise or movement of clients due to the hotel’s occupancy, please keep in mind that since the hotel has more than 400 rooms, an array of activities, entertainment and restaurants, all aimed at creating unique experiences and due to your fantastic location, our hotel tends to be busier at that time. We lament if this situation affected your stay.
We also regret your disappointment of the current state of our facilities. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations.
On the other hand, at Barcelo we always strive to make meals one of the best experiences among us and we regret your disappointment with our menu and although it has been studied so as to guarantee a varied assortment of dishes prepared with local products to please the most demanding palates, we will not fail to share your comments with our Chef for information and further revision.
On the positive side, we're glad to read you enjoyed the fantastic location. The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, opposite the beach of the same name, Playa Tambor.
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us.
We hope you had a nice journey back home and despite these issues, you will visit us again in the future.
Customer Experience | Barceló Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews