We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
337
103
18
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
103
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural lagoon tuk tuk palm trees comfortable rooms beautiful garden stayed nights chalet lagune sea waves sri galle beach paradise fisherman stilts gems
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is a casual,clean, good value and friendly establishment with not too many rooms. The location is great, just on the beach with a rock pool further away along the beach, so everybody can have a swim without being worried about strong waves. So relaxing on deck chairs under palm trees watching Indian Ocean waves breaking on on sand and rocks . The Unawatuna is a short tuctuc ride away for those in need of more choice and activity. We stayed as family (old teenager and young teenager) and will come back.

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor with balcony towards the seas: -very good!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmb20002015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

I loved this small family owned hotel!

The hospitality of staff here is wonderful and the location perfect, on an uncrowded beach. Unlike all the larger nearby beach resorts where sun baking chairs and people are squashed up next to each other competing for space, this place has fewer guests and much more communal garden space to relax. I loved sitting on the chair watching the turtles Swim around in the water in front during the day. We travelled with some Sri Lankan family friends who always visit this place so we knew it would be good! Our room was a triple, number 6, it was simple and clean with enough bench space to put all out stuff on and a nice balcony. The four poster bed was comfy and the bed sheets perfectly clean and white.

I purchased gems from the hotel's store and they were very reasonably priced and all hand made on site in their workshop out back. We met the jewellery maker and the owners and they obviously are very passionate about the hotel and their guests.

We will be back!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank annaconda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This family owned boutique hotel is wonderful! This is authentic Sri Lankan hospitality. Only 10 minutes from Galle Fort yet utterly relaxing. All the staff were friendly and helpful providing a genuine personalised service. The half board arrangement is totally worth it and includes breakfast and dinner. Food was fresh and so delicious. Rooms clean and simple, I loved our 4 poster mosquito netted bed complete with a daily scattering of flowers. The resort and all rooms face onto and are only metres from the beach. Would highly recommend. Fantastic value, for us a real Sri Lankan gem!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for 1st/2nd floor rooms with private balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from an amazing 4 night stay at Sri Gemunu. Aruna and all of the staff really go out of their way to chat and be helpful, they also arranged a cake for my partners birthday which was lovely.
The beach in front of the hotel it beautiful and there are comfy sun loungers all under the many palm trees. We loved the room (9) as it was a top floor room which had a great spacious balcony with a wonderful view of the beach. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday away from the crowded part of Unawatuna.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WendyS118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Sri Gemunu Beach Resort is as they say themselves The best place on the Beach of Unawatuna! This lovely small hotel offers so much: a beautiful situation just next to the Indian ocean and the most wonderful beach, where you can swim among fish and seaturtles; buy a refreshing coconut or just relax in the sun ; a hotel crew so serviceminded and overwhelming friendly ; some very tasty food ; cozy rooms with balconies with seaview ; a very beautiful neigbourghood close to the lagoons ; only a 5-minute tuk tuk ride to Unawatuna and much much more. This was our third visit, but absolutely not the last!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews