We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$204
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
236
71
28
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
71
28
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool private terrace nice pool hammocks privacy beach butler paradise television
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

Awesome place. Beautiful rooms,spacious.felt like king.
Separate open air bathroom but well secured. Wondering behaviour from the staff.Picturesque deck with lovely view of the Indian Ocean.
Strongly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 609parthag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedA28664, General Manager at Apa Villa Thalpe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Hi!

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. The Apa Villa Thalpe team appreciates your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you will recommend us to family and friends and will continue to support us in future. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon .

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

Very cool place, tucked away behind secure walls and right on the beach front. The online photos don’t really do it justice - it’s amazing.

It’s small, only 6 or so rooms, so very private. Suites are unreal - and meals are served right on your own terrace. Great pool, staff (including an amazing chap called Sumit) were great. Very good value. We ate Sri Lankan food most the time and this place did it well. Felt very safe and looked after.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank njmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedA28664, General Manager at Apa Villa Thalpe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Hi!

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. The Apa Villa Thalpe team appreciates your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you will recommend us to family and friends and will continue to support us in future. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon .

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent looking hotel! Great location by the beech. Close to the lively Unawatuna.

Negatives - Concerning finding a smashed glass by my bedside, which had been missed on the clean prior to our check in. Narrowly avoided a big accident as there were huge shards literally next to the ledge on the bed where I had slept! Was very lucky.

Also, had a bit of a scare when we returned to the hotel at 10pm to find a sleeping security guard in our “private dining area” who was charging his phone. Great, having security but didn’t wake up until we were by his side opening our door so not much use if there was a security threat!

Didn’t feel welcome at all times with the service. Some staff including the manager were excellent. Others not so much with regards to service. Security staff in particular were a real downfall in terms of being helpful and on one occasion very rude!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tomlar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedA28664, General Manager at Apa Villa Thalpe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Dear Tomler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. please extend my sincere apologies regarding the above incident.

We would like to inform you that we have taken the necessary action against the same.Also will assure you that we will make sure that, such incident will not repeat.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

We looked at a lot of places before choosing the Apa Villa. We were so pleased with our choice. Every meal is served at your own private dining table with a butler service. The staff are only too happy to help you out with anything, from advice on how much a TukTuk to Unawatuna or Galle should be, to letting us leave our luggage for the afternoon while we explored Galle after check out - and then letting us have a shower when we got back before our taxi to the airport. The food was spectacular. The pool is lovely too. Ideal for cooling off after using the sun loungers or hammocks. The rooms were large too. Everything was clean and worked just as we wanted. It was great to relax within an easy drive of busier places but feel wonderfully isolated too. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedA28664, General Manager at Apa Villa Thalpe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Hi!

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. The Apa Villa Thalpe team appreciates your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you will recommend us to family and friends and will continue to support us in future. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon .

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed in cinnamon 2 room, had a double and a single bed in the same room and a relaxation area plus bathroom and wet room style shower.

Good size room with Comfy bed. My partner didn’t like the toilet in the wet room but was fine with me. The approach with the hotel is to create a private atmosphere so no communal dinning area. You have your own table on a veranda and you ring a bell when you need something. Food was excellent along with the service. Great pool and grounds. Small beach, rocky if you went into the sea. We saw turtles feeding in the surf which was cool.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank forest149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedA28664, General Manager at Apa Villa Thalpe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Hi!

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. The Apa Villa Thalpe team appreciates your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you will recommend us to family and friends and will continue to support us in future. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon .

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews