We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
316
150
44
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
150
44
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach unawatuna beach huge waves indian ocean sri lanka duplex room on the rocks pool area minute walk sea view waves crashing main beach beach house sister hotel the hotel manager tuk tuk hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Good location for a local walk to beach restaurants and shops. The food in hotel was really good and the staff were excellent so helpful and friendly. Small well presented hotel. You can organise a trip to see blue whales from here and the turtle hatchery. Our driver for day from hotel was lovely and really looked after us.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nahum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Nahum,
It was a pleasure having you stay at Thaproban Pavilion and we thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property and appreciated the facilities and service levels at the hotel. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient services to all our guests and compliments such as yours are most encouraging and will always be our greatest reward.
Hope you have realized the value of a renowned transport organizer and all Transport needs can be fulfill at our resorts with more comfort and assurance .
Your generous compliments have been shared with the team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is one of the best in Unawatuna, because most of the staff is well trained, which is rare in Sri Lanka. The service is kind and friendly, the rooms are spacious, but the bathrooms are a bit rundown. Still, good value for money.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank bogric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa, Unawatuna and for sharing your lovely comments "Good value for money"with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and enjoyed our hospitality and services.
Your encouraging comments have been shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Thaproban for 10 nights and used it as a base for trips around South Sri Lanka.

We are a family of two adults and two kids at 10 and 13. We booked the family suites with two bedrooms in two levels which worked very good. Nice ocean view although not full.

The best thing was the private beach. Very cosy!

And of course, the very friendly staff!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Guest,
It was indeed a pleasure having you at Thaproban Pavilion and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.
It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience , overall product, amenities ,service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression.
And also our unique factor privet beach and best sunset in unawatuna.
We thank you for your valuable feedback.We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay and you consider our services as value for money.
Your feedback is very motivating and inspires the team to strive harder towards excellence.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Tahaproban Pavilion , Unawatuna
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This is a small boutique hotel that nestles in a cozy corner of Unawatuna. It is approached through a long, narrow winding road which ends at the hotel. The architecture is interesting - Dutch period I think...The narrow, open, cobblestone corridor leading to the pool reminds one of a street in Venice. Really loved the tastefully placed artifacts.

The service was very very good, probably the best I've experienced in a hotel in Sri Lanka. Shehan and the front office wewre particularly helpful. Shehan was very responsive from the moment of our booking, and answered my concerns promptly. The food was fine, but one gets rather bored after awhile with the sameness of the ala carte menu. I had to send a dish back for re-warming because it came in lukewarm, but here too the restaurant staff was obliging.

My one quarrel with the hotel is its lack of beachfront, which in Unawatuna, famed for its pristine beaches, is rather unforgivable. But there is a secluded area with a natural pool that borders the sea, which serves as a substitute - this belongs to the hotel, so is quite private. The view from upstairs is also being rapidly cut off by another hotel that is coming up (which has a beach front).

We were rather disturbed by the construction of the aforesaid hotel, and requested another room, which was given us. This room was better than what we had, and we are grateful to the front office for its speedy response. Frankly, we didn't like the earlier room very much because the WC was separate from the shower, and the wash basin was outside in the room. Don't understand why they didn't break down the wall separating the WC from the shower...But the room we got next had all sanitaryware built into the one location, fortunately.

It is nice to note that here is one hotel that treats all its guests alike.

All in all the owners have done their best with the location, and they have got a very customer friendly and responsive staff to ensure that this hotel continues to be a success. We wish them well.

Room Tip: Upstairs, the first room as you exit the lift or the stairs - sorry, can't remember the number (this was not available when we checked in)
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renuka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Dear Krajjy,
It was indeed a pleasure having you at Thaproban Pavilion and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience , overall product, amenities ,service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression.And also our uni q factor privet beach and best sunset in unawatuna. We thank you for your valuable feedback.We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay and you consider our services as value for money.

Your feedback is very motivating and inspires the team to strive harder towards excellence.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Tahaproban Pavilion , Unawatuna
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights and for the most part it was really great. We had a family room which was enormous over 3 levels with 2 bathrooms. Great for a big family or to share with friends. The pool is lush and saltwater which is the first time I've seen that in Sri Lanka. The restaurant is a bit hit and miss, they were having some sort of staffing issue when we stayed so it's hard to comment. When it was good, it was very very good, but when it was bad it was horrid.
Staff are lovely. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivalalanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Thaproban Pavilion Resort &Spa for your recent visit and taking the time of sharing your experiences of our resort.
We are delighted to note that you were extremely happy with the resort and its services and had a memorable stay with us
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews