We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
8
3
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
3
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large bathroom infinity pool tuk tuk sunbeds beach
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately I only have negative things to say about the hotel. I had originally booked to stay here for 5 nights but ended up checking out after 2.

Upon checking in, the first thing I noticed was a gun on the table by the pool. I have no idea what the gun was for or what type it was, however, it looked real and it made me and my boyfriend feel extremely uncomfortable.

The staff in the hotel didn’t seem to have any customer service training. There were lots of staff around but they didn’t seem to be doing their jobs. They were more interested in watching the tv or staring at us which again made us feel very uncomfortable.

If WiFi is a priority for you, do not expect to use it here as it is basically non existent all over the hotel. Despite asking reception to look into the problem it didn’t get resolved.

The pool is fairly nice and the rooms are fairly nice and modern. Our room didn’t get cleaned for the three days we were there and we had a problem with our bed sheets smelling like sick.

The 4 star rating is very deceiving, you would expect this hotel to be new and modern. However, there are clearly better options in the area so do not waste your money or time going here.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Gate Reso... U, General Manager at Water Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thanks for being with us. We extremely sorry, which you had face trouble in our premises. We don't have any idea about any gun on the table. second thing we are newly open hotel and staff are newly recruited for the position as trainee, cause of shortage of manpower. So sorry for your uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights (extending our 3)

The hotel is newly built, which is reflected in the hotels clean feel and beautiful decor (Apart from a few mis-matched items)

Staff are super friendly and seem to take an interest in you always

All rooms face the sea and give you a beautiful, romantic view outwards. The pool is nice and because of the size of the hotel, we never failed to get a Sunbed.

The walk to Unawata main restaurants/beach was around 10mins at a very leisurely pace (We did the walk several times a day and it was easy-plenty of tuk tuks if you cannot be bothered)

Internet was okay. If I was here and needed to work - I would be concerned with the internet speeds.

We found the menu too westernized (and quite expensive) so only ate once. My advice to the hotel is I didn't fly 5000 miles to eat food I can get at home!

The room was lovely, small but a TV with a good range of channels. Room cleaned daily, but our Tea/coffee facilities were only stocked on the first day. Shower was nice with good running hot/cold water.

We saw families and couples from many nations staying here and all seemed to be happy.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Gate Reso... U, General Manager at Water Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Greetings from Water Gate Resort............
We hope that you are reach to your native place safely. Thanks for being with us and grant us good comment on trip adviser. You are welcome for your next trip to Sri Lanka and join with us as your holiday partner. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer unbedingt vor Bezug besichtigen und Geräte auf ihre Funktion prüfen.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews