We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ushongo Beach's Finest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mike's Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Stayed here for a week in Aug 2016 with a group of volunteers (5 of us).

Great location. Awesome guys. Excellent hospitality. Good food. Clean rooms.

The water is a little salty due to the location being near the beach, however, that goes for all places along Ushongo Beach.

Highly recommend anyone visiting Pangani to stay at Captain Mike's place.

Room Tip: Room of 5 - Perfect for families or small groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamran U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Kamran U,

Thanks so much for your great review!

Im glad you enjoyed yourselves! Its allways nice to have groups around to liven up the place. Thanks for the compliments on my staff, Ill pass those on! Such inputs are much appreciated and motivate!

By the way Im working on trying to make the water less salty. One possibility is to draw less from the well, this Im trying now. So, maybe next time Ill have sweet water again.

I hope to have you around again to taste our water

Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

I stayed in the Cottages in Late May of 2016. The accomodations were beautiful and steps from the beach with gorgeous views of the indian ocean. The Cottages were spacious with air conditioning, very nice beds with mosquito netting, and a large bathroom. While the cottages were wonderful, we did not spend much time there as we spent the day enjoying the sand and water. I would highly recommend staying here for a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Inhaber at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear Danica D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my little place, I know to appreciate it as it always takes away precious time for other more fun things so ahsante!

Thanks for all your compliments and I would love to have you around again very soon

Ahsante Sana na heri kwa mwaka mpya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

After a few weeks in Tanzania, a group of about 15 students and I spent one of our last nights in Tanzania at Mike's place. The food was great and there is fully stocked bar on site that uses bottled water for their ice. For those traveling internationally, this might be an amenity you didn't realize you've missed. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious, equipped with mosquito netted beds, heated water, and storage space. The place is hidden down a small road in Pangani and only a few hour boat road to the island of Zanzibar. The entire staff was extremely hospitable and helped make the end of an amazing trip remarkable. A few of us stayed behind an extra night and would not have had such ease moving forward on our trip without the help of Mike and his staff. You can't get better access to a more beautiful beach...especially for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariahholstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Mariah,

I hope your trip over to Zanzi was fun! I heard back from the skipper, that all went well!

Im glad you enjoyed my lil place. we all look forward to having you back either in the group or of course on your private trip back to Tanzania.

Best,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We arrived with a group of about 15 people and four of us stayed behind an extra day. The rooms were nice and seemingly set up for a family but very suitable for co-travelers. All beds had mosquito netting and there is hot water. The cottages are super cute from the outside with a little sitting area at the front and an exposed outdoor shower for rinsing off salt water and sand which I appreciate.

The food was delicious with a variety of options. What stands out most of all is actually the staff and Mike himself. Mike was very helpful in accommodating in helping us plan our stay and arranged a boat to take us to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Emily,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We too enjoyed having your bubbly group at the lodge! Ill tell my staff, that you enjoyed your stay and the food. They will love to hear that!;0)
I hope the trip on to Zanzibar went well. The Captain called me to tell me it all went well. Im sorry I was not able to take you on sea wolf. Now she is up and running again, would not have been safe on one engine.
I also hope you all enjoyed your hena tatoos while they lasted... I hope to see you again soon.

Karibu tena!
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We stayed at Mike's for two nights after a long bus ride from Lushoto. First of all, Mike is an incredible host and willing to go beyond what is expected to meet your needs. We were able to stay an extra night because Mike personally drove us to Dar and to the airport via an extra safari at Sadani NP. Thanks again Mike!! Each day we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was so filling with more than enough food and homemade bread, and dinner was some of the freshest and most delicious seafood dinners we have eaten in a long time, The beach is great; very safe and quiet and you can walk forever. The cottage we stayed in was clean and comfortable and steps away from the beach. We were served real, fresh local coffee every morning which was such a great way to wake up. We could not recommend Mike's enough for anyone looking to have a memorable experience off the typical tourist track. Thanks again Mike for everything!!

Room Tip: any cottage is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Kyle,

Thank you so much for your VERY positive review. Im glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and am glad you made the plane in the end;0)
Making your stay as comfortable as it was is of course thanks to my staff, Im glad you enjoyed our hospitality and food so thoroughly.

I do hope to have you around again some time soon.

Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
1.5 km away
Beach Crab Resort
Beach Crab Resort
#2 of 3 in Pangani
140 reviews
0.3 km away
The Tides Lodge
The Tides Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pangani
222 reviews
29 km away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 14 in Pangani
28 reviews
16.6 km away
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Pangani
60 reviews
0 km away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pangani
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Beach Cottages

Address: Ushongo, Pangani, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangani
Price Range: €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike's Beach Cottages are located in the midst of the stunning East African landscapes. Ideally situated on a secluded bay at the edge of the Indian Ocean, the Cottages are surrounded by miles of untouched beaches, as well as the Maziwi Marine Reserve offering good snorkeling and diving opportunities. Additionally Mike's Beach Cottages offer the only professional deep sea fishing adventures on the north coast. Your accommodation options are staying in one of our two Breeze Cottages or one of our five "En Suite" Air-conditioned Cottages these are large spacious Cottages, which can comfortably accommodate four guests. The rooms are simply furnished with one large King size bed, and upon request two single beds are added. All beds are draped with a large mosquito net. With a small wardrobe to hang or stow belongings. The bathroom is adequately sized with a toilet a shower running hot and cold water and a basin which is separated from the bedroom by a door. The Breeze Cottages are smaller than our air-conditioned Cottages and comfortably accommodate two guests. These cottages are specially designed with large windows on all sides to keep them as cool as possible additionally the have a wall fan for further ventilation. The bathroom is not in the same building, it is set fifteen steps away with a shower and toilet. The Cottages have a small veranda where guests are welcomed privately to enjoy their early morning tea before moving on to the restaurant for a hearty breakfast. Mike's Beach Cottages is well known for its tasty kitchen perfectly blending the exotic Tanzanian taste with European cuisine. Mike encourages guests to join in in their daily menu planning, where possible making wishes come true. Additionally romantic candlelight dinners under the stars are arranged upon request. Mike and his team look forward to your visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing