We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, fabulous service, great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mike's Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We stayed at Mike's for two nights after a long bus ride from Lushoto. First of all, Mike is an incredible host and willing to go beyond what is expected to meet your needs. We were able to stay an extra night because Mike personally drove us to Dar and to the airport via an extra safari at Sadani NP. Thanks again Mike!! Each day we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was so filling with more than enough food and homemade bread, and dinner was some of the freshest and most delicious seafood dinners we have eaten in a long time, The beach is great; very safe and quiet and you can walk forever. The cottage we stayed in was clean and comfortable and steps away from the beach. We were served real, fresh local coffee every morning which was such a great way to wake up. We could not recommend Mike's enough for anyone looking to have a memorable experience off the typical tourist track. Thanks again Mike for everything!!

Room Tip: any cottage is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Owner at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Kyle,

Thank you so much for your VERY positive review. Im glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and am glad you made the plane in the end;0)
Making your stay as comfortable as it was is of course thanks to my staff, Im glad you enjoyed our hospitality and food so thoroughly.

I do hope to have you around again some time soon.

Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016

Great Hospitality.. The hotel site is all natural and so beautiful.. white sandy beach.. the food is fantastic..

Mike organizes adventourous game fishing.. having fished around various parts of Tanzania, Mike seemed by far the best ...Mike provides attention to details, value for money..
We experienced the best ever Black Marlin Adventure.

Thank you Mike.

Room Tip: All rooms and services are par excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MustansirMusaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, Inhaber at Mike's Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear MustanMusaji,

Thank you so much for your review! Im glad you all enjoyed it, yes for me it was also quite an adventure. I do hope to have you around very soon again on Sea Wolf and of course lodging at our humble cottages.

I wish you only the best for 2017, Ahsante Sana na heri kwa mwaka mpya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Do not miss it to travel to Ushongo. An exceptional site in Tanzania, fantastic beach, great people, peace, security and beautiful nature.

With Mike, you will simply have a great time, he knows his way around like no other, arranges all interests, is super helpful and has a great sense of humor he will ensure that your holiday will be unforgettable .... ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lise0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I spent only a few days here with another 20-25 other students, for our relaxation prize after climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. The accommodation itself is very warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean and tidy, the cleaners were very friendly also. The food was amazing! Fresh seafood, unlike what we would get back home in England. All the staff were very welcoming, and helpful. Especially those on the bar, who catered to all of our needs. I would definitely go back! Amazing views, waking up on the beach what more could you ask for? Would recommend to anybody travelling to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliece93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I was fortunate enough to stay at Mikes beach cottages in July, August and again in Early September..
I have to admit it is the Best place to stay in Ushongo, Pangani Tanga and perhaps Tanzania .
Mikes friendly efficient Staff are great at making you feel at home great service EXCELLENT MEALS..
Mike told me he grew up on this beach but was trained in hospitality in Switzerland so one gets the local expertise and feel, along with fabulous unrivalled service..
Mike is the Best fishing guide in Tanzania and knows the waters better than the local fisherman..We had some great days catching Gts, mackeral, tea leaf trevally, Barracuda and more
Sadaani national park is a short drive away, Mike has a great vehicle and can be your safari guide.
The most RELAXING place in Tanzania better than anywhere on Zanzibar no hassles .

Make a point of getting up early to watch Sun rise out of ocean and even better the Moon rise on a full moons evening.
Wonderful..... Go to Ushongo and stay with mike go Fishing and on Safari you will never forget it..

Room Tip: all rooms are simple but excellent and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rafikiart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
1.5 km away
Beach Crab Resort
Beach Crab Resort
#2 of 3 in Pangani
141 reviews
0.3 km away
The Tides Lodge
The Tides Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pangani
222 reviews
29 km away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 14 in Pangani
28 reviews
16.6 km away
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 14 in Pangani
60 reviews
8.1 km away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Pangani
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Beach Cottages

Address: Ushongo, Pangani, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangani
Price Range: €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike's Beach Cottages are located in the midst of the stunning East African landscapes. Ideally situated on a secluded bay at the edge of the Indian Ocean, the Cottages are surrounded by miles of untouched beaches, as well as the Maziwi Marine Reserve offering good snorkeling and diving opportunities. Additionally Mike's Beach Cottages offer the only professional deep sea fishing adventures on the north coast. Your accommodation options are staying in one of our two Breeze Cottages or one of our five "En Suite" Air-conditioned Cottages these are large spacious Cottages, which can comfortably accommodate four guests. The rooms are simply furnished with one large King size bed, and upon request two single beds are added. All beds are draped with a large mosquito net. With a small wardrobe to hang or stow belongings. The bathroom is adequately sized with a toilet a shower running hot and cold water and a basin which is separated from the bedroom by a door. The Breeze Cottages are smaller than our air-conditioned Cottages and comfortably accommodate two guests. These cottages are specially designed with large windows on all sides to keep them as cool as possible additionally the have a wall fan for further ventilation. The bathroom is not in the same building, it is set fifteen steps away with a shower and toilet. The Cottages have a small veranda where guests are welcomed privately to enjoy their early morning tea before moving on to the restaurant for a hearty breakfast. Mike's Beach Cottages is well known for its tasty kitchen perfectly blending the exotic Tanzanian taste with European cuisine. Mike encourages guests to join in in their daily menu planning, where possible making wishes come true. Additionally romantic candlelight dinners under the stars are arranged upon request. Mike and his team look forward to your visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing