We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly enchanting holiday at Casa Muneca”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Muneca

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Terrace in April
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Terrace in April
Lounge
View from terrace towards Gibralta and Africa
Lounge
Terrace
Main Bedroom
Lounge seating area
Towards the Kitchen
Dinning Area and Kitchen
Dinning area
Dinning area looking towards the lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Bathroom
Terrace
View from the Terrace towards Gibralta and the Med in the evening light of May
Muel trains still 'clip clop' past the door of the casa
A somewhat different meaning to 'painting the house'
2nd Bedroom
El Hacho de Gaucin
A corner of the Lounge
Lounge with open fire
The setting Sun overEl Hacho de Gaucin
Looking toward the coast from the castle
Back to work - a glimpse of a different time on the lane leading to the house
A local bar - Pajuelo Bar
1st May
Running with the bulls in Gaucín on Easter Sunday
In the evening above Gaucin looking towards Africa
Coming down from the Catle
La Fructuosa restaurant Gaucín
In the early morning sunlight of February above the clouds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gaucin, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Iryna L
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly enchanting holiday at Casa Muneca”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved this house from the moment we walked through the door. It really is the loveliest little house you can imagine, somewhere that you dream to stay in. The location is awesome and the house equipped to cater for all of our needs. The visitors’ book showed that we are not alone in enjoying and commending this gem.
We had breakfast on the terrace most mornings enjoying wonderful views all the way down to the coast with the Rock of Gibraltar being very apparent in the distance and in the evenings enjoyed glasses or so of wine under a star filled sky, looking down to the twinkling lights of Africa on the other side of the Med. We consider that a car is essential and there was parking nearby – probably quite a luxury for Gaucin - and we found a space every day without any great problem only a short walk away from the house. We plan to return to Casa Muneca next year.

There are many bars within walking distance of the house that sell good tapas, but we would single out La Parills del Pillar off Plaza de Santo Niño for its excellent house wines and their delicious tapas and full meals. We should also mention Pajuelo Bar (literally next to the market hall), Paco Pepes, El Puente and El Hacho. For an upmarket meal with prices to match La Fructuosa or El Lateral are really fine places to eat.
Gaucin with its ruined castle has quite a few non- Spanish residents but is still very much a typical Spanish rural village with busy life, siestas and plenty of little shops: 2 or 3 antique / craft shops, many other small shops, a supermarket. In addition there is a little museum and lots of artists’ studios. We spent a quite a few days just exploring and enjoying the local paths and the ever changing views on foot.
A truly enchanting holiday at Casa Muneca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operanut1...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house in delightful location”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house had everything we had hoped for. Centrally located, but still quiet, well equipped and with a lovely small terrace where we could eat out and enjoy spectacular views. Gaucin is a comfortable size - there are several bars and restaurants as well as a few small shops and a tiny market if you are self-catering. There are a lot of English people living in the village, but it is still a very Spanish place.

The nature of the village means that there are lots of steep slopes and steps. Not a problem for the averagely fit, but it could be a challenge for the less mobile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place was very relaxing.
Liked least: We were there during the August Feria. Although we were some distance from the "youth tent", the music went on until about 5am and we could hear it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what it said on the packet!”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We arrived late in Gaucin after a long flight, drive and shopping in Estepona which we knew well. Augustina could not have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our two week stay in this most comfortable very Spanish apartment. We had everything we needed and were often glad of being on one level. The owner Philip had been most prolific with information sent to us about the property and location before we arrived. However, the brand new microwave 'foxed us' for a while. Both bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. The views from the main terrace across the hills to Gibraltar were breathtaking. We walked up to the castle to wonderful views across the whole area. We were captivated by the pretty cemetery and were warmly welcomed in local shops and the computer centre. We knew the coastal area well but enjoyed driving up into the hills. Being February it was often cold but the log fire was well stocked and the apartment was always warm. We even had heated blankets on both beds which were most welcome.

We enjoyed our stay in Gaucin - showing us an inland area of Spain which proved to be most beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from this height.
Liked least: The cold offered at this height.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
264julie
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely rental in lovely village”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was our 4th stay in casa Muneca and we had a great time as expected. The apartment was comfortable and warm and we had a paricutularly sunny January. The owner Philip was helpful and easy to communicate with as was his housekeeper Agustina who looks after the rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DjordjeZi
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay at Casa”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Philip did everything to organise it well while Augustina did everything to comfort us. Big thanks! Weather was much bather than expected and we enjoyed sunny days at beginning of January 2015. The clear weather made it possible to se Gibraltar, Mediterranean an hills in Morocco from terrace.We arrived on New Years Eve, were here and attended carnival on Gaucin streets on 5th of January and we celebrated Orthodox Christmas Eve at casa on 6th of January. We found Casa Munecea in great shape again and he'd a nice comfortable stay. We felt very welcomed an like visiting holiday home of close friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing