We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Trip.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/21
PricelineUS$112
eDreamsUS$107
travelup.comUS$127
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,787)
Filter reviews
2,787 results
Traveller rating
1,153
1,025
406
109
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,153
1,025
406
109
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view indoor pool pestana dom golf trip minute walk golfing holiday lovely hotel bed and breakfast basis crazy golf direct access alvor town beans fantastic beach beach towels restaurants and bars buffet style board walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,787 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Very Nice resort in great location. Hotel is on the beach in Alvor. The salt water swimming pool is impressive (from 1m to 3,5m). We stayed in a villa which is best of both worlds: luxury of the hotel and freedom of a house. We used the extra 3rd bed in the villa (for our son 1.95 m tall) which was very comfortable. Private Parking is in front of the villa and therefore also comfortable to explore the area. Rich breakfast, walking distance to the port of Alvor with some nice fish restaurants. The service in the hotel is excellent. Especially Elisa Pena and the GM Pedro Carvalho are a 10!!!

Room tip: Walk via the beach to the fish restaurants in the (little) harbor. 10 min walk to great restaurants
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BobSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom João Pestana, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

Dear Mr. Robert,

We feel truly flattered reading your sincere feedback regarding your stay at Pestana Dom João II, thank you for sharing your experience with us. As for mentioning my name, I'm sincerely very happy to read it - it made my day!

It is a pleasure to hear you've enjoyed the overall experience, specially breakfast, the Hotel facilities and its convenient location. It was a pleasure to have you at Pestana Dom João II and we look forward to welcome you back anytime soon.

Kind regards from the Algarve,

Elisa Pena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

Hi I stayed here last week. The hotel is in a great location. Well presented and lovely outdoor area.
The breakfast was ok hot food not hot. Beach and bar snacks great. All the staff were very pleasant especially Rita at the Oceano.
I know times are hard but they do need to throw some if the pool towels out..threadbare.

I loved this place even with the couple if moans and look forward to returning later in the year.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 324giselleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom João Pestana, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021


On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Dom João II, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. Thank you so much for your recommendation, we look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel!

Warm regards,

Elisa Pena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Fantastic view, personnel, view, and location. The hotel is 15 steps from the beach, and there's a fantastic swimming pool that you can enjoy.
I've returned to this hotel over and over and only good experiences.
There's a good gym if you're interested in working out that extra kg that you'll gain by eating the buffet.

Room tip: best location and amazing food.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom João Pestana, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Dear Gomes,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Pestana Dom João II with suck kind and amusing words.

We are glad to hear you have fully enjoyed your stay and that we were able to once more match your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Elisa Pena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021

We arrived around 12 o'clock totally exhausted. We were welcomed by a very unpleasant receptionist. In my opinion, he was mentally ill. He had a darting eye. He said that the hotel has a rule that the room is allocated at 4 p.m. So two older people over 60 had to sit at the The worst thing is, however, that he lied to us. He said that there is no luggage room in this hotel. At the same time, nervously glancing at this storage room. It totally turned us negative towards the hotel. And that's actually one negative conclusion. The hotel is ok. Food good, although there are no miracles. Garden. You can lay out on a sunbed where you want. One pool of course clogged. My favorite sandwiches at the pool bar. Next to the pool, changing room, toilets. showers.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom João Pestana, General Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2021

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Pestana Dom João II, your feedback it's vital for the improvement of our work.

We would like to apologise for the not so warm welcoming you've just described. Our staff it's regularly highly rated so this is a surprise for us, we are truly sorry that our team has not corresponded your expectations as well as for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Rest assured that we have already spoken to the team. We are working together to improve the quality of our service and assistance.

We hope that, nonetheless, your experience was positive. Thank you for staying with us! We sincerely hope you will give us one more opportunity to rebuild your trust in our team service and to recover your impression of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Elisa Pena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

On our arrival from the UK to the hotel the bus journey took 2 hours, the tui app said we were the first drop off. We weren't we were the last! Should have got a cab! Anyway when checking in to the Hotel the porter had no idea what to do with our cases as the room wasn't ready at 1pm, this is understandable and we expect this on some occasions. But to have to open your case in the lobby and search through your belongings to find your swimming stuff and then get changed in a toilet isn't good enough. Our bags were then left in an unlocked conference room which didn't feel right.
Service at the pool bar was extremely slow.  Very over priced lunches and drinks. (€4 for a bottle of water) when we started our holiday we were getting served pints for €5, at the end of the holiday we were getting half pint for €4 an absolute joke.  Also it seems some people of Portuguese origin get table service whilst the rest of us (willing to quarantine on arrival to the UK, helping the Portuguese ecomony) have to stand in a queue to order food. I did speak to the hotel guest manager about this and more people were put down to work on the pool bar but it still didn't work as the extras were just standing there as there was only 1 til.
I know that COVID is an issue and I am grateful that we have managed to get away but.... by the pool there were what we nick named the 'sanitisation soldiers' these employees stand under trees with a bottle of sanitizer and clean the sunbeds when guests leave for the day, that's all very well but when the swimming pool toilets haven't hand hand wash in them for 8 days straight, I'd say it defeats the object a bit.
Some employees of the hotel were abrupt but some were friendly.  It did seem that the Portuguese think we are riddled with disease (cheers Boris)
The rooms were always kept nice a clean but apart from that I definitely won't be coming back.  Unfortunately this hotel has ruined my perception of Portugal as did the airport experience courtesy of TUI.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 905kirstyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom João Pestana, General Manager at Pestana Dom Joao II Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2021

Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Pestana Dom João II.

We are sorry to hear you had some troubles with TUI on the beggining of your journey in the Algarve.

As for the inconveniences you have mentioned, we would like to explain that by the time of your arrival, the Hotel had just reopened its doors with a team composed with colleagues from other units, who were still in a period of training and adaptation. We apologise for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Since this a matter that we care very much about, I'm glad to hear that you felt safe during your stay. However, I can personally assure you that the pool bathrooms do have hand paper and sanitizer everyday, which daily replacement and cleaning. Nevertheless, we've shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Manager who will be even more on top of this subject.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Dom João II for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit to Portugal.

Kind regards from the Algarve,

Elisa Pena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews