We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,198 results
Traveller rating
879
844
310
85
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
844
310
85
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view indoor pool golfing trip beach bar pestana dom minute walk lovely hotel bed and breakfast basis crazy golf fresh fruit plenty of choice bar prices beautiful beach steam room beans alvor town travel kettle
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 2,198 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We’ve stayed in this hotel a few times now whilst on golf trips. It has been consistently good, with friendly and helpful staff, perfect location right on the beach, great food and excellent facilities. Also very good value for money! Will definitely be returning, can’t fault this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank seanspreadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback is the best reward we can get.
Our main goal is to achieve all our guests’ expectations and we promise to keep our focus on that.

Kind regards,
Michelle Regnaud | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

breakfast let down by lack of toast machines long wait when busy otherwise great lovely fresh ommlettes every morning

could do with the food being a little bit hotter depending when you arrive for breakfast food could be cold

Room Tip: sea view rooms well worth the money
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edwin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us. We are very happy with your compliments about our hotel and staff. Thank you also for your opinion regarding the Buffet Breakfast. We take all your comments into consideration to try to improve our services so that on your next visit we will meet your standards.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in a near future.

Our very best regards,
Michelle Regnaud / Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

In the beggining of April me and my girlfriend went to Alvor for a weekend at this hotel. The lobby is spacious and Sergio from the guest service was very welcoming. Our room was on the 5th floor with a gorgeous sea view (from the shower). We loved the room. We had half board, and both buffets were very nice. The older staff was very professional and polite and the food was delicious, with a nice salad bar for my girlfriend and a grill station for me. :) Breakfasts were relaxing and the dark bread was amazing.

Room Tip: Get a sea view 5th floor for the views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RichardEca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about Sergio and the whole team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,

Michelle Regnaud | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel with helpful staff, always available. The room is spacious and the view from the room is gorgeous. The pool area is very nice too.
Big breakfast with lists of choices. We will definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cpr1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Michelle Regnaud | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel for a stunning, on the beach, location. Spacious rooms and public areas - especially loved the comfy seats overlooking the sea on every floor. Uncrowded when we visited but a big outdoor pool area and lovely big tended garden areas. Pool towels provided and did use the indoor pool and sauna once. On the minus side, breakfast was rather uninspiring especially the cooked stuff which was often lukewarm though there was a microwave. Alvor is a gem and the walk towards Praia da Rocha is stunning with sea caves, stacks and arches. Also did the walk to the reservoir from the hotel and saw flamingos. Staff could be more knowledgeable as when we asked about walks they recommended neither of these but give this hotel a try - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 8BigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel and services on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We have carefully read your comments on the services that did not meet your standards and promise to promptly improve them.

We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Our very best regards,
Michelle Regnaud | Guest Service Manager
Pestana Hotel Dom João II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews