We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$210
View deal
Hotels.comUS$263
PricelineUS$262
HurbUS$273
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,957)
Filter reviews
1,957 results
Traveller rating
897
613
271
102
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
897
613
271
102
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view indoor pool evening buffet hotel guests overlooking the beach lovely hotel pestana alvor rock formations half board the cliff reception staff steam room sun loungers buffet style public areas board walk dom joao
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,957 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We just had 5 nights in this fabulous hotel. We have stayed here regularly for the last 15 years and it never disappoints. The location is one of the best on the Agarve.
The staff are very efficient and freindly.

Room tip: We always choose a sea view suite.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana Alvor Praia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Dear Mr. "Derek G",

On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Alvor Praia, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback.

It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel!

Warm regards,
The Team at Pestana Alvor Praia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel last week and really enjoyed the beach views from the back of the hotel. The pool was plenty big enough however a tad too cold! We also tried the indoor pool but this is not heated either.

The rooms are very clean and a nice size.

Food wise, the buffet was pleasant enough. Lovely breakfast, however dinner was lacking on the main meals. Not much choice for different tastes and dietary requirements and often the food was not very hot.

Lastly, there is an issue with the amount of seagull waste by the poolside. I think this could be looked into how to manage it by the hotel.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel due to the fantastic views and location, friendly staff and indoor cleanliness.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emma262803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana Alvor Praia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Dear Mrs. "emma262803",

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all of your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Alvor Praia for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel for 2 nights. We were made very welcome by all staff. Room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a buffet, everyone was given their own tongs to use at the buffet station, we then put the used tongs in a container at the exit where they were taken away and washed ready to be used again. Very efficient. Tea /coffee fresh juices were ordered through the staff and brought to our table. Food was delicious. Drinks were very reasonably priced..
Lovely pool area.
Hotel is practically on the beach, private gates for guests to get to the beach.
Will Definitely go again and definitely recommend

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ruby190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana Alvor Praia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear Mrs. "ruby190832",

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Alvor Praia was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Alvor Praia for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,
The Team at Pestana Alvor Praia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Been here from 23rd, we have until 6th..
This hotel feels like a tired all-inclusive hotel with nothing being included. It cost us £4300 for 2 people for 2 weeks. Let start with the fact we bought a "Deluxe room" which is meant to be larger and were given the standard tinniest of rooms dismissively. Upon complaint they gave us a slight larger room but this was NOT what was in the photos on TUI, get ready for a surprise! No point argueing, the photos as it turns out, are of rooms that dont even have sea view. Be very careful.
This hotel's food is not good at all. Sold on having an a la carte restaurant and when you get here you're stuck with a way below average buffet with about 6 things to choose from, including sides. If youve ever stayed at a hotel by some random motorway you'll know what i mean.
Also, keep in mind this is during a pandemic so, strange time to go from a la carte to a buffet. That was without notice on the travel agents website mind you, so dont belive what is being advertised, we got lied to again with this one.
Drinks at dinner not included, understandibly, so a small beer is €4. A little glass of wine is €4. And ice tea... €4. I didnt dare order water. But simple to keep track of expenses.
The bedroom "mini bar" is an empty mini fridge. When you arrive you might find a pepsi, a 7up and 2 waters, but dont exepect this to get re stocked. Been here 1 week, never got re stocked once, so theres a supermarket 20 minutes walk, bought some there. Cleanliness is average at best. Used the two glasses provided to drink, never got changed or washed, we just wash them ourselves.
Most of the staff is really nice and acommodating but for over £4000 in a so called 5 star hotel, i dont expect to have to complain to them every 2 minutes. So at this point the supermarket is our friend and treating this like living in an over priced airbnb for the last week of this holiday
The beach towels are old and disgusting. Or so I thought, until we asked for dry ones and the new ones must be from when the hotel was first open. Holes and all. Will attach a photo.
Currently there is only one bar area open for lunch m which serves some snacks.(extra coet of course, but not great. Good fries. Advertised on TUI are a number of things that are not present here. I know there is a pandemic, but dont sell a lie. No pool bar either. There clearly was one but the hotel is understaffed so its deserted.
The beach location is absolutely amazing. Softest sand and beautiful views. Theres also a restaurant on the beach (not part of the hotel) serves great food and drinks. Cheaper than the hotel above somehow. If you'd like to come here I would instead get a villa or apartment near by and walk to any of the beaches.
All in all, really unhappy with this place, hence writing this review half way through my holiday. Ive stayed in 3 star all inclusives that were better.

Don't waste your money this is not as advertised at all.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank L938MYpaulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana Alvor Praia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear Mr. L938MYpaulg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience at Pestana Alvor Praia. Your opinion is crucial for us to improve how we work.

We would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that improvements will be made.

We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Alvor Praia. We hope this experience has not tarnished your impression of our hotel permanently. We would be delighted to change it during your next stay.

Kind regards,
Orlando Araújo
Gestor de Unidade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed for a week here on our honeymoon. The rooms are nice and spacious and the location is what makes the hotel really special - right on the beach, not even a 2 min walk. Staff are very friendly and the food is a good standard with 4 different starter/main course/ dessert options every evening.

However, the Hotel grounds (especially the pool) are plagued by seagulls, the mess they leave behind at the pool can be quite off-putting when relaxing, we also once saw a seagull steal someone's breakfast. Also, be aware of eating indoors when it's hot outside, lots of flies buzzing around inside the restaurant. We also had a couple of cockroach incidents in the room.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but there are major cleanliness issues to be resolved.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank calumm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana Alvor Praia, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Dear Mr. "calumm200",

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your recent stay. Your opinion is essential for us to improve how we work.

We would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations with your accommodation.

We have taken immediate action. We are working together with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to amplify the standard controls each accommodation is subjected to before the Guests' arrival, to prevent such inconveniences from happening in the future.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you and rebuild your trust in the future. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest at Pestana Alvor Praia.

Kind regards,
Orlando Araújo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews