We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,320)
Filter reviews
2,320 results
Traveller rating
762
962
415
126
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
962
415
126
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green restaurant fish pay bar thomson reps entertainment team inclusive bar free bus to the beach evening entertainment grand bar kids club dining rooms children's buffet pool bar aqua gym lovely hotel mini disco pool view
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 2,320 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Just been there. Hotel was nice. That all that was. Food was very poor. Drinks bad. Only 3 bars. Had to pay at one bar. All sunbeds are broken. Nothing to do there. No entertainment of a a night time. Nothing for the kids. Never go there again. Was a joke and a waste of money

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We embarked on our first holiday with our 8 month old daughter and what a great place to have our first holiday with her, also travelling with a party of friends totalling to 8 adults and 5 children ranging from the ages of 7 years old down to 8 months old and they all had the same great experience we did. The hotel it self, new, clean and modern. You feel like there's always someone cleaning around the hotel as you walk around. The rooms are very spacious with it also being self catering and the air con worked great.

The hotel staff were very very friendly except for what we all gathered was the owner/manager who walked around not acknowledging anybody and was rude to a couple of our group. The hotel it self is in a great location, around a 15/20 min walk in to town. Walking back is a bit harder with a steep hill as you get close to the hotel but taxis averaged at around €4 if you didn't fancy the walk. Alvor town it self was great and quite lively in the evening and at night. We managed to negotiate a 'lads night' on one night and that obviously meant a 'girls night' was within the negotiation and we all commented how good of a night it was.

They provide a shuttle bus with a timetable averaging around every hour to and from the beach and that's helpful and easy to use.

The hotel it self could benefit from having another poolside bar or utilise the bar near reception (that's not available to all inclusive) as the queue got rather large at times and they have a 2 drink per person policy (unless you're female).

The all-inclusive food was as
good as any other all-inclusive we have been to with rotation of meals and we always found something to feed our daughter even with her being so young.

Highly recommend the hotel to families, couples or even a group of lads/girls looking for a relaxing holiday with a bit of night life added in to the mix.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Zoolanderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week in the beginning of July 2016 (me and my partner). First impressions of the hotel are awesome it looks so impressive from the outside and check in was smooth even though we arrived by coach. The rooms were spacious and modern with everything required (we hardly even used the living/kitchen area) the pool was enormous and the outside areas really clean with staff cleaning up around the clock. There are plenty of sunbeds however as normal people do go out early and reserve them. All the staff were really friendly and polite.

However i don't think the hotel is 4* platinum as rated by thomson, this is due to the food, the selection was really poor and we found the food out at lunch was then the same at tea, by the end of our 2nd day we couldn't even finish our meals - there was no flavour to the food it was all bland. We didn't mind going out for food but the only problem was that the hotel wasn't close to anything so at least a 15min walk. Another reason for my 3* review is the pillows - they were awful! I have had better pillows at a 2* hotel! They were really lumpy and way past replacing, i asked at reception after our 1st night to have some more pillows ended up with 10 in our room and they were all the same. Its these things that defiantly make this hotel NOT a 4* platinum. Maybe if the hotel was a little closer to town we would have stayed again however due to its location and poor food selection I wouldn't visit again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SallyandDanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed here for 2 weeks arrived home yesterday. Don't listen to the bad reviews just go with an open mind. its been an amazing holiday, weather hot, hot, hot, hotel beautiful with a very big pool biggest ive seen with plenty of sunbeds and lots of space between them. Yes the pool is cold at first but once your in its lovely and just what you need after lying in the sun to cool off. The hotel grounds are well maintained, very green with beautiful plants and the hotel itself is spotless. The rooms are apartments with a lounge/kitchen, complete with fridge, cooker, microwave, settee, 2 flat screen tvs 1 in the bedroom , which is separted with a glass wall, well equipped bathroom complete with hairdryer, 2 wardrobes, a safe and a very large balcony complete with table and chairs. Amazing rooms and kept clean and towels changed daily if you needed them. The food was great, although it never looked like there was much on offer at first glance, there was actually always a great selection of meat and fish every day and night, aswell as vegetables, spuds, pasta, rice, salads, chips, soups, breads, crackers, cheeses and pate, loads of yummy cakes and tubs of icecream, plenty of fresh fruits, youghurts, and even a great selection of food for breakfast. We are fussy eaters but we never went hungry and always found something nice to eat. The snack bars in the afternoons even put on a good spread. The animation team were a lovely friendly bunch but not in your face and never pestered you to join in activities if you didn't want to. Alvor town is a nice little fishing village with plenty of bars, restaurants and gift shops about a 20 minute walk from hotel. There is a courtesy bus taking you to the beach and back several times a day, its a lovely clean beach and the sea very clear and warm. Everyone complaining about Wi-Fi, surely you go on holiday to relax and enjoy yourselves but I never had a problem when i used it on my phone and could pick it up in our room fine and also sometimes around the pool area, but I only used it to whatsapp kids back home every few days so never went on it everyday. Overall a great holiday, lovely hotel, food and surroundings and we would definitely return x

Room tip: corner 1st floor room 130, above reception, we had the sun from late afternoon until sunset so always a suntrap in the afternoons
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank deb-nicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I hardly ever write reviews but after reading the reviews below I have to give Alvor Baia credit where it is due... Everything was perfect!
The room was spacious, clean, modern and well equipped - shower and bath, two wardrobes, kitchen, safe, 2 TVs, big balcony, hair dryer etc... The entertainment for adults was fantastic - Bingo, Aquagym, football, table tennis, darts and more! Also kids were kept separate from adults which was a huge bonus - separate canteens and they were kept at one end of the pool! The pool was HUGE - those moaning that the water is too told... move around and it gets warm! Staff and reps were AMAZING - always keeping you entertained and were so polite, always came over and shook my hand! The canteen was everything you could want... wide range off food, food served all day including the snack bar, food was of the same quality as any other all inclusive hotels! Wifi was only in reception but your only holiday, put your phones away and enjoy yourself! Ignore silly negative reviews - people just want something to moan about! Would go back in a instance, didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank DarcyWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews