We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind - incredible as always!”

Restaurante Por do Sol
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 1/2
20:00
Ranked #24 of 163 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant dates since 1975! Many of our customers we already know by name. We look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones in our beautiful garden or by our fire place in the colder nights. For the new comers, we recomend our signature dishes like the rack of lamb, juicy stakes with home made sauces (pepper, bearnaise, mushroom) and fresh seafood. A visit to our restaurant usually closes with a flambe dessert and a good old Port. Servus, Your Por do Sol team
Reviewed 3 November 2022 via mobile

What a special place. From the moment you arrive at this fabulous spot you are made to feel so welcome and taken care of. Every dish is cooked to perfection. We both had a soup to start and then fillet steak for main. The fillet steak was melt in the mouth, and my bearnaise sauce was so flavourful. I finished off with a deliciously rich chocolate mousse. We have returned time and time again, and the food and service is consistently wonderful every time. A must visit!

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank GlobeTrotting558993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
POR DO SOL R, Owner at Restaurante Por do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2022

Dear Emma,

We are truly thankful for your loyalty and kind words.
Our team looks forward to welcoming you again and make sure you have a wonderful experience every time you visit us.
As you may already know, all our sauces are made in house daily with the freshest ingredients while we strive to collaborate with suppliers who help us achieve this enjoyable result.

Wishing the very best.

Servus,

Your Por do Sol team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2022 via mobile

We loved Por do Sol restaurant, it has a country house feel to it with the decor and the food and service is first class, the waiters are very friendly and welcoming and fantastic hosts. The Fillet steak is absolutely delicious, monkfish chunky and delicious, smoked salmon melts in your mouth and flambe strawberries and creme brulee were a perfect finish. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurant. Can't wait to go back when I am next in Alvor.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Meander59989537704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
POR DO SOL R, Owner at Restaurante Por do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2022

Dear Catriona,

It fills us with joy when our guests leave our restaurant satisfied with the food and service provided.
We truly look forward to welcoming you again and hope to exceed your expectations again.

Servus,

Your Por do Sol team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2022 via mobile

Fabulous food and service again, one of the best in Alvor, simple food cooked to perfection, attentive and friendly service.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank steveoT7048HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
POR DO SOL R, Owner at Restaurante Por do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for having visited our restaurant.
It is a great pleassure knowing that you enjoyed your time with us and truly looking forward to welcoming you again.
Our staff, together with your favorite dishes will be waiting for you.

Servus,

Your Por do Sol team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2022 via mobile

My birthday dinner with friends arranged at Pôr do Sol, a firm favourite of mine.
Pre-booked for our party of four. Apperitifs served whilst making menu selection.
Starters of melon with port and smoked salmon followed by seafood cream bisque soup, the best in Algarve and not to be missed!
Steaks and prawn omelette mains to follow.
Chocolate cake to dessert and coffee to follow.
Lovely white and red wine selection throughout.
Very friendly, efficient and professional service throughout as has always been the case in the past.
Reasonably priced for the food and service on offer.
We will return again in the future for sure.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Grumpy-3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
POR DO SOL R, Owner at Restaurante Por do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2022

Dear guest,

It is a true honor being the venue of celebration for you and your loved ones in this special day.
We truly thank you for your visit and for your time sharing your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again and will make sure you have a good time.

Servus,

Your Por do Sol team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2022

We weren't sure about this restaurant when we first arrived because it is situated next to a shopping center, but, once we were seated it was fine. The food was delicious as was the wine and we were happy that it was part of the tour we were on. Everyone enjoyed the evening. Staff/service was friendly and efficient, too!

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
POR DO SOL R, Owner at Restaurante Por do Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Irene,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review and complement our staff.
Your satisfaction and your compliments is what fuels our engines and motivates us as a team.
We truly look forward to welcoming you again and will always try to exceed our guests' expectations.

Servus,

Your Por do Sol team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Por do Sol also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Por do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.