We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
86
20
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
20
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuscan dream beautiful grounds host horses garden montepulciano countryside villa sunflower tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

My husband and I stayed three nights in the Sunflower Apartment here and loved it so much! I only wish we had stayed an entire week.

The apartment was perfect for two, with a small kitchen where we made breakfast (finally, eggs in Italy!). It was very comfortable, with nice bedding and towels, and a big bathroom. How nice to have a shower that one can actually move around in!

The location is fantastic, just a short drive from all of the sites such as Montepulciano and Montalcino. We loved driving around the countryside, which was easy except for figuring out parking -- we don't speak any Italian, and I thought the No Parking sign meant Don't Drive Here. My bad!

We loved the grounds, the horses, the pig, the dogs, the VIEWS!! Elisabetta was a great host, and gave us simple directions to get to a few places such as a fantastic grocery store. She is a lovely lady!

We didn't find a lot to do in Sinalunga itself. Elisabetta recommended one restaurant in town, but we arrived without a reservation and could not be seated. Minor inconvenience!

My husband and I would love to go back!

Room Tip: The apartments don't include breakfast, but the inside rooms do.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Booked to come here through air b n b, and what a discovery. We loved every second, the grounds are beautiful, the scenery is outstanding and Elisabetta and her hospitality was out of this world. Very Italian and definitely off the tourist path. We will be back next year. Thank you Elisabetta

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights in Villa Il Poggio - 2 adults, 4 teenagers & an 8 year old. We had a super week and loved the luxurious, manicured gardens & pool area. We had two rooms the "Green Room" in the main house & a two bed apartment for the teenagers! Both accomodations were Superb and v comfortable, Thank you Elizabetta! The town of Sinalunga is a 3minute drive or 15 minute walk. The teenagers loved the party atmosphere every night after dinner in the Town square where lots of teens safely gather & have genuine good old fashioned fun! Outdoor DJ, ice drink stands etc

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We (family of five adults) just returned from spending two weeks at beautiful Villa il Poggio. As we drove in the gates and down the driveway, we knew we had made a great choice. We were greeted by lovely gardens, manicured lawns, grand Cyprus trees, sparkling swimming pool and magnificent views. Elisabetta Perez, owner of the villa, is a warm and friendly host. Often she would leave fresh veggies, from her garden, on our outside table and one evening she even provided us with a delicious pasta dish for our dinner. Elisabetta knows the area well and gave us excellent suggestions for wonderful day trips to the many nearby historic 'hilltop' towns. Also, the Villa is situated in a location which necessitates only short drives to major cities (Florence, Siena, etc.) Our villa apartment was very clean and comfortable, with an adequate kitchen for meal preparation. The lovely antique pieces in each room add character and old-world charm. Villa il Poggio and it's generous and lovely owner, Elisabetta, made our family Tuscan dream vacation a reality. We highly recommend it to fellow travellers....enjoy!

Room Tip: Wifi was free but accessed more readily from outdoors. Rooms were not air-conditioned but thick stone walls kept the interior comfortably cool. Villa - Apartment Geranio was great for five adult travellers - three good size bedrooms with king and queen beds. Two bathrooms, lots of hot water. Lovely private outside eating area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and me spent a week at Villa il Poggio for the third time now and again we had wonderful days. The villa, the pool, the garden - everything was nice (Elisabetta is always working on it). This time we had one of the appartments and enjoyed sitting outside in the sun, having wine, reading a book. It is such a peaceful place in Tuscany. We will come again. Thanks, Elisabetta.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews