We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
130
148
71
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
148
71
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel restaurant train station air conditioning offered suggestions the breakfast area the staff were friendly and helpful every hour tour group minutes by car pasta off the beaten track down the road pools vineyards pisa tuscany villa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We are traveling with student and adults. EF an educational tour group makes our hotel accommodations. This place is beautiful and really defines Tuscany. When we arrived each group had to walk to their villa. It was kind of hard rolling our suitcases up the rocky path and up the stairs but it was worth it. We had dinner prepared at the hotel restaurant. The pasta was great however we had to wait awhile for service. The rooms in the villa were rather close so when someone knock it sounded like they were knocking at your door. Overall, the rooms were quiet and clean. They did have two pools however they are only opened from 9 am to 7 pm. We were a little disappointed we all really wanted to go swimming.
Staff in the breakfast area were wonderful and cheerful. Always, made us feel welcome. I would definitely come back.

Room tip: Take small luggage. You have to carry your own luggage up stairs and over rocks.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adrianatx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying I'm an American traveling to Europe for the first time. To being with, the staff of Villa Saulina have been nothing but kind and helpful. I'm traveling with a tour group, so I would imagine it's not easy trying to set up for 40 people. The rooms are all clean, roomy by European standards, and have air conditioning! There are a number of outlets, but you will need an adapter and a converter for certain electronics. Our room has a small mini fridge and a large bureau. The bathroom is a nice size and has a large shower will hot water and good pressure.

We ate breakfast and dinner here. Breakfast was European "Continental"- cereal, rolls, deli meat, cheese, etc. For our dinner, we had a set menu. We had the bolognese, which I'm not a fan of, salad, and pork. A word for Americans: Unless noted, none of the salad comes with dressing. The oil and vinegar on the table is your dressing. A man eating near us ordered a Calzone, and it looked amazing!

The grounds are well manicured with rolling hills and vineyards. They make for a nice stroll after dinner.

The road to the villas is small and windy. I would proceed to be caution. Also, the travel time to Florence is about 45 minutes with traffic, so it's a minor inconvenience.

All in all, this is a great little villa. I highly recommend it, and if I find myself back on this side of the globe, I would love to stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank April E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Surrounded by beautiful vineyards, we felt so relaxed there. The place has a rustic charm that we loved. Two lovely pools to keep you cool on hot days.

We stayed here for a week with the purpose of touring Tuscany. We weren't at all disappointed, it was perfect for what we wanted to do. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Just 5km down the road (10 minutes by car) is the lovely old town of Lastra a Signa where we found some wonderful restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel was owned by someone else so you had to pay separately if you ate there which we did on several nights. Both the food and the staff were good but we felt they were short handed on some nights, as it took a while to get served.

Lastra a Signa has a main line train station. We were able to park the car there for free and take a 15 minute train ride (costing just EUR 2.60) into the centre of Florence. Trains run every hour.

From the hotel we toured the other great cities of Tuscany: Pisa, Siena and Lucca. If you go off the beaten track on the way to Siena you come across some stunning villages in the heart of the Chianti wine country. Head for Greve in Chianti, the surrounding countryside is well worth a visit.

We also headed off into the mountains north of Lucca. With Italian drivers hogging the middle of the hairy mountain roads, the drive is not for the faint hearted but well worth the trip as we came across the white marble quarries where Leonardo Da Vinci worked in his younger years.

We fell in love with Tuscany, it oozes character, history, charm, beauty, friendliness and above all, great wine.

Room tip: We stayed in an upstairs room, we noticed the ground floor rooms were much better as you had tables and chairs where you could sit outside.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John and Nicola... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Stayed 4 nights as our base for visiting Tuscany (san Gimignano, Sienna, Florence). Nice clean place, 2 pools (not open yet when we were there). Breakfast was good with a cheerful Bon Giorno every morning.
Food at restaurant was very good and reasonably priced (try their own wine for only 13 Euros a bottle !) , we came back every night to hotel to chill and have a great meal.
Close to train station which has free parking and offers a 15 min ride to Florence every hour.
Thanks for a great stay

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bletino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 9 nights B&B. Excellent location for visiting all main attractions in Tuscany. Easy access to train station for trips into Florence. Rooms clean and comfortable with stunning views. Breakfast lovely, and all staff very friendly and helpful. We will visit again. Sandra and Family, Lancaster.April2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews