We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quite disappointed”

Il Pozzo dei Desideri
Ranked #115 of 251 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were recommended to try this restaurant as the pizzas were apparently good. Well the antipasti was good but frankly the pizzas were very disappointing. Not very well cooked and very thin toppings. They had no taste apart from flour! We also tried some other main courses and you need to be careful in your choosing as some were not as described on the menu. We had what we thought was meat on a skewer, but it was stuffed with cheese and neither of us like it at all and left most of it. Shame as the staff were lovely.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015

We saw this restaurant on a previous evening and when the locals are queuing it generally says it is worth a look. It is tucked away down back streets but it is in a little square area. We tried it last night and we were not disappointed albeit just for a pizza (half the side of the table) and a large salad to share. A litre of very paletable house wine (red of course) made the evening very agreeable. I noticed a meat platter that arrived on the next table and the table just took the weight... portion sizes are more than adequate! The waiters were very pleasant and attentive...

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Riza898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

First I don't understand the place of 90th on the list (at the time of writing), I believe this restaurant deserves much better.
The decor is authentic with old stones, yet a modern table setting. The waiter was very kind and efficient. We tried their delicious orecchette pasta with clams and zucchini and the best is that they come out of a 'flower' made of parmesan tile. Their salads are generously served.
Our wishes came true (the name of the restaurant is the Wishing Well in English): we ate well!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Comfortable but a bit of a tourist trap. Food and service were acceptable but you can find better in Ostuni. Antipasti were good but the mains were average. Only tourists in here until some locals arrived later in the evening. Decor was fine but not exceptional.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Northants_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Square was full and it was windy so when offered to go inside we took up that option.Led in by extremely sullen waitress who showed us a corner table and threw the menus at us and walked off.Dont know why she looked so shocked when we got up and walked out.May be a nice setting but you should rely on that alone to bring you custom!!

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Service
2  Thank fw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pozzo dei Desideri also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Il Pozzo dei Desideri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing