We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parea Local Cuisine- recommend!”

Parea Local Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Parikia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Description: A traditional cuisine with local and organic products from our garden,set on a quiet street – opposite an old river, and just 50m from the Livadia Beach. The spacious open garden, will delight the visitors with its artful atmosphere. Live music nights, art exhibitions and other special events take place all year round.The space is also available for private events. As the world steps up to the challenge of controlling the Covid19 virus, we are maintaining an unwavering commitment for safety by following all requirements by the authorities. We are taking all of the necessary precautions to keep our people healthy, while supporting our customers in the best way possible.
Restaurant details
Description: A traditional cuisine with local and organic products from our garden,set on a quiet street – opposite an old river, and just 50m from the Livadia Beach. The spacious open garden, will delight the visitors with its artful atmosphere. Live music nights, art exhibitions and other special events take place all year round.The space is also available for private events. As the world steps up to the challenge of controlling the Covid19 virus, we are maintaining an unwavering commitment for safety by following all requirements by the authorities. We are taking all of the necessary precautions to keep our people healthy, while supporting our customers in the best way possible.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very tasty food and pleasant service. Definitely recommend a visit. Will visit next time when in Paros

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 412andrusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla IG, Ιδιοκτήτης at Parea Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much!
We are very happy that we gave you nice memories!
you’re very welcome!
Iro and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

Fantastic experience all around. We were visiting from California, showed up without reservations and they were able to squeeze us in. The food was outstanding! My mom, the sole vegetarian in the group, usually has to make do with some boring dish when we go out but, her fava bean entree was on par with everything else we had! The restaurant is family owned and operated! The hosts were so personable and made sure everyone was having a great time and made it feel like we were visiting friends!! The chocolate mousse dessert was to die for!!! The ambiance was absolutely wonderful!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank MandeepSembhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla IG, Ιδιοκτήτης at Parea Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Thank you so much for your nice comments!
We enjoyed your beautiful family here in our restaurant you are very nice people and we are very happy to meet people like you!
The big rotunda will be always waiting to see you again!
We will never forget the laughs and the nice moments with you!
We will never forget the laughs and the nice moments with you .
we wish all the best for you and your family!
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent food with a lovely outdoor setting. Friendly family run restaurant. Must try this place! Book ahead. We loved our meal here.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Zoë H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla IG, Ιδιοκτήτης at Parea Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Thank you very much we are very happy that we hear that you had a nice evening here with us!
We will be very happy to see you again!
Ito and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Nice place, good food, very slow - 50 minutes waiting (from seating to receiving the dish) is too much for me. Only for patient people

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank FabrizioR1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla IG, Ιδιοκτήτης at Parea Local Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

The Parea Café in the Livadia neighbourhood of Paroikia, Paros, is just down the road from the sea. The café has a lovely, relaxed intimacy, as if you’re having dinner at the home of a welcoming family. And this is exactly what you’re doing. Iro Fokianou welcomes you warmly. The food, prepared by her husband, George Karlas, is delicious. Her son and daughter are also involved. At dusk, white lanterns glow over the enclosed courtyard.
And this season, there’s something new. Iro, who published a book of her poetry last year in three languages, who has performed widely as a singer, is also a painter, and she decided to open a small gallery at the café to show her work and that of Karlas and a few friends.
In the first room of the gallery, we see Karlas’ sculptures and Nikos Graikos’ sketches.
Karlas’ makes use of found materials — driftwood, scraps of metal, wires — to create pieces that reflect what’s important to him. There’s a large, beautiful fish, a boat, a musical instrument, and other objects inspired by memory and observation.
Graikos, who lives in Paris where he teaches Greek as a foreign language, writes that ‘language is not only words and their meanings, but also shapes and colours.’ He says he writes and sketches at the same time. The pieces are full of life. They could have been done while sitting at a café watching people.
In the second room, our eye immediately goes to a large print of a photogram by the brilliant Maria Drakaki. Photograms are the result of a darkroom technique, no camera is involved, that she has evolved over 20 years of work. As she explains the process, the images are ‘like multiple impressions of the shadow of an object.’ They have a dream-like quality that draws you into her imagination, and that is profoundly beautiful.
While Iro’s poems tell her story in simple, clear language, she lets herself go in her paintings. She expresses the themes of her poems — love, pain, fear, longing for solace, and hard-won peace — in large canvases and exuberant colours.
Most of Kay ‘Fotografos’ work is of the sea and often in wild weather. One image was captured at a beach in the southern part of the island during a storm with 11 Beaufort winds. He said a couple of fishermen who were there to check on their boats had to hold him up while he took the shot. The photos are rich in drama.
The common thread connecting these artists — all friends and relations — is the passion with which they do everything they do. The family welcomes guests with sincere hospitality, they cook and serve delicious food, and while you’re waiting for it to arrive at your table, you can enter the gallery and while sharing the minds and hearts of these artists, enjoy another kind of conversation with these good people. As Iro has said, it is love alone that leads them to do what they do.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank writeronherown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Parea Local Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Parea Local Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.