We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Der Esslinger Mittelaltermarkt & Weihnachtsmarkt
Open today: 11:00 - 20:30
Save
Review Highlights
Superb smaller market in a beautiful setting!

This is an absolute must-do if you are in the local area during Christmas market season! We were... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2023
Merrowmum
,
Guildford, United Kingdom
Upbeat mood.

It was not possible to visit the Esslingen Christmas Market, but the usual morning market at... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2023
VadimM67
,
Murmansk, Russia
Read all 336 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
242
81
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
242
81
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval market lots of fun in addition beautiful town christmas stuttgart comparison backdrop scene
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Spend a lot of time at this market, very good and interesting food, loved the little medieval market and the vendors!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank JuliaS223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

There is something for everyone at this market. From games for the kids (mouse run, archery, maze and more) to every imaginable German Christmas decoration, to candle making to food that you can smell from a mile away and crave the whole year through to the Medieval area where you are truly transformed back in time with the food and costumes and handmade items - you could spends days and days here and still have things left to see and experience. I've been to dozens of Christmas Markets and this one is by far my favorite.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Traveling4Fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2017

To get our Christmas mood started, first stop was at mulled wine booth and then over for some caramelised chestnuts and not forgetting the candied, roasted almonds with their enticing scent permeates the chilly air! Still hungry? have a hearty bratwurst with mustard and another mug of mulled wine again perhaps. These medieval clay mugs are different from your typical German Christmas Market mugs with the local cityscape and city name on them, it would make a fun keepsake. Munching happily, while humming to the tune of O Tannenbaum, we enjoyed various medieval performances on display. We oohed and aahed to a highwire artist performs breathtaking feats at dizzy heights, comical jugglers, fairytale figures balancing on stilts and fire eaters. We listened to a band playing medieval tunes. There are wonderful arrays of traditional handicrafts, glass and ceramic decorations, amazing Christmas ornaments and much more. Remember to look up, every booth has unique and charming roof decorations, each more elaborate than the last. Located in the old town, surrounded by historic buildings and lovely half timber houses around the Town Hall Square provide nothing if not a perfect backdrop for this lively and merry scene.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Se7enthangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2016

I liked the heritage that came through at the market. There was a lot of interesting things to look at. Also there are a lot of tourist attractions a walk about the area. There are a lot of little stalls where you can purchase ornament food and/or drinks. Right next to the Christmas market is there is a Medieval market with a whole lot of medieval clothes and artefacts.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Took our dog along and he loved it too! This market has a Medieval half and a more modern part. Both are a nice mix. A bit crowded on a Saturday evening in December but the town is so lovely - who can resist.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank SandyandLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews