We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trim your cheese!...........”

Auberge du Petit Val
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Ate here on a Sunday evening and it was pretty busy with what were obviously returning clients. Easy outside parking for a just out of town location. Welcoming staff spoke good English. Quirky interior to a very personal taste included showcased toy cars and soldiers, not sure why. Varied menu with several set price points to choose from as well as a la carte. Think it was a five course meal (or was it six) including ingredients like escargot, truffle and foie gras. All dishes well presented and interesting. Didn't appreciate being told off (no really!) by one of the waiters when I started to trim my cheeses. Some would have been indigestible if I hadn't although that didn't have any baring on the issue as far as he was concerned. Putting that aside, an excellent dining experience - try it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We won't !!!
Thank you and be a pleasure to see you again !

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful welcome from the two waiters who from the moment they first shook your hand to the time you finally have to leave the service is super. The knowledge of the food, wine and even coffee to finish with is a refreshing alternative to the usual lack of awareness prevalent in all too many restaurants. The tuna carpaccio was especially memorable although the main course and pudding were of an equally high standard accompanied by a great local wine recommendation. I cannot fault in any way and judging by the reaction of our fellow diners we were not alone in our appreciation of a lovely dining experience. Thanks to Stephane at Maison d'hotes Les Jardins du Val for the recommendation in the first place.

Thank Napsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for so much compliments.
We will do our best to continue on this way !
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful little restaurant. Feels at home atmosphere, fantastic chef and 2 friendly waiters who will take care of you. We had a wonderful dinner and relaxing evening. Highly recommended!

Thank Svetlana_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your recommandation. If we pleased you, that please us !

Cordialy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The restaurant was recommended by the owner of the B and B where we were staying and he booked it for us. It's only a small place- no more than 8-10 tables and all were full. You have your table for the night and there is no rush.
We chose to eat from the Discovery menu at 39 euros each as this seemed to be good value.
All the food was freshly cooked and beautifully presented - we had no reason to complain at all. The waiters were friendly and spoke excellent English and were more than happy to answer any questions that we had, particularly about the extensive cheese board.
Try the strawberry souffle - it is to die for!!!
The whole meal experience took about 3 hours which is a long time for the English but it meant that each course was not rushed and at the end, I was not too full to walk back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnieM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your compliments. They deeply touch us.

It was a pleasure for us to serve you and give you advices.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I booked this restaurant following a lot of excellent reviews. I must admit that it has been one the most excellent restaurant we have ever tasted in our life. From the appetizers until the dessert, including cheese selection, the waiters suggested us the top quality of food. We chosed a menu around 39 euros p.p. and it included the best selection from the kitchen where an excellent chef was preparing the food. Service was extremely excellent. Highly recommended for couples, family, friends etc. We will come back. Bravo!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuPetitVal, Responsable relations clients at Auberge du Petit Val, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Tank you a lot for your review. Such a nice one makes us fully gratefull.
See you soon, we hope.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Petit Val also viewed

 

Been to Auberge du Petit Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;