We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MR_Walram

Outstanding location loveliest possible hosts

Review of La Guillotiere
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Aug 2018
We, family of 5, 2 adults 3 children, stayed for a week at La Guillotière. It ist a most beautiful and well tended place. The hosts are exceptionnal: Ann and Sean (not to mention Bran, the coolest dog in the world) are lovely, helpful and with a very smart sense of humor. The house is a 18th century bulding and we loved it's charm. Very nice pool. We can absolutely recommend it to families! Coffee in the morning is on a common table, where you sit with the other guests - very often Germans, who come here, because they don't need to speek French, as Ann and Sean are Irish. Most of them only stay for one or two nights, as there is a German trip-organiser having La Guillotière in his program (he knows why: quality is guaranteed) We had very nice discussions in the morning and in the evenings at the terrasse - we could even mention the war... The breakfast table changes china every day (!) and the 'menu' is huge, even our 15 year old could'nt eat everything (he tried though). A very special mention goes to Bran, the cuddliest, nicest dog possible - our kids fell in love with him. As a resumee: our children have decided, we had to come back, which is the highest possible compliment.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
5.5 km from La Guillotiere
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from La Guillotiere
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
NewBrand FR montbazon portrait des hoteliers
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €73
  • Algotels
6.7 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €191
  • Expedia.com
    €220
7.4 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
NewBrand ville ruelle experience
€78
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
8.5 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €198
  • Expedia.com
    €208
8.2 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hôtel rénove.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €48
  • Booking.com
9.6 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Campanile Chambray les Tours RESTAURANT
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €71
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
Famille Deluxe
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    €61
  • eDreams
9.9 km from La Guillotiere
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Esvres
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
52
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Friends and I recently spent three nights with Sean and Ann at their beautiful B and B. The rooms were delightful, large, had comfortable beds, lovely decor and I had a huge bathroom with the most amazing window... we arrived in the middle of a heatwave and the pool was very inviting.

Ann and Sean were delightful and generous hosts. The breakfast were plentiful and Anne's homemade lemon curd a must to try.

The B and B is in a very central and convenient location for touring the Loire.

Ann even lent us bikes so we could go for a cross country cycle.

I would recommend La Guillotiere for your Loire visit.

Room tip: Ask for the room with the wonderful bathroom window!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clareville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in the area for a wedding. Sean and Anne made us feel very welcome and we wanted for nothing. The room was light airy and plenty of space. Anne even managed to let me have a pair of reading glasses after I lost mine which greatly assisted the map reading on journey home. Thank you so much and we will be back. Highly recommended

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We had such a lovely time at La Guillotiere. Anne and Sean looked after us so well, and we were only minutes from the lovely village of Esvres. Our room was beautiful and spotless and we had a lovely relaxing evening sitting by the pool. It is a shame we couldn't stay few nights longer (we were just passing through) but we were very glad to find this beautiful house in the French countryside.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donnieodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My fiancée and I had the pleasure of staying with Anne and Sean at La Guillotiere for a week during our visit to the Loire valley. We travel to France every year and both especially loved our time here.

We stayed in the Bernard Shaw room which was large and had an en suit. The room was outstanding in terms of comfort and cleanliness. The room had plenty of space for us to unpack our clothes and settle in after a long journey.

The hosts at La Guillotiere had excellent local wine which my fiancée and I both found ourselves enjoying most evenings by the pool. As an added bonus Anne and Sean had a very lovable Labrador called Bran who always, as it turned out welcomed a good pat on the head.

One of my favourite places to go whilst staying at La Guillotiere was the local French café, Café du Centre close by in Esvres. The café sold small beers and wines and was a great place to sit outside and watch the world go by. Esvres and the surrounding cafes etc are a drive away so a car would be recommended.

The breakfast was excellent as prepared by Sean each morning and purchased fresh from one of the two local bakeries.

We both had a lovely time during our visit here and cannot wait to return next summer!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pixelated_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Ann and Sean welcomed us warmly to their lovely B&B in Esvres in the Loire Valley. The B&B is tucked away from busy centres in the Loire, but well situated to explore the beautiful castles and chateaus.

The room was large, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast which is included in the rate was excellent (although some cold meats would have been great to cut through all the wonderful pastries). There was a range of pastries, cereals, cheese and wonderful pastries, some made by Ann herself very early in the morning.

I would love to return to this B&B in the height of summer when I would be able to enjoy the lovely pool and surrounding gardens and do some walking in the surrounding countryside.

The B&B also has an outside kitchen area which is available for use by guests, which I imagine would be most useful in summer if one would like to barbeque.

A lovely peaceful stay and a wonderful place to return to after busy days exploring The Loire and all it has to offer.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luvt0travell0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews