We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$193
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puradies(Leogang)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vorderriedhof(Leogang)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forsthofalm(Leogang)
US$435
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mama Thresl(Leogang)
US$273
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
US$655
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
282
53
30
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
53
30
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinkski slopeswinterspachildrendishes
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We visited the hotel for two days, as a weekend getaway.

The positives:
- Beautiful location
- Nice rooms (if you are lucky)
- Helpful stuff
- Good for skiing

The negatives:
- Spa: the whirlpool(!!!) and the sauna can only be used naked. We and other guests found this ridiculous. We were asked to leave the whirlpool unless we get naked. The other pool is colder and there's a kids pool, that wasn't working at the time, so if someone doesn't feel like being nude, the spa offers very limited options in winter time...
- Food: not the best in terms of variety and quality.
- Rooms: we were not given the room we reserved online, as they were fully booked. They offered us to change it the next day, but still.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dianawhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam S, Inhaber at Hotel Forsthofgut, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Dianawhy,

thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and skiing in Leogang.
However, we are sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable in our nude area and could not talk about this situation with you onsite. We will certainly discuss this matter internally in our team.

We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel and remain,
with kind regards from Leogang,


Yours family Schmuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed over the New Years and it was a wonderful experience. We arrived and since the first moment the staff made everything to make our experience enjoyable. We had a few problems the first two days, but they were solved and even compensated with some chocolates :) The food is great, breakfast and pm snacks are super complete (try the strudels). Dinners are fancy with local and organic produce! Kids have a special place with the club, their own movies, meals and celebrations. Truly a family experience right at the slopes.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank GarraVerdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam S, Inhaber at Hotel Forsthofgut, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear GarraVerdu,

thank you very much for you words. It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed the days in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Many greetings,

family schmuck
and the whole staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Website, marketing, Facebook and Instagram pictures make this Hotel very recommendable and their marketing team do a very good job!
Unfortunately I think I came to this hotel with too high of an expectation and was, sorry to say, disappointed.
The food, as others have commented, was not memorable at all. The midday buffet was very good and on a grand scale but the buffet at dinner consisted only of cold dishes which the majority was a salad. The service was absolutely amazing from breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff do a wonderful job and compliments to them. Friendly and extremely professional. Too bad about the bland dishes.
The room, a family room, was very comfortable. Large and good wifi. The balcony was wonderful and we enjoyed the toiletries.
The spa was also good but the family swimming pool was far too cold. The beauty treatment (thanks Billy) was very well carried out and professional. I could relax for 80 minutes in tranquility. Other treatments we had where just rather average but by another colleague.
For a family run hotel we never saw the family which was disappointing as their signatures and photos are very prominent. Our welcome drink was included in the bill and there was really no farewell...although the reception staff where wonderful.
What was truly amazing was the entire concept of the hotel and decoration. Truly wonderful.

A very tricky hotel to review. Has it's positives but also negatives. I would have to try their Ski in Ski out option to give it another try but won't rush back.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam S, Inhaber at Hotel Forsthofgut, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Europelover26,
thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that we raised wrong expectations with our marketing, which we have not experienced yet. As this occurred in your case, we want to apologize for the caused illusions. Gladly, we will pass on your compliments about our staff and are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay in your room. We regret that we could not convince you with our culinary offer - we will certainly discuss this internally and are looking forward to meet your culinary expectations again during your next stay with, as well as to show you our ski in/ski option. With warm regards from Leogang,

yours Family Schmuck & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, super atmosphere, very helpful and polite staff.

Our room was extraordinary spaceous and with very nice wooden interiour. It had a view to the hotel's swimming lake and a huge deck right to the edge of the lake.

The food in the hotel's restaurant was delicious. A huge vareity at the breakfast buffet with local food. A decent afternoon-snack (soup, salads, pastries...) and a 5course dinner in the evening. Very large selection of drinks at the bar (try the gins!).

The best at the end: one of the best SPA's I've ever seen at hotels. With large pools, sauna with a stunning view to the mountains, steam bath, relaxing areas with water beds...

no more words needed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jens E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam S, Inhaber at Hotel Forsthofgut, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Jens E,

thank you very much for your kind words.
We are glad that you enjoyed the days in our hotel and hope to welcome you back soon in Leogang,

many greetings,

yours familiy Schmuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had a large family room which was comfortable. Its reasonably close to the lifts in but would be a long walk with kids and their gear so you would have to take the hotel shuttle for skiing.

The spa is very nice although very weirdly layed out - endless stairs. Kids pool area is also nice (they are not allowed in the main spa).

Kids club was fine - basic room but good staff.

Restaurant was a little disappointing at dinner - meals were ok but not memorable. Some tables in the back room are tight and uncomfortable if your kids like to wander.

Breakfast offering was better although I was asked to pay extra for poached eggs. The fresh breads were some of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fam S, Inhaber at Hotel Forsthofgut, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear QQuitroomfan.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We gladly offer the shuttle service for the children to provide them the most convenient start into their skiing day. We are sorry to hear, that our kitchen team was not able to meet your expectations. However, we will gladly forward and discuss it within the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again here at the Forsthofgut.

Kind regards,

family Schmuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews