We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Kaerntnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kaerntnerhof
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Myself and 11 others visited Vienna for a long weekend. We had 4 rooms at Hotel Karntnerhof, and they were all fabulous. The rooms were beautifully decorated and appeared to be recently refurbished. It was great value for money, especially as Vienna is an expensive city. The location was amazing and the staff were excellent. Would recommend to anyone! We had 4 rooms (1 large double, Christiane Hörbiger Suite, Madame Rosa Suite and a large 3 bed) for 12 people and it was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

Room Tip: Christiane Hörbiger Suite was large, 1 king sized bed and a separate room with two twin beds - perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OHalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this small hotel. Location was close to activity but down an alley. Hotel was clean, but old. There were some charming elements but shower was small and water temperature very inconsistent. Nearly burned myself as water went from comfortable to scorching and then freezing. Beds comfortable. One small, but charming elevator. Breakfast included was good. Lots of construction in alley and fairly noisy at night, as you could hear others outside and in the rooms adjacent to ours. Excellent recommendations for dining from staff. Rooftop patio was lovely. Would have been a better rating except for the serious water temperature problem in the shower. Be careful.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Linkysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The hotel can be a little tricky to find (its not my first time getting lost) but is literally only a few minutes walk from Schwedenplatz.
I arrived early and aked if I could leave my baggage and head for a coffee. The receptionist Vladimir was delightful and gave me recommendations after calling housekeeping to see if my room was ready, and when it wasn't, asked if it could be prepared next.
Charming little reception room, which felt very traditional and comfy.
The room was a good size with wardrobe, television, vanity unit and a lovely spacious bathroom.
The handwash and body wash was of a high quality and the rooms were clean and air with huge ceiling and windows.
You leave your keys when leaving the hotel, but the desk is manned 24 hours so this is not a problem.
The little dining room was comfortable and the breakfast was great. Options of toast and jam/marmalade, scrambled eggs, cereal, ham, cheese and rolls, croissant and bread.
Hot coffee & tea, juice, milk and water all available too.
Every single member of staff I spoke with was polite, warm and always happy to give you information. When I checked in, Vladimir gave me a map, marked the hotel and a few attractions he thought I might enjoy.
Would definitely stay in this hotel again as the location was terrific, as was the service I received. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeverleyRainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the suite on the top floor
of this Magnificent boutique hotel.
Situated in a quiet street walking distance to all the delights of old town Vienna.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and provided superior comfort .
The dining room and reception are small but elegant.
Breakfast included was good .
Great value for money .

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bettina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We spent 3 nights here in October. It was not among our first choices, which were booked. We did not take the non-refundable rate, as we were worried about possibly having to cancel. The rate we got was not a great value - it was fairly high considering the accomodations, but there were many excellent things about this hotel, along with some compromises.

The hotel is in a great location - on a small, quiet, dead-end street, but very close to the Ringstrasse near Schwedenplatz, very close to Stephansplatz, walking distance to almost everything. We walked easily to most major areas of the city from here, and also took the tram, as we could get to the tram stop in just a few minutes. There is a lot of great shopping and restaurants very nearby, and a supermarket across the street. I would definitely recommend this for the location.

The interior is beautifully decorated and quaint. The service was excellent. We had emailed ahead of time and the staff helped us get great tickets for a sold-out opera. They were very helpful with good restaurant recommendations, directions, and much more.

The breakfast was decent - nothing special by European standards- just the basic bread, cheese, eggs, etc. Breakfast is served in a space that looks very nice, but that is much smaller than what they need when the hotel is busy. People were bumping into each other, tripping over each other, and the food is all crammed into a corner and very hard to reach when others are there. It takes a long time to get to the food and to get a cup of coffee. They really need a better set-up for this.

The rooms were ok. They (we had 3 people/2 rooms) are definitely on the small side - especially for what we were paying. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was ok - hard to use the shower. We had to wait forever to get hot water in the morning, and the temperature was hard to control. Our room looked out over the front of the hotel, and there was a TON of noise at night which we could hear clearly, although we were on the 5th floor. We could hear people partying, garbage being emptied in the wee hours, etc.

We were on the 5th floor, and having the lounge on that floor was a real treat - especially since we were in 2 rooms and when we wanted to get together we could go to the lounge. It was great.

Room Tip: 5th floor is best - there's a lounge where you can relax, and a rooftop deck. The elevator only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Velden am Woerthersee hotels
4.1 km away
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
#9 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
51 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resor...
#1 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
363 reviews
0.8 km away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Old's Car Motel
Old's Car Motel
#19 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
7 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Landhaus Streklhof
Hotel Landhaus Streklhof
#22 of 51 in Velden am Woerthersee
18 reviews
0.8 km away
GORITSCHNIGGs Hotel
GORITSCHNIGGs Hotel
#10 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaerntnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaerntnerhof

Address: Villacher Strasse 24, Velden am Woerthersee 9220, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Velden am Woerthersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Velden am Woerthersee
Price Range: €112 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaerntnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kärntnerhof - zest for life at Velden am Wörthersee Short trip – vacation - events – business near the lake! Our excellent breakfast buffet and our carinthian service team will let your day begin brightly. We'll give you the Velden-Card with lots of free services or reduced prices. Hotel Kärntnerhof - Velden am Wörthersee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kaerntnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing