We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will plan to return”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Allonnes, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
daktari_o...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Will plan to return”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

La Forge is a comfortable and well-equipped two bedroom gite, set in a peaceful location on the outskirts of Allonnes. Mark & Judy are warm and welcoming hosts, and available if required to answer any queries. Would be very happy to stay here again in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for the review and also for the restaurant visiting cards, our guests are always interested in finding a great place for lunch! So are we! You seem to have done the leg work for us for a year or too, I am a little worried about my expanding waist line, but I am sure we will make our way to some of the lovely places you have found for us. See you soon, Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
We are really pleased to see from your review how much you enjoyed yourselves here. It was a real pleasure to meet you both, as well as, of course, your fine, well-behaved dogs. It is always a pleasure to have such a positive response from dog-owners. The separate fenced and enclosed gardens with their automatic gates make having dogs here a practical proposition and we are pleased to see you take good advantage of the huge range of wonderful walks that surround the property. Our Yorkie – Caillou – still spends much of his day playing with the toy you kindly gave him!!
We are grateful you appreciated the high standard we have aimed for in the gîtes. Our own experience in years past of staying in substandard accommodation furnished with musty caste-offs convinced us that a different mentality was required – one which placed the emphasis on providing the best possible experience for guests – hence also the large heated pool.
We are very fortunate to have gîtes in an area that provides so much in the way of attractions. It is good to know how much you enjoyed Saumur with its quirky architecture and we hope to have the pleasure of you visiting us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in our area. I hope the teeth are ok now!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sksligo
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!! Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here in June. It is in the heart of the Loire Valley about a km from the nearest town and only a few minutes further by car you have an abundance of cities, vineyards, châteaus and activities.
The gite itself is really well equipped with a huge swimming pool. The gite has the sunlounger cushions, towels etc. The property is 100% fenced in with the gite having its own entrance and the pool is 100% independently fenced off with child proof gate.

The TV has both English and french stations, WiFi working hob, oven microwave etc. It was lovely an cool in the soaring temperatures!

We were greeted with a bottle of wine and book of information and brochures and need to know info. We were also invited to a wine tasting the following morning.

The rooms upstairs, again, are comfortable and warm. The shower room is excellent and separate from the toilet.

Outside we had a garage for the car and our own bbq. Washing facilities were present also

The hosts Mark and Judy are two of the nicest, kindest and most generous people we have ever met! We had a problem with the sor conditioning in our jeep and not only did they book it inot a garage for us Mark came with us to translate! En route we got a separate tour of good shops etc to visit while we waited in the area!

There isnt enough I could say about this place. I know I am missing something. When we booked this is was based on previous trip advisor recommendations but it far surpassed out expectations!

This is one of those places that is a hidden gem. We will 100% be returning here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
We are really very glad to see how much you enjoyed your holiday here. We were sorry the air-con unit couldn't be repaired but are happy you found somewhere nice to go while it was being looked at. You brought wonderful weather with you which still continues now. We are so pleased you liked the area - it is so very beautiful around here and no one ever seems short of things to do. It is always a great pleasure to meet new people, particularly when they enjoy life so much. Lastly, many thanks for the gift of an artichoke you found in Bourgeuil market. It's the first one we have had for ages and we had honestly forgotten how delicious they are!! All the best, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlot198...
Oestrich-Winkel, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Great place to go back to after a day of sightseeing!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent a week in La Forge. Judy and Mark made us feel right at home immediately. The cottage was clean and cozy - great kitchen - and there is also a cool shower room. We really appreciated the English TV channels and help from Mark and Judy on where to go/what to do/eat, as we live in Germany and don´t speak French. We were amazed at the amount and variety of things to do in the area and the friendliness of the locals. At one café the cook came out of the kitchen to tell us what he could make for us and when he couldn´t think of a word in English, he went back to the kitchen to get the ingredient and show it to us (chestnut cream). So charming! The visit to Jerome´s winery is a must. My husband really liked using the Weber grill in the evenings - steak, green salad, baguette and a bottle of Jerome´s wine - perfect, easy dinner after a day of sightseeing, a quick game of table tennis and a dip in the pool. We´ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool, table tennis, absolute quiet at night
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$332
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing