We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Swannay cottage stay Aug.2018”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swannay Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Birsay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Q9645UKia...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swannay cottage stay Aug.2018”
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Very well equipped cottage, ideal base for visiting all the main islands attractions, met by a very friendly lady Karen upon arrival, enjoyed the welcome pack that was left out thankyou, can recommend a stay and will re-visit at a later date...

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
So glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a great time in Orkney. We would love to have you back at Swannay Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K
1 review
“Wonderful, peaceful cottage.”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is set in the peaceful Orkney countryside and has great views over the area.
We were welcomed to the cottage by Karen, who lives close by. The interior of the cottage is very pleasant and has everything that you could want and more, including a welcome basket filled with Orkney produce. Never got to see the fudge but our granddaughters enjoyed it ! ! .
We were within a short drive of the majority of the "Must see" Orkney sights, and sites, Skara Brae, Broch of Gurness, Birsay etc. And a brewery selling excellent beers a few hundred yards along the road.
All in all a wonderful relaxing week in an excellent location and cottage.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
So glad you and your family enjoyed your trip to Orkney, hope to see you back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J9988
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant ... thank you :-)”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at Swannay. Quiet and peaceful. All we needed in the property including vac plum cleaner (with 2 dogs needed that!) well equipped kitchen not that we cooked much lovely outside space with a secure garden. Good for off road parking. Karen was helpful and good for a blether.....thanks Karen.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Glad you enjoyed your trip to Orkney and your stay at Swannay Cottage.
Would love to see you again sometime
Thanks
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you, glad you had a lovely time when in Orkney.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at Swannay Cottage. Lovely quiet location and extremely clean and well equipped cottage. Really cosy and warm too. Friendly and helpful owner nearby.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see back in Orkney sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.