We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Strathdon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ray91171
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and lovely”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a weekend, the cottage had all that we needed for a comfortable stay. Good rural spot,tranquil with awesome surroundings. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. I hope you are able to stay longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigB239...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The property is so homely and lovely it's like being in a home of your own especially with the log fire most of your things are provided for just need food, and it was fantastic to wake up to the beautiful mountains every morning couldn't ask for anything more also walking trails are close by which was fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely 2 day break”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Visited Craigiedows Cottage last week. Lovely remote place, perfect break for playing board games, reading in front of a log fire and cooking meals. Would def go again once the sun comes out as it rained the whole duration of our stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thanks for your comments. It was a real pity the weather was so bad during your stay, but hopefully it will be better next time and you will have a chance to enjoy the views!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage with great views. Rain or shine you'll have a good time!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were a group of friends looking for a weekend getaway coming up from Glasgow which took around 3 hours to get there. We were looking for an isolated place with great views so that if it rained we could look out from the conservatory and play games or venture into the the local area if it was nice. The weather was variable so we did both. The place was easy enough to find given the instructions as was the key. It was great having the log fire and the kitchen and bedrooms were well kitted out with everything we needed. I am very much looking forward to returning to the cottage.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
I'm glad you all enjoyed yourselves and that Craigiedows fitted what you needed. You are welcome to return anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LKabc123
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Amazing location at end of long and quite remote country road. Good walks for dogs on your doorstep. Great views. Very attractive enclosed garden. House is very comfortable and cosy and has all amenities you need. Not really suited to people with limited mobility. Despite remote feel, towns like Ballater are 30 min drive away. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not much - would benefit from a bath mat in the bath - that's about it really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you liked Craigiedows so much. It's a special place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.