We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$161
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laskill Grange(Helmsley)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$111
US$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YHA Helmsley(Helmsley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Canadian Fields(Nawton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,820)
Filter reviews
1,820 results
Traveller rating
1,027
455
195
101
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,027
455
195
101
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomafternoon teagallery restaurantfeature roomblack swansix course tasting menumolton brown toiletriessconesmarket squarelovely hotelevening mealwedding partybar areamarket menurestaurant staffspecial occasionlamb
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 1,820 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Everything which we experienced was first class, from the choice of beers to the varied menu. The staff were attentive and courteous but not intrusive. Location is quiet, despite facing out to the market square.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arbitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Annually we meet friends in a town in northern England and aim to visit a first class hostelry for lunch. There is no main restaurant open at lunchtimes in this famous hotel so we ate in the cafe and coffee shop. The menu is sparse as is the food. A great pity as their offering deserves to be better for the prices charged. We pefer a linen tablecloth and not one covered by a sheet of glass. Napkins were linen so good marks for that but drinks prices far too high for a snack bar.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newmillerdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

It's been about 14/15 years since we last visited and the hotel has moved with the times ! Gladly not too minimalist and wild gaudy wallpapers ! Still has charm . We were glad and surprised to get the same room ...number five at the front !lovely room , spacious , clean , stylish . But I have to say we love the Black Swan but without the fan that the very pleasant helpful reception lady provided we could not have slept in that bedroom as it was boiling hot ! Even with the fan we had two restless nights! So owners/ directors please install air con in these front rooms as all one wants is a good nights sleep !! We will return again as Helmsley and the Black Swan are wonderful ! .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rocky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Delightful setting, beautiful old building. Warm welcome from staff, beautiful spacious rooms. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, breakfast also. Very efficient staff throughout. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Helmsley was a very interesting town, the hotel quaint, nearby abbeys , Byland, Rievaulx and Fountains werevery interesting and fascinating. Would love to return. However, driving on those narrow roads was harrowing.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henryb627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews