We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
912
105
23
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
105
23
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea drawing room country house hotel coach house homemade shortbread the main house deer park tasting menu ivy cottage dorset countryside cheese board amuse bouche every member of staff spa treatments wonderful hotel the cottages the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first stay at this beautiful and well appointed hotel adjacent to a charming village deep in the Dorset’s rural hills. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful who ensured our every wish was met. Our stay was a true pleasure and made especially so thanks to Alex, Beata and all the team. Delicious meals. Thank you for spoiling us.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RougePer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACAW, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RougePer
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Summer Lodge. We are all so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warmest wishes and many thanks, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great overall 5 *standard, but disappointed about the spa/pool area. Agreed, not all 5* hotels have this facility but found it sub standard.
Food & accommodation made up for this,
Food in the evening was exceptional!
Will return!

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden area
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACAW, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris R

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you found your stay to be so excellent. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food so much. We are so proud of our wonderful kitchen and restaurant teams.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes, Alexandra and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Another stay at Summer Lodge. The friendliness, attention to detail and warm welcome are still the same. The room was very comfortable, impeccably clean. Meals were delicious and the restaurant staff were all very well trained but helpful. The sommelier was very helpful, so knowledgeable – he now has an assistant who is very good.
The gardens looked beautiful, with seating in different spots.
Highly recommend a stay at Summer Lodge.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bonnifido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACAW, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear bonnifido
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you both enjoy your visits with us so much and found Eric and his assistant Riccardo so helpful. We are also delighted to hear how beautiful you found the gardens. The garden team have been working so hard and have found the heat this year a new challenge! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest wishes, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The best dog-friendly hotel we've visited with our pampered pooch. He loved the treats left in our room. Hotel provided everything he needed - bowls on rubber mat, dog bed, towels. Excellent and friendly staff. Found the charming bar person very knowledgeable on whisky and brandies and really appreciated his advice. Food very good - excellent range of breakfast items and superb dining. Can't fault the hotel (and even got used to the padded walls in the bedroom). Look forward to returning in spring.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harry4Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACAW, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Harry4Sammy
We are so pleased to hear how much you both and Robby enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Summer Lodge and the staff join us in looking forward to your return in the Spring. Warmest wishes, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the breakfast excellent, the rooms luxurious but what really stands out is the staff. From the moment one arrives they cannot do enough for you and this continues throughout the stay and applies to all of them. Bea on reception is especially charming. We were sorry to leave and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichardHarris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACAW, General Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear RichardHarris_13
Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review! We feel enormously blessed to have such a fantastic team at Summer Lodge and we shall take pleasure in sharing your kind words with the team, especially Bea. We all look forward to your return soon, warmest wishes, Alex & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews