We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LLandudno
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed one week in February.
Rooms are large, spacious suites with great views over the marina and sea. It's worth noting that the marina is also a working boatyard that does generate significant noise that could be heard both from our room and the pool area, it was more than annoying. Rooms were well serviced, and when we had to call maintenance to fix our toilet they came very quickly. However rooms are only serviced for 5 out of 7 days, and on 2 of the other days our clean towels arrived very late ( 7pm).
Breakfast buffet was good, if sometimes very chaotic, but the views are stunning!
They try hard with dinner, in that they have different themed evenings, but the food is poor. Food is sloppy and cold. They do not have enough staff on and the wait for a table is often long. The staff are lovely and work hard, but are unable to keep your table clear of plates as you move through the courses. I wouldn't recommend 1/2 board and we ate out several times.
The pool is a lovely infinity pool, with fab views, but the sun terrace is small which means that the sun beds are packed in, the noise levels around the pool can be incredibly loud, with the sawing from the boat yard, competing with the noise from the hundreds of small children that were there. Because the public areas are quite small there was no escaping the children, I wouldn't recommend this place if you don't like noisy children,you really can't escape them here!
All the staff are lovely, work hard are very helpful and polite.
There is a lovely walk across the headland to Amodores.
Oscars is good for dinner.
Chaplins is good for a drink.
Hire a car and drive around the island....... Some terrifying drops on high bendy roads, keeps your heart pumping, but beautiful dramatic scenery to see.
The location of the suites in Puerto Rico is good, but Puerto Rico itself is a tired and jaded resort, there are nicer places to go on the island such as Playa de Mogan or Amodores beach or even Maspalomas. I would go here again but only if I got a really good price on the holiday.

Room Tip: A high room, with a view of the marina and not the boat yard, or pay extra to have an ocean facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Gerente at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken on sharing your experience 'on board' Marina Suites.

We will carefully supervise and analise all the points that you have described and work on them; We work to provide the best service ever and keep the standards we have established for reaching the expectations of everyone of our guests.

We thank you for the nice comments to our Staff and their work.

The Marina Suites Staff and Management hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on board in a near future.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    794
    173
    37
    19
See reviews for
1,423
1,156
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorks
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Marina Suites is fantastic and the views are fab, the breakfast buffet has gone down hill from 5 years ago, and we would advise self catering. Kids club is excellent well done Alexandra. We WILL come back again next year ! :-)

Room Tip: We like the top floors rooms facing the sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccapakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Gerente at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken on sharing your experience in Marina Suites.

We are pleased to know that you are coming back, and we encourage you on trusting our policy of quality, based on the continues improvement and taste our breakfast buffet once on board again.
And do not forget to do any room request previous your next stay.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back 'on board'.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Great place to stay very clean and I can not say enough about the hotel. We checked out on Sat the 11 th of Feb but found a very "nasty" tone coming from the receptionist when we ran a few minutes late for our 12 noon check out. We had two kids with us and anybody with kids would know things do not always go to plan when you have kids, especially timing. I would have understood if we were a few hours late with the checkout but we were a matter of minutes. Her "nasty sarcastic tone" was not appreciated. There was a quick transition from "customer" to "intruder" and remember we payed a nice bit of money to stay at the Marina Suites. That kind of attitude would leave a tainted final memory of the place. Pity !! I would not have such a person in any customer facing position.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Gerente at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken on sharing with everyone your experience in Marina Suites.

We work to provide you the best service ever. We, the Management and Reception team, do apologize if we did not, at your check out time.
We would like to tell you that, from the moment you do your reservation in Marina Suites, you are our guest, and we will consider you our guest forever. Please keep feeling it.

The Marina Suites' Crew and Management hope to have a new oportunity to welcome you back on board.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our children booked this hotel for us as a xmas present. We went there Jan this year. The
hotel is amazing, very clean, great size rooms, and we had a beautiful view of the harbour
from our balcony. The only downside is that the bedrooms and bathroom are a little dark so ladies take a mirror with you and do your make-up etc on the balcony! The facilities at the hotel are second to none very, very good. I would definately return to this hotel again. The staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view room as the entertainment is around the pool so the pool view rooms tend to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral260758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Gerente at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken on sharing with everyone your experience 'on board'. As well we thank you for the nice comments about the hotel facilities and the Staff.

We have taken good note of your request, as we work to satisfy our guest's expectation and requests.

We are pleased to know that you would like to come back,
The Marina Suites Staff and Management hope to welcome you in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After a very pleasant stay at the Marina Suites last February, I decided to book this year. I cannot fault this hotel in any way... perfect location, clean, modern & spacious suites overlooking the ocean or Puerto Rice Marina, great outdoor heated pool and friendly and personal service. The two guys at reception were GREAT, they were very accomadating with a good since of humour. They booked restaurants for us and answered any questions we had, all with a genuine smile. As I mentioned last year... I have no reason to consider another accomadation. I hope to be back next February.

Room Tip: Choose a 'Deluxe Suite' which offers a view of the ocean and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Kernohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinasuites, Gerente at Marina Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken on sharing with everyone your experience in Marina Suites.

We are really pleased to hear that you feel 'on board' like at home, and we would like to take the oportunity to thank you for trusting Marina Suites and its Staff to spend your holidays.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you 'back home', next February.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.3 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,258 reviews
1.8 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,098 reviews
13.8 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
12.0 km away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing