We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning view”
Review of Hotel Altamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Altamar
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we stayed at the altamar last july but felt had to give it a review on here.
we were on all inclusive and couldnt fault the food,good variety,enjoyed every meal we had,although one night we went to the europa for a meal just for a change of surroundings.
the room was great,although the first nights sleep for me was broken due to a very tired and lumpy mattress....asked at reception the next morning if it could be changed,a brand new matress still in its wrapping was at apartment by the time we came back from the shops.everything was clean and tidy and adequate for the price of this aparthotel,although the view from the terrace was priceless,i still miss it now,stunning.
i had read reviews on various websites telling of grumpy bar staff insisting on the 'one drink per person'policy,which it seems would mean we would all have to go up to get our individual drinks...this wasnt the case at all.also read that the lift was forever breaking down,well the week we were there it never failed us.
i wasnt keen on the pool area,everyone seemed to have taken on the german mantra of getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve there beds (i know this as out apartment was directly below the main pool)we headed for the beach or stayed on the glorious terrace!
cant comment on the entertainment as we headed out most evenings to the europa centre which is a short walk away.
we walked down to amadores beach one day,which was hard enough on that steep hill,and ended up walking back up to altamar after our day sunbathing,Not recommended,our 13 yr old daughter powered up the hill but our lungs were fit to burst at the top haha.
would highly recommend puerto rico and the altamar,i would love to come back here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Altamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,358 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

we stayed here for a week in february originally self catering, The hotel was spotless with marble floors. the appartment was very clean and big with a seperate bedroom and pull down bed in the living quarters. not quite what i was expecting one child sleeping on a sofa and the other on a pull out bed. the bedroom had 2 single beds pushed together. The maids were brilliant cleaning daily and there is a note in the bathroom that says if u want ur towels changing to leave on the floor. the kitchen area was good only problem was although there was a hob and microwave there wasnt an oven so u wouldve have been limited to what u can cook. We upgraded to all inclusive for a cost of 30 euros per adult and 15euros per child daily. every day the food was great and a good variety offered. although the hotel is based on a very steep hill a free bus service is provided from the hotel and taxis didnt cost no more than 3.50euros one way.
we tried the dolphin trip at a 90euros for 3 adults and 1 child very disappointing they guarantee u will see dolphins or whales or ur next trip free, yeah right they gave u a trip for free for a week later knowing full well that most tourists wouldnt be there that day.
there is ample places to eat out in and around the island but be careful if your on a budget although the prices of the meals are showing they dont advertise the cost of drinks and then when u do go to pay for the meal etc they put the price of the drinks up by 2 euros as we found out watching the till.
the entertainment was different each nite but after the act had finished it was the same songs the main resort entertainer sang every nite. because it was the danish/scandanavian season most of the speaking to let u know what was happening throughout the day was spoken in their language ok if ur not scottish/english.there was also plenty entertainment for the children as well with the daily entertainment advertised on the notice board at the bar.
a great holiday was had by us id recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to try it

Room Tip: we stayed in 137b which was 3rd floor ideal for walking down the stairs to the restaurant and upstai...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debs3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at The Altamar in January.

We were on All-inclusive , food was good but a bit boring as is usual with most all-inclusive, if we return here we will probably go for the self catering option as we ate out most evenings, also the a la carte food is good in The Altamar.

This hotel is built into a hillside so Do Not consider staying here if steps are a problem for you, although there is a lift steps cannot be avoided!!

Rooms are apartments, all have views of sea and large balcony with 2 sunbeds and table and chairs.
Hotel and apartments spotlessly clean and insect free.
A safety deposit box is in wardrobe and key is available from reception for a small deposit.

There is a Spar shop in the reception area, very handy for bottled water, newspapers etc.

Wifi is available in the reception area and there is also pay internet.

We had no problem getting sunbeds when we sat at the pool, most people seemed to go to the beach.

There is a free bus service to and from the beach and Puerto Rico and if time doesn't suit you taxis are cheap

The Europa shopping centre is a few minutes walk away.

If you want to go out to a really good restaurant go to Guantanamo, it is only a few minutes away in a taxi (on the road to Puerto Mogan), steak,seafood, mexican coffee and service is excellent.

Amadores Beach Club at end of beach has a nice bar area and a good soul singer on Wednesday and Sunday nights and also a nice garden area with big beanbags which is nice for an afternoon snack and drink.

Room Tip: A Block is more accessible from lift and request apartment away from lift as it is noisy
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IRLHolidayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. We were self catering so did not eat any food at the hotel.

The apartments are of a good size and well furnished, consisting of a lounge /dinner/kitchen area, a separate bedroom and a bathroom which was large and well appointed.

The kitchen area is much the same as all apartments, having a sink, two ring hob, microwave and fridge. There are plenty of kitchen utensils, glasses and plates.

The apartment was cleaned about 4 times during are stay.

As has been mentioned the balconies are large, with nice views of the sea, and have a table and chairs plus two loungers. We needed a sun umbrella and these can be hired from reception for 13 Euros a week.

The complex as a whole is kept in good order, with nice planting and decoration.

I was very impressed with the quick response to our requests for a bottle opener, extra pillows and the sun umbrella; all were provided within an hour.

The only thing that lets the place down is the poor bar area, which is small with very uncomfortable seats.

The entertainment that we saw was O K.

As the name suggests the hotel is at the top of a hill, but they run a regular free bus to the Amadores beach and Puerto Rico.

Over all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Towyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at the altamar April 2011 and have just booked for july 2012. We had an amazing time. Food was very good, they had an english chef who even prepared my very fussy daughter something different to eat, The entertainment was great thanks to Becky, Leanne. olly and Gazza. Rooms were very clean and the balconys were huge with excellent views. Cant wait to go back x

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Jeannie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 km away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,214 reviews
1.3 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,211 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.6 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel Altamadores
Hotel Altamadores
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamar

Address: Avenida de la Cornisa, 21, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: €133 - €493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altamar 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel is located in the high area of Puerto Rico Gran Canaria, it offers 257 fully rebuilt Apartments with wide terrace and impressive views to the sea. We also offer a great variety of services and great equipment for all kind of guest (families, couples, groups, etc...). All that you may require to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Altamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamar Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing