We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooking practice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Servatur Puerto Azul
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Not a bad hotel IF you can get in it, while there in March we were moved to another place (Montebello) for 2 nights as they had over booked. We spoke to another couple that had to move to 2 different places for just one night each time before they could get their room at Puerto Azul. We were offered free breakfast every day (we booked self catering) as compensation. Once we were in the room it was quite good, clean and plenty of room for 2 with all the equipment required for self catering. The general pool area is too cluttered and crowded but the adult area is fine. The thing that lets it down is the over booking and it only seems to be the Brits that suffer, the place is packed with Scandies.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmsufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubimarsuite, Sales Manager at Servatur Puerto Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

We are really very apologize por the inconveniences caused but all time we try to satisfy our guests and in cases as yours we will offer a compensation.In any case we hope to see you again with us and for sure you will enjoy it ¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,166 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

I spent a week at this nice hotel with my lady in March 2012. After the first day's wandering around and trying to get back and forth in the hotel lift system we got used to it and finally didn't need a lift at all -except with our luggage on the day we left.

The interior of hotel was a marble one, with crystal lampets and very shiny, clean floors. We were enjoying all inclusive meals and drinks which were superb. Many varieties of fish, poultry and meat was available. Also low carb varieties from which to choose.

The hotel + cleaning + pool area was just superb, we'll be back for sure. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Try get one close to reception to avoid elevators. They are not noisy and pool area is not far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubimarsuite, Sales Manager at Servatur Puerto Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Many thanks for your comments and support.We hope to see you very soon again ¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

me and my partner visited here in May last year! We had a lovely week here; our views from the food were amazing, we had an apartment towards the sea; it was beautiful!!! The rooms were large, they were regularly cleaned, and the staff were friendly. There is a lovely adults only area, with spa hot tubs over looking the sea views... bliss!

We were all inclusive for a week; there was always lots of choice in terms of food, at breakfast, the lunch buffet was open with lots of varied dishes, but we ordered from the pool bar at lunch, it had just changed the week we arrived to an a la carte ordering system, so the food was fresh, this included the general pizza, burger, chips, salad, toastie ect- we thought it was fab and we dont normally eat a lot of carby based food. The drinks were varied and always served with a smile, with the option of plastic cup for pool side or glass for bar/restaurant/relaxing areas.

This hotel was brill, I would defiantly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LMT065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubimarsuite, Sales Manager at Servatur Puerto Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thanks a lot for your comments.We appreciate so much and we are really happy to know that you have enjoyed with us.Thanks again and we hope to see you in a very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Puerto azul in June 2011 for a week all inclusive. love nearly everything about this hotel its location is fab, rooms spacious quite modern although would be better if they had aircon as it was 48 degrees when we were there ! Pools lovely and big and were always warm, adults only area was fab plenty of jacuzzies and loungers down there if you prefer to be away from kiddies also has the sun from first thing on morning till last thing at night for sun worshippers. Bar staff worked like troopers literally there everyday from morning till night very pleasant and they also let us get 4 drinks at a time didn't have to wait long to be served at all, food was the only downfall of the hotel none of us are fussy eaters by any means but the food just wasn't upto scratch. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and we have booked to return for 2 weeks this July ... Can't wait to return to Puerto azul 2012 !

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaylaanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubimarsuite, Sales manager at Servatur Puerto Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Many thanks for your comments about your holidays in our hotel.Every day we are trying to get better and the aircond. in the rooms is one of our projects for the near future.About the food we have to say that we have 14 differents menus for the restaurant and it means that you will get different food every 2 weeks but of course we will try also to satisfy to everyone and sometimes we don´t get it.Anyway it´s nice to hear that you are coming back to our hotel and with pleasure we will attend you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My friend and I went to the Azul for 10 days,arrived back 18th February 2012. When we arrived we were given a plan of the apartments and quickly told to go down 4 lifts which were around the complex so that we didn't have to walk accross the pool area with cases which everyone else seemed to do.When we eventually found the apartment we drew back the curtains and all we could see was a massive hotel in front of us,The Gloria Palace.I went to reception and asked to be moved and was told 'impossible the hotel is full' I said I was not happy and was told to come back at 8.30 next morning to see the manager. He asked what was wrong with the room and when I told him he pulled a face and said the hotel was full,however he said there was a room which we looked at and moved, there was still the hotel in front but we had a good view of the sea and watched the fantastic sunsets. The food was dreadful but if you wanted chips and vegetables for breakfast fine, but we hardly saw any vegetables in the evening. We were all inclusive unfortunately and what you got for lunch in the restaurant you got for dinner in the evening,everything was nearly cold , thank goodness for the microwave which they supplied.Lunch in the pool bar was a bit more tasty beef burger and chips and salad or a hot dog.The toaster forget it!! We didn't have to wait too long for drinks which were not too bad,and the hot drinks were good. As for the terrace where we used to sunbathe away from the pool , it was locked and we had to queue each morning and when the gates were unlocked we actually saw people running to get a sunbed, believe me I've never seen anything like it . The hotel has a rule, do not reserve sun beds this rule should be enforced as do the no smoking signs.The room itself was kept quite clean but we only had the bed changed once in 10 days, however towels were changed every other day.The location gives fantastic views over Puerto Rico and if you are not able to walk up and down there are taxis which are very reasonable. I would not go back to this hotel and would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5102 and surrounding rooms we had 4313 in which you could see over the hotel infront and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubimarsuite, Sales manager at Servatur Puerto Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

As you can understand in all the hotels around the world not all the rooms are the best rooms,even in the most exciting 5 stars in Dubai or in Hawai...some of the rooms are not in the best position.Of course in this period the hotel is totally fully booked and sometimes happen that we have to give to some of our customers this kind of rooms with not the best view.As you have said we try to satisfy to everyone and you was moved to another room as soon was possible.We clean the rooms 5 days a week,change the towels up to you,and the bed lines once a week,thats the normal service in all the 3 stars hotels,even more than in others.About the food we have to say that we have 14 differents menus and with different meats,fish,etc. and every night we have the show cooking .The mentioned lunch in the pool bar,it´s not really the lunch,it´s the snacks served after breakfast and before lunch in the restaurant.But many people prefer to remain at the pool area and it´s why we keep the snacks open until 15h. but the real lunch is at the restaurant.Anyway we thanks again for your comments and we really appreciate your visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,480 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.0 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,329 reviews
0.8 km away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Puerto Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Puerto Azul

Address: Avenida La Cornisa 13, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: €128 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Puerto Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Servatur Puerto Azul hotel, with a 3 star category, is located between the beaches of Amadores and Puerto Rico. Built on a cliff top, with a privileged situation over the ocean, providing spectacular views. Servatur Puerto Azul provides 385 units, totally equipped, as well as different bars and a restaurant where you can enjoy international and canarian cuisine. Servatur Puerto Azul has two swimming pools (one heated during winter months), large sun lounge with complimentary sun beds and sunshades, a relaxation area with jacuzzi, gardens, sport areas and children playgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Servatur Puerto Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Puerto Azul Hotel Puerto Rico
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Rico
Puerto Azul Gran Canaria
Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Rico
Servatur Puerto Azul Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing