We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, breath-taking, delectable, relaxing, romantic villa in beautiful Tuscany!”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A wonderful, breath-taking, delectable, relaxing, romantic villa in beautiful Tuscany!

My wife and I just spent a week at Villa Le Barone to celebrate our 10th - and as a retreat after enduring Hurricane Harvey. Our entire experience was absolutely wonderful. We just loved loved loved the cuisine, rooms, pool, surrounding towns, staff, and owners. We loved it so much that we felt compelled to write about it so bear with as this might be one of the longer reviews...

We experienced Tuscan cooking first-hand with Chef Alessio during our two hour cooking class. This class gave us an even greater appreciation for all the breakfast delectables, exquisite poolside lunches, and romantic dinners. Our only regret is that we wished we dined more often at Villa Le Barone. We recommend that you make your reservations before your trip to get the 50% discount - yes 50%!

Our room was extremely comfortable because the bed was large, bedding was comfortable, ceiling-fixed shower had great water-pressure (and hot was HOT not just luke-warm), windows opened to romantic views, and there was plenty of storage for luggage.

The pool experience could not have been any more perfect. The water was heated just enough, the infinity views were breath-taking, and the pool-side experience was relaxing and romantic.

We walked from Villa Le Barone to Panzano for sight-seeing, lunches, and their wine festival. It takes about 15 minutes each way. We also drove to nearby Greve for a dinner and their wine festival. If you stay more than a few nights, we recommend a visit to the Crazy Butcher, a unique dining experience for meat aficionados.

The staff was all-around very professional and helpful. The front desk staff made our reservations for on-prem and off-prem dinning, taxis, auto rental, transfers, and a bike excursion. The cleaning staff work really hard to keep the rooms and facilities spic and span. And the personable wait staff made our dining experience very memorable.

The owners sincerely want to provide a great Tuscan villa experience. Keep this in mind when you first meet and talk with the Count and Countess :)

Room Tip: Call Villa Le Barone, tell Barbara what you like, and ask her to recommend a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hammerlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAloisiDeLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear hammerlej,

with respect to your very kind review I am inclined to tell readers to divide by two and take the square root! At Villa le Barone we tend to undersell and overdeliver and are always afraid to build too high expectations! What is 100% right, though, is that "The owners sincerely want to provide a great Tuscan villa experience" and this is what we are trying to do everyday with our staff: better breakfast, cleaner rooms, better service, better pool, better dinner, ... for our Guests to enjoy. When, sometimes, we reach all of the above objectives, then we are the first ones to be happy!

For readers: all the rooms are charming, very Tuscan and well appointed, but not all have views on the hills ... upon reserving prefer e-mailing Villa le Barone directly in order to find out what is available and at what conditions.

Dinner is at bargain prices considering it is a 4 course deal of top quality food when you reserve a number of dinners beforehand ... of course we accept last minute decisions but we prefer a bit of planning.

We are very happy you had a good time on your 10th Anniversary and that we could contribute a bit to its success. We look forward to hosting you sometimes soon without waiting the 20th!

Yours sincerely,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

My sister and I made a reservation at your beautiful villa at the last minute, and we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the main villa in room 3, overlooking the Tuscan hills. The room was decorated to the period of the villa, with a lot of antiques. The bed was very comfortable, and the bottle of Prosecco upon arrival was a wonderful surprise. The bathroom was up to date...best shower in all of our travels.
We had supper both nights and the food was very good. We arrived faiirly late the first evening so we just made it supper in time. We were greeted by the owners of the Villa and they were both very gracious and welcoming.
The breakfast in the morning was delightful...plenty of choices, with fresh fruit and pastries, along with eggs and meats. The grounds are the prettiest and most private. There are plenty of places to walk and admire the lovely gardens and the pool area is spectacular. Even though there is a lot to see and do in the Tuscany region, this is one place that you could just relax and enjoy the serenity and beauty. My sister and I enjoyed our stay very much. My husband and I travel to Italy quite frequently and we will definitley come to this lovely property.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank vickigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAloisiDeLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear vickigal57,

I am very glad you discovered Villa le Barone and its grounds. I don't know at what time of the year you came, but this year, in spite of our daily watering as best as we could, the grounds were somehow not as colourful as prior years because of the long drought we suffered. Come again to enjoy the gardens even more. The new heated, salt water, travertine infinity pool in front of the San Leolino Abbey is quite something and our Guests enjoy it a lot.

I am glad you liked your room. All rooms are diffeent, up to date and personnally decorated by my wife almost exclusively with the historical furniture of the villa. Of course fabrics are re done regularly, as well as bathrooms.

I am also very happy you enjoyed dinners at the Villa (did you dine inside or on the terrace?) and breakfast. Food is cooked with simple local recipes, some of it is sourced from our own farm and much from local producers.

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again and- as for many Guests- several times.

Sincerely,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Villa Le Barone is one of the best places I have ever stayed. I am a frequent traveler and have used VRBO, Air B&B ,Condo Nast and NYT for traveling all over just to give perspective. The views are breathtaking, sunset by the pool is especially spectacular. We also enjoyed the lawn one evening when the near full moon was rising, incredible. We stayed in two different rooms both very nice with superb bathrooms. The property is elegant and peaceful. We returned from a day of exploring to find a nice bottle of prosecco chilling in a beautiful silver bucket. The staff had noticed from my passport at check in that it was my birthday. The service is exquisite for all. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back sooner than later ❤️

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dunelandvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAloisiDeLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Dunelandvirgo,

I am so happy your stay at Villa le Barone was pleasant and that you enjoyed so much our bit of Tuscany! Yes, Chianti is amazing and the views from our new swimming pool area are inspiring both under the sun as well as under the moon. Several people just spend hours admiring and taking it all in instead of going out sightseeing.
I am also happy you enjoyed the rooms, all decorated by my wife, and the service, spontaneous, friendly and sincerely helpfuf, given by our Staff ... to whom I am very grateful and proud of!
To readers, if you plan to come to Villa le Barone, I suggest to take contact with our Reception in order to get the best conditions adapted to your needs.
Many thanks,, again for having chosen to visit Villa le Barone and we look very much forward to hosting you soon again,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Six of us were touring the Tuscany region and we spent two nights here which was a
lovely Villa overlooking the beautiful countryside. They served breakfast and dinner and
the owners were delightful. And no pets allowed which was a plus! Great place for a
base camp while touring the area. And they had a new salt water swimming pool
plus an honor bar! We had a fabulous stay and everyone was so helpful! Plus, they will
arrange cooking classes and tours.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAloisiDeLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Sarah W,

many thanks to you and your team for having come to Villa le Barone and for having taken the time to give your kind feedback.

I agree with you that Villa le Barone is the ideal point to discover Tuscany from: 30 km from Florence, 30 km from Sienna, 45 minutes away for San Gimignano, minutes more for Volterra ... furthermore my wife and I have written down several car itineraries on paved and dirt roads as well that take you to little known hamlets, Tuscany gems and always through beautiful landscapes. Next time you come ask for these itineraries at our Reception. They are for free and we also have them for walks and bicycle rides ... and the new pool is ideal to welcome you after a few hours of sighseeing.

We look forward to hosting you again sometimes soon,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel

ps Thank you for your coment on the owners!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We had a spectacular stay! The staff is exceptional! Julia made our dining experience marvelous. The dinner was farm to table and just amazing. The infinity pool was a wonderful spot for my husband and I to share a bottle of wine! We lounged by the pool and took in the breathtaking views. The room was charming and upon arrival we were greeted with a bottle of wine courtesy of the hotel as a congratulations for our honeymoon. We definitely recommend!!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAloisiDeLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Karina C,

thank you- while probably still enjoying your honeymoon- to take the time to review your stay at Villa le Barone. Yes, I would certaimly agree with you that Villa le Barone, its gardens and environment have a very romantic character and many "just married" persons come to enjoy its beauty and serenity. I am very happy yu used the small shallower pool to sit by while sipping a glass of wine and enjoying the sights ... it has precisely been made for that. Thank you for also mentionning the "farm to table" dinners ... our own farm supplies the meat (including the wild boar), the tomatoes and the olive oil, while we try - as much as possible- to source local fresh products for the remaining items.
Thank you very much for recommending Villa le Barone and for hopefully thinking about us for one or several of your anniversaries!

Sincerely,

Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
6.1 km away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
8.6 km away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
459 reviews
12.1 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
140 reviews
11.2 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
5.3 km away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: €196 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing