We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fishermans Bar”

The Fisherman's Bar
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Portmagee
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: The Fisherman’s bar and Restaurant Portmagee. We are known as a lively traditional Irish pub with some of the best Sea food you are likely to eat. We are located at the pier in the heart of the fishing village of Portmagee.
Restaurant details
Description: The Fisherman’s bar and Restaurant Portmagee. We are known as a lively traditional Irish pub with some of the best Sea food you are likely to eat. We are located at the pier in the heart of the fishing village of Portmagee.
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

We had a beautiful lunch at The Fisherman’s Bar, the seafood platter was the best ever. I left my raincoat behind and they kindly posted it to me without charge. Thank you so much. I highly recommend it for food, friendliness & honesty. Will definitely be back when next in Kerry.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank EaMaSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2021

I went here for a bite after returning from the Skellig Landing Tour (go with Casey's Adventures). Be aware there are actually two entrances to the location - one for the Bar and one for the Grill - look above the door. If you sit outside, it doesn't really matter but I was looking for take away (fish and chips). The staff was friendly and very helpful - they quickly took my order and I was on my way pretty quickly. I didn't look at the food until I got back to my Airbnb and was pleased when I saw the large portions of fish, plenty of fries and a bit of salad. The salad was bit off because it was in the take away box with the heat of the fish and chips. But, the food was very good and definitely hit the spot. There are ample tables outside if you want to sit and eat and look over the bay -although many of the tables have an obscured view. But, a very good place to grab a bit while in Portmagee. The general areas has many places to eat, good parking and some quaint shops. Enjoy!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DvrDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021 via mobile

Beautiful fish and chips. Really fresh fish and light breadcrumbs. Huge portion. Nice setting outside. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

Amazing fish platter and pint of Guinness. The shared platter was well enough for two.
Really friendly and helpful staff and great atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Good food and drinks, we sat both outdoor and indoor and enjoyed both. We just had main courses but the food was very good with large portions. Good covid compliance which we find reassuring rather than annoying.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank MrsPrincess1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Fisherman's Bar also viewed

Portmagee, County Kerry
 
Portmagee, County Kerry
 

Been to The Fisherman's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.