We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The best boat to get out to the Skelligs with

We took the Skellig Walker out to the Skelligs and had an absolutely amazing time. The boat was... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2021
GeorgeVladisavljevic
,
Ireland
An experience of a lifetime

The Skelligwalker crew gave us an amazing experience from the marina to Skellig Michael and back... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2019
eknezek
,
Whidbey Island, Washington
via mobile
Read all 84 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
78
3
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
78
3
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor and outdoor seating skellig michael toilet crew boat island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Ireland has always been a bucket list item for
Me. This trip sealed the deal. What I thought would have been a 10 was a 20. Push Ireland to the top of your list of things to do and definitely booked skellig walker cruises. They are easy to find. Across the bridge from the pink portmagee Hotel (fine accommodation and great breakfast). Wonderful trip. Perfect boat and amazing crew! I love Ireland and puffins that are 2 feet away. My photography is phenomenal of the birds. Could have been there for days!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank dawnl172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Fabulous boat and a great crew. I was seasick on the way out and was so well looked after. The return journey was pleasant and we sat on the deck and were treated to views of gannets, seals and a pod of dolphins and the crew were great at ensuring best views without interfering with the wildlife.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank soxymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

My friends and I had a wonderful trip to Skellig Michael last Sunday, we we're on Fionan Murphys boat, super boat I should say, really fast we had the choice of sitting out or plush seats inside. The "Rock" was incredible we had almost 3 hrs to enjoy it. On the way back Fionan went out of his way to find dolphins which swam alongside for age's, and Gannets were "raining down" on shoal's of fish at the same time. Noel.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank marblegullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were the fastest boat to get to the island. That's very important if yo want to stay on the island as long as you can. The boat has a sun roof for watching the sea birds. Most important, the boat is a decent size with a covered area for ALL the passengers. Everyone stays dry. The other people on the other boats had to wear rain gear.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Laupahoehoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is hands down the BEST boat to book with if you're wanting to go to Skellig Michael. If you're thinking about this trip you probably already know that you have to be really lucky with the weather -- the boats don't go out every day, and even when they do the seas can be quite rough. This is the ONLY boat that goes to Skellig Michael with a fully enclosed cabin -- meaning if you book with another boat you will most likely arrive cold and soaking wet from the huge waves splashing over the side of the boat. With Skelligwalker the trip was pleasant and warm inside the cabin -- and most importantly, DRY! They truly are a luxury boat for the same price you would pay for all the other boats that go to Skellig Michael. This is also one of the few boats with a toilet on board, which can come in handy since the total trip (with time on the island) can be 5-6 hours and there are no toilets on the island.

If you want to ensure you have the BEST chance of getting to the island, book with Skelligwalker. The day of our trip only 4 boats out of the usual 15 went to the island. All the other boats cancelled at the last minute, leaving LOTS of people disappointed and scrambling to look for a new boat. We had originally booked with one of the boats that cancelled. We got really lucky and Skelligwalker was able to get us on at the last minute -- lots of people weren't so lucky. Those who'd booked with Skelligwalker in advance didn't have to worry. Skelligwalker got us to the island with ease. We had an incredible experience and had the entire island to ourselves because Skelligwalker is one of the few boats skilled enough to navigate these seas.

Honestly, if this trip is important to you and you want the best chance of getting to the island, plan your trip around booking with Skelligwalker!

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank kevinandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews