We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The best boat to get out to the Skelligs with

We took the Skellig Walker out to the Skelligs and had an absolutely amazing time. The boat was... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2021
GeorgeVladisavljevic
,
Ireland
An experience of a lifetime

The Skelligwalker crew gave us an amazing experience from the marina to Skellig Michael and back... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2019
eknezek
,
Whidbey Island, Washington
via mobile
Read all 84 reviews
  
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
78
3
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
78
3
0
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

My friends and I had a wonderful trip to Skellig Michael last Sunday, we we're on Fionan Murphys boat, super boat I should say, really fast we had the choice of sitting out or plush seats inside. The "Rock" was incredible we had almost 3 hrs to enjoy it. On the way back Fionan went out of his way to find dolphins which swam alongside for age's, and Gannets were "raining down" on shoal's of fish at the same time. Noel.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank marblegullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were the fastest boat to get to the island. That's very important if yo want to stay on the island as long as you can. The boat has a sun roof for watching the sea birds. Most important, the boat is a decent size with a covered area for ALL the passengers. Everyone stays dry. The other people on the other boats had to wear rain gear.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Laupahoehoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is hands down the BEST boat to book with if you're wanting to go to Skellig Michael. If you're thinking about this trip you probably already know that you have to be really lucky with the weather -- the boats don't go out every day, and even when they do the seas can be quite rough. This is the ONLY boat that goes to Skellig Michael with a fully enclosed cabin -- meaning if you book with another boat you will most likely arrive cold and soaking wet from the huge waves splashing over the side of the boat. With Skelligwalker the trip was pleasant and warm inside the cabin -- and most importantly, DRY! They truly are a luxury boat for the same price you would pay for all the other boats that go to Skellig Michael. This is also one of the few boats with a toilet on board, which can come in handy since the total trip (with time on the island) can be 5-6 hours and there are no toilets on the island.

If you want to ensure you have the BEST chance of getting to the island, book with Skelligwalker. The day of our trip only 4 boats out of the usual 15 went to the island. All the other boats cancelled at the last minute, leaving LOTS of people disappointed and scrambling to look for a new boat. We had originally booked with one of the boats that cancelled. We got really lucky and Skelligwalker was able to get us on at the last minute -- lots of people weren't so lucky. Those who'd booked with Skelligwalker in advance didn't have to worry. Skelligwalker got us to the island with ease. We had an incredible experience and had the entire island to ourselves because Skelligwalker is one of the few boats skilled enough to navigate these seas.

Honestly, if this trip is important to you and you want the best chance of getting to the island, plan your trip around booking with Skelligwalker!

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank kevinandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The Skellig Walker is a brand new boat with both indoor and outdoor seating and a toilet! I would highly recommend as the crew are fantastic. They are highly experienced, well equipped and sensitive to the needs of passengers like me who unfortunately succumb to seasickness. Thank goodness for Cal and his ginger sweets! Should I dare venture out to Skellig Michael again (so worth the trip despite the choppy seas!!) I would only go with Skelligwalker Cruises :)

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Joanne_Hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The Skellig Walker was simply a fantastic experience. The staff were brilliant characters, friendly, funny and exploding with local historical knowledge! Safety was emphasised at all times while making you feel calm and comfortable. The boat itself was stunning, clearly newly built with both a fully covered cabin (exceptionally cosy seats!) and an outside deck for viewing on fine days. There was also the added bonus of a toilet! Highly recommended and totally worth the ticket fee.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews