We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
290
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
10
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belvedere suite other hotels mini ice cream amazing pillows chef will cook every morning sunset dinner private dinner heated swimming pool massive terrace taking care of everything hotel team amazing views ten minute walk picturesque village the cruise ship crowds rainfall shower
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The rest of your travel life will struggle to ever live up to The Vasilicos! The beauty of the caldera and sea are legendary. However, it’s truly the staff that creates an over the top experience. First memory of arrival was Fiorella telling my wife and I we don’t have to leave...she will take care of everything. Then the layers of hospitality, food and wine cascaded our 25th anniversary. She was correct and gives off a great trust vibe. It became immediately apparent the national trait is a broad smile on a beautiful face. Some 2 months before our arrival, I asked for a recommendation of a jeweler who would quietly craft something special for our 25th. We pulled off the surprise. Trust Greco Gold in Fira where we were greeted like family.

Room Tip: The rooms are so unique...unless you frequent a luxury caves, they are all incredible.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MFB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne V, Owner at The Vasilicos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear MFB18, I have found the words to respond to 254 reviews in the past 4 years, but bits of this one have left me speechless. I cannot tell you how moved I am by your choice of "cascaded". Thank you. Really. Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

If I could, I would live at the Vasilicos. An intimate boutique hotel with superb service from a small dedicated team who want to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. We stayed here for our honeymoon in May for 5 nights in the Belvedere suite.

The breakfasts are a highlight, served outside on your own patio (other suites shared some outside space) overlooking the caldera. The breakfast is tailored to your tastes and the chef checks daily to see if you want any alterations. Attention to detail can't be faulted, if we used all of the jam one day, the next morning there would be double the quantity!

The hotel is in a perfect spot, not overlooked with the best uninterrupted view of the caldera, a 5 minute walk from the centre of Imerovigli with a number of restaurant and bars to choose from, Aktaion being a favourite. Add another 5-10 minutes and you're in Fira, Santorini's capital.

Don't miss out on a winery tour when you're here, we had a fantastic afternoon at the Vassaltis winery, a must! ENJOY! And thank you to the staff, we had the time of our lives.

Room Tip: Belvedere suite is by far the most luxurious, closest to reception and hotel entrance. Your own terrace/patio area away from other guests.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne V, Owner at The Vasilicos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Alaw, what a lovely description of a The Vasilicos holiday - thank you so much! Warmest wishes, Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

If you are looking for a special experience in magical Santorini, immediately book a room at The Vasilicos. It’s hard to describe how incredible and unique the hotel is. The location is ideal—out of the bustle of Fira but a close walk to restaurants and shops, The service at The Vasilicos was impeccable. The entire staff are absolute professionals, incredibly hardworking and there to ensure that your every need is accounted for. Our room, The Belvedere Suite, was absolutely worth the extra expense—it has a large private balcony and hot tub (not hot, but so refreshing) and is set off a bit from the other rooms. So peaceful and quiet. The room was kept extremely clean and had every comfort you could imagine—beach bags and towels for cruise outings, snacks, extra blankets, and the softest towels you will ever feel! And then the food…omg…the most delicious, healthy breakfast served every morning, at whatever time we requested, served on our private balcony. As for dinner, don’t waste your money eating at all the local restaurants—definitely have Yannis, the amazingly talented chef at The Vasilicos, prepare you dinner one evening at the hotel. He will accommodate whatever your tastes may be, so the meal feels personalized. His twist on the traditional Greek salad was the best we had anywhere in Greece, and I am still dreaming of the molten chocolate cake he served us for dessert. Watching the sunset over Santorini while enjoying this delicious meal was one of the best memories of our trip. I would return to the Vasilicos in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Belvedere Suite is fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 13CJB1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne V, Owner at The Vasilicos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Cindy B, thank you for your warm review and kind words, especially with regard to the team! The feedback about the towels is especially useful - I have become something of a towel expert in the past four years; I hope that these will finally hit the mark! We would love to welcome you again to The Vasilicos one day soon, thank you for coming! Warmest wishes, Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Where to start? The Vasilicos is truly a very special place - like no other. From the moment we arrived we felt part of the Vasilicos 'family'. Fiorella, always smiling and ready to coordinate the response to our every need - restaurant table bookings, diving, a catamaran tour, or just dinner on our terrace - nothing was too much trouble. George, who picked us up from the airport, and had our bags in our room before we knew it - then changed his daily pool clearing routine so we could have our early morning swim. Not to forget Janet and Lydia who kept the whole place spotless - not easy with so many pristine white steps everywhere. Then Artemis and Maria, bringing the heavily-laden breakfast trays down the steep steps each morning with beaming smiles and a lovely good morning – only to do it all again at lunch, and dinner on the nights we chose to eat in (well worth it!). They were quick to pick up that we liked olives, so next time they came down - hey presto, olives! Yannis and Lazarus in the kitchen, preparing the most delicious salads (Beef salad and Cycladic salad were our favourites, and the Club Sandwiches were excellent too), not to mention the daily breakfast 'surprise' - different each day - pancakes, cinnamon rolls, banana and chocolate pastries - hard to choose which was the best. Dinner on our terrace, the menu chosen by us was truly unique. Finally, the daily afternoon ice-cream, delivered to our terrace, the pool, wherever we were based - a lovely touch. Thank you to all the team for their warm smiles, highly professional service and above all for making us feel part of the Vasilicos family.

The property and the location just have to be the best - the views of the Caldera are simply stunning, and sunset was visible every night from our terrace - and what a sunset! Being tucked behind the monastery, it is amazingly quiet - the only disturbance the distant sound of the occasional tannoy from the cruise ships moored way below - even that is muted. We had use of the shared 'main' pool, used mainly by the two other suites on our level and occasionally by those in the five other more private suites which had their own plunge pools. It was the ideal way to cool off - and always pristine.

One comment - this is not really a suitable place for children under 16. There are many unprotected steep drops - the pool and pool area aren't really big enough. It's a place for getting away from noise and the stresses of family life - I'd encourage the owners to consider a 'no children' policy at very least during school term times - all your guests will appreciate the tranquillity, which truly makes it ‘a place like no other’.

Room Tip: King Kat is perfectly adequate for a couple and has its own sunbeds - it shares the main pool with two other suites.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne V, Owner at The Vasilicos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear N6161, thank you for this warm, honest and loving review, which touches on so many points with such kindness. Regarding your valid point about children, so elegantly made: although we do not encourage children nor do we believe The Vasilicos to be in any way child-friendly, we are indeed one of the few hotels on the Caldera to accept children. This is in tribute to the history of the house and our upbringing: we were shown beauty early on and taught to behave accordingly. Please know that we have taken note of your comment and it has taken its place on the scales, thank you for contributing. Warmest wishes, Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

The minute we walked into the property we knew it was going to be very special. The hotel is very cozy and romantic. The Pergola Honeymoon Suite has some of the best views I have ever seen. I highly recommend this place, worth every penny...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tarekturjuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne V, Owner at The Vasilicos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Tarekturjuman, thank you for choosing The Vasilicos for your holiday and for taking the time to write this warm review! We hope the memories of the view - and the romance - live forever! Warmest wishes, Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews