We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely not 5 star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santorini Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santorini Princess
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely not 5 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I do not understand how this hotel is appearing as 5 star hotel, the only logic for this rating is the high price.
I and my wife expected for much higher level and we were very disappointed.
We were so disappointed that we make our visit shorter for 3 nights although we ordered and paid for 5 nights.
The room is very poor, the bed is made of concrete on the corner of the room, and above it the mattress. The blanket is without a cover – only bed sheet below (means all guests are sleeping with the same blanket without cover that can be laundered)
The bathroom is an old Jacuzzi with shower inside the bath, the water are going down to the sewage very slowly. After making shower it takes 2 hours until all the water are down.
It is forbidden to throw the toilet paper in the toilet seat, the staff asks you to put it in the can.
The staff is nice and the view from the hotel is beautiful.
I am traveling a lot and I am staying many times in hotels – in my opinion this hotel is 2 or 3 stars max.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tzachi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AchilleasTsiaras, Manager at Santorini Princess, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
My name is Achilleas Tsiaras, Manager of Santorini Princess hotel. What its guest thinks for our hotel is completely his/her subjective opinion and very well respected even when it has inaccurate and misleading information.

As far as the room and what is written above, first of all we do not have blankets for the beds. We have quilts. And of course they have covers. And they are changed after each guest’s departure!!! Bed linen is also changed daily and same thing goes for towels etc. used for the bathroom.

Each bed has 2 mattresses, one anatomic and above it, one soft. And extra mattresses are available as long as the guest requests it. Same guests prefer soft mattresses and others prefer the anatomic ones.

The Jacuzzi tubs we have in the bathrooms, some can take up to 500lt of water. So, yes it may take a bit for all the water to go down the drain but that will not be more than 10-15 minutes.
Yes, we do ask from our guests if possible not to throw toilet paper inside the toilet. We have bins that are changed daily. Unfortunately most hotels (if not all) located on the caldera have this issue since there is no central sewage. We ask this from our guest to avoid any possible problems caused by this. We are not trying to give our guests a hard time. Please, believe me when I say that if there was something we could do to avoid this, we would have done it.

Lastly and this is the part that made me write this response. During the time the guests were staying in Santorini and in our hotel (October 15th to the 20th), many problems were caused in reservations and to all guests visiting Greece because of the strikes. The guests came 2 days before their departure and told us that they just changed their departure date and they had to leave the hotel immediately since there was a strike the day after and on the day of their departure and it would not be possible to get back home. The reservation was made via Expedia and even though we informed, Expedia and the guests themselves that the last 2 nights will NOT be charged, we see this written in this review. We even informed TripAdvisor and sent all documents showing that the last 2 nights were not charged. We have never in the past and will never in the future charge any guest for leaving the hotel because of such issues caused from strikes.

Thank you for taking the time to read the response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    94
    17
    9
    0
See reviews for
114
516
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We came here for the second half of our honeymoon in September 2011 and initially only planned to stay for 2 nights. But after being offered world-class service we decided we had to stay another 2 nights and at the end of our trip, didn't want to go home!

We came here based on a few recommendations from our friends as well as TripAdvisor recommendations. Everyone was spot on, the place is absolutely breath-taking! Amazing view, amazing suites, and what put this place over the top was the excellent service from the entire staff. Above and beyond all our expectations, and these are memories we will always cherish!

The breakfast buffet is excellent in taste and variety so make sure you get breakfast included. The view from the restaurant is amazing. The pool and spa were also very nice. The rooms are very clean and the most amazing thing is, as soon as we left for breakfast in the morning, the cleaning staff would come in--every day without fail. So when we came back from breakfast, the room was always made for us. Wireless internet is provided, but reception was weak. I recommend using their computers in the business room for all your surfing needs (free of charge). Room service food was pretty good, although we didn't eat much of it. The minibar prices are very reasonable compared to other hotels we've stayed at. I recommend you go to Fira town (5 mins away) and stock up on water/beer/snacks etc if you are staying a while. I recommend a convenience store in Fira called Pelican Market. When you arrive, make sure to ask for George, he'll tell you the best places to eat and visit. He'll probably recommend renting a ATV 4x4 or scooter (if you have a motorcycle licence) to go up and down the island of Santorini. You can go up and down in a single day.

Rest assured that whatever you need, the staff there will help you. From booking restaurant reservations, renting car/atv, arranging transportation, booking excursions, even booking hotels in other cities, whatever you desire, they are there to make it happen for you.

There is so much I can say but again, what's most important to note is what separates one 5 star hotel from another, the STAFF! Theses were some of the best people I have ever met in my life and have left a lasting impression on me and my wife. We obviously HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort to anyone planning on traveling to Santorini and if you want more details, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you Alex and Achilles (owners), George and Kali and the rest of the entire Santorini Princess staff -- you all made our honeymoon amazing and we can't wait to visit again in the future.

Your Canadian Friends,

Mike and Monica

p.s. I hope you enjoyed the Crown Royal!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Unfortunately our short stay was disrupted by inclement weather and ill health! However, despite that, from the moment we set foot at this hotel, we were overwhelmed by great personal service and the absolutely knock panoramic view from Imerovigli to Oia! As my wife was ill, the staff and management could not do enough to see to her and my comfort during our stay with offers of assistance from medical care with transport to the local medical centre, pharmacy and supermarket. The hotel location is between Fira & Oia - an ideal peaceful precinct away from the cruise ship invasions (approx 3 and upto 7 per day!) of the two popular little villages. The leisurely & scenic walks to both villages took >1hr depending on your level of urgency or not and is comparable to the Cinque Terra walk in Italy though a little shorter. Alternatively, the local bus service takes you to both Fira & Oia (10mins ride) for 1.60 Euros every half hour.

Even though we had 3 days of strong winds and storms, the location made for a scenic and relaxing outlook and the friendly staff were great company and keen to make our stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible. The hotel facilities were great with a lovely poolside terrace with a panoramic view of the calderra. Our room was very comfortable with a similar stunning uninterrupted view!

The only minor criticism is that WiFi can only be accessed in the common areas such as the poolside, restaurant and TV lounge - which was really only an issue due to the bad weather.

We look forward to visiting Santorini and the Princess again in the near future!

Room Tip: definitely select a deluxe room with a view - looked like most if not all rooms had views of the cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_glennie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our honeymoon hotel on the gorgeous island of Santorini. We took the fast ferry from Mykonos, which I highly recommend with some caution (see notes below). Imerovigli is between Oia & Fira and basically in it's own little secluded spot. We were swept away immediately by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff at SP. After showing us around, we were taken to our room where our bags were waiting. The room was gorgeous, yet simple. All rooms face the sea. I'm not certain if all rooms had a balcony, but ours did. We thought we'd have dinner brought to our room the first night, since we got there a bit later. Let me tell you...the view, the weather, and the food at SP left nothing else to be desired in a honeymoon location. The pool was perfect and looked over the caldera. If I was going for a little wow factor and trying to score points with the better-half...I'd choose the SP again, easy.

Alex @ SP helped us rent a Quad (negotiate for a faster quad). I'd recommend renting some sort of transportation and taking yourself from one end of the island to the other. Lots to see! Don't hesitate to stay here...you won't be disappointed!

Good: 1) you get to ride on a ferry that cascades through neighboring Aegean islands, 2) riding up on the cliff that is Santorini is breathtaking from the ground up. Caution: 1) if you are prone to sea-sickness, the ferry does rock. Even if you don't think you'd get sea-sick, be sure there's a "bag" in your seat pocket (and refrain from drinking adult beverages during your trip). There was a wait for the bathroom...not pretty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uscanuck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Now i may only be 28, but this is quite simply an absolutely amazing place, The most beautiful place i have ever been. At the Santorini Princess, the staff cannot do enough for you and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible, even when we got there, my girlfriend and I were brought two champagne cocktails just to welcome us to the hotel and it just kept getting better and better!
The food was excellent, especially for me when i arrived i was still recovering from a particularly bad bout of food poisoning. The chef and staff went out of their way to prepare something not even on the menu, which certainly doesn't happen when you are just a number in certain hotels!

The reasons why we actually came here was due to my girlfriends Mum actually getting married at the hotel and this was also as perfect as everything else, all went so smoothly and what seemed effortlessly as well!

A truly amazing special and perfect place. This is my first time reviewing on this website, i always have a look on here at reviews and tend to air on the side of caution when it comes to certain people but if people didn't like it here then they will never be pleased with anything!

Room Tip: We had Room 18 and that was fabulous! The Girlfriends Mum had room 20 and that had a slightly more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.5 km away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 km away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 km away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
4.2 km away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santorini Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Princess

Property: Santorini Princess
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Imerovigli
#3 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#6 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#12 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Santorini Princess 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Imerovigli, the most beautiful village of Santorini, you will find Santorini Princess Luxury Spa Hotel. It is situated on the enchanting and world famous caldera, 300m above the sea, having the most fascinating and unique view of the volcano and the little islands of the Aegean Sea, and of course the breathtaking sunset. The hotel is a true ornament for the region as it combines harmoniously the traditional characteristics of Santorini with discreet luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Santorini Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Princess Imerovigli, Greece
Santorini Princess Hotel Imerovigli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing