We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Xenones Filotera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xenones Filotera
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights, 5 days. The place is beautiful. Breakfast on the patio at whatever time you choose is fantastic. The breakfast is good, but I would not say great...though the selection is pretty terrific. The staff were wonderful. The pool was small, but oh, so inviting. It's not really walking distance to anything....the town of Imerovigli is quite a hike, but can be done. I liked being away from the noise anyway. The view is spectacular. The price was high, but in line with Santorini prices. All of Santorini is beautiful though, and if I go back, I'll probably stay somewhere more economical. It's easy to enjoy the island no matter where you stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level do not have a view of the caldera, even though they face the caldera. A...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhm_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Xenones Filotera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and i booked the hotel for one week. After two nights we choosed to write off the 1000 euro and look for a better place (and this was a very good decision, and says all about the hotel). We expected a nice apartment with the typical Santorin see view. What we got was a dark cave with a busy street in front of the door. Filotera is definitely not worth the 200 euro they charge. we got a much, much nicer and cheaper apartment in Oia.

Dr. Gergs

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hans_nuremberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent 2 nights on our honeymoon there. Words can not describe the beauty of Santorini. This island is not the top visited island of Greece by chance.
The hotel was superb.
Well looked after facilities, VERY HELPFUL staff from the reception and specially the pool bar (ask for Vasiliki), breathtaking view of the caldera, relaxing swimming pool area... did not want to leave!!
Rent a CAR or a scouter to move around Santorini. Probably best to get a car and get it delivered to your arrival spot as it is expensive to use TAXIS or transfer service.
You will need a car or scouter to get to and from the Filotera Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alkis_Spiliopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Filotera for a week in September. It was our first time to Santorini, so we didn't really know what to expect.

What the Filotera gave us was an amazing, relaxing holiday that we'll always remember.

People should know that the hotel is a bit different from the other hotels on the Caldera (in Fira, Imerovigli, and Oia). It's not built into the caldera. It's on a flat strip right outside of Imerovigli that sits atop the caldera, giving it a bit more of a modern feel because it lacks the unique stairs & caves structure of many of the other hotels. The Filotera is also smaller than we imagined it being – at times, we felt like we were the only people staying at the hotel!

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is actually quite a bit north of Imerovigli. It's not easy to walk to anything, unless you're up for some sweating. A walk to Imerovigli is about 20 mins, and to Fira, it could take an hour. We actually enjoyed the solace, but I could see others finding it a bit too quiet. Renting an ATV was one of the best things we did, and made it easy to zip to wherever we wanted to go. I highly recommend it... just so much fun.

We were in one of the honeymoon villas facing the volcano. The suite itself was spacious – a small kitchenette, a living area with a table and a sofa, and a sizable bedroom with two twin beds connected to make a king. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub with a sit-down shower attachment that might take some by surprise. The room was spotless and a bit spartan, with tile floors and concrete walls and ceiling – typical of Santorini.

Our only complaints about the room were that the A/C was a bit weak, so it could have used a ceiling fan. Also, the bed was a bit firm and slightly uncomfortable.

The entire hotel is centered around the amazing pool and volcano view. It's incredibly easy to waste the day away poolside, taking in a view that I believed to be better than Fira and Oia. The pool itself was on the cool side, but it was refreshing after baking in the sun. Easy to get used to after a minute of swimming. Unfortunately, there's a short wall (1.5') built between the pool and the view, so you can't see much of the view from inside the pool.

There's no restaurant at the Filotera... or rather, the whole thing is the restaurant. The very friendly staff will arrange to get your food to you wherever you'd like it. There are various tables around the pool area, and a small inside seating area if you want more protection from the sun. They serve a menu typical of many of the restaurants on Santorini, and the food is definitely tasty and well presented. We were impressed with everything we ordered.

The notable exception was breakfast, which comes free with the room. It wasn't bad, but we were jealous of the other couples we met on the island bragging about their champagne breakfasts. The Filotera offered a handful of options... some egg scrambles, crepes, pancakes, yogurts, and cereals. The selection got repetitive by the end of the week, but did the trick... and getting it brought right to your terrace table was pretty amazing. And the coffee was quite tasty.

In the end, the Filotera wasn't as luxurious as some of the other hotels, which is something we kind of liked about it – a bit more of a casual approach. It was definitely enjoyable and worth every penny. The staff, in particular, made it that much more special – friendly, chatty, and eager to help you out with whatever you need. I definitely recommend the Filotera for anyone looking for an easy, no fuss, relaxing, and unforgettable vacation.

(A note to other gay travelers: the hotel seemed completely comfortable with us, and even seemed to host one or two other couples.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JordanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and 5 nights...it was the best hotel we stayed at during our entire honeymoon trip. This is mainly because of the peace and quiet surrounding this hotel. The views are AMAZING pool side. we stayed in room 111 - which was the biggest room in the entire hotel with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 pull out sofa bed couches, a kitchenette, indoor dining room table and outdoor terrace with a dining table. Our view was of the Volcano and water. It was BEAUTIFUL. They changed our towels and sheets daily - someone else wrote that these items weren't changed that often during their stay. I'm not sure why. We had breakfast delivered every morning to our outdoor terrace. It was great to have breakfast out there to take in the views. The pool was very nice - about 6 feet deep all the way around, however the water was cold. We realized in our trip to Greece that they do not have heated pools. All the pools we visited in Athens, Mykonos and Santorini were cold. But after being in them for awhile it got cooler.
this hotel is located in Imerovigli which is the next town over from Fira. It's a great place to stay because it's away from the busy town of Fira, it's not that far from Oia which is where most people view the sunset. It is down the road from a bus stop that will take you to Oia or Fira for only 1.60 Euro per person. So getting around wasn't too bad and we found that the buses ran on time which is a great coming from NYC.
We also had a few drinks and food there. The dinner wasn't too bad. I enjoyed all my meals there but I would say venture out to eat in Oia or Fira every once in a while. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is wireless internet which is free so you still feel a bit connected to the outside world.
The BEST thing about this place is the view in general but particularly the view of the sunset. People say Oia is the place to go but I say why go all the way there when you can just view it from the hotel terrace. It is just GORGEOUS. I definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLubin812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 km away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#37 of 51 in Imerovigli
184 reviews
1.4 km away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#28 of 51 in Imerovigli
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 51 in Imerovigli
447 reviews
1.3 km away
Kasimatis Suites
Kasimatis Suites
#39 of 51 in Imerovigli
26 reviews
0.1 km away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#9 of 51 in Imerovigli
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenones Filotera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenones Filotera

Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: €139 - €351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenones Filotera 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xenones Filotera hotel offers luxurious accommodation in Santorini (Imerovigli) and was created for those seeking an exclusive experience of the Aegean ambiance. It is located 2,5 km from the town of Fira, 10 km from the port and 7km from the town of Oia. Offering 18 luxury suites & studios with breathtaking view to the volcanic caldera of Santorini or the Aegean archipelago, our hotel will be your comfortable home for unique Santorini moments. The guests of Xenones Filotera can choose amongst a variety of suites and studios, that can accommodate 2 to 6 people and provide comfortable lounges, separate bedrooms, and private verandas, all stylishly decorated with some of the finest pieces of traditional and modern Greek craftsmanship. Xenones Filotera Hotel offers a wide variety of facilities and services which include a 24hour operating reception, private parking area within our premises, swimming pool and jacuzzi, pool bar, sauna, massage, laundry and ironing service, car rental, Internet access (wi.fi), secretarial services and more. Public areas provide wheelchair accessibility for the physically challenged guests. The luxurious Xenones Filotera Hotel is the most romantic location to experience your wedding and honeymoon plans and we will be more than happy to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xenones Filotera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenones Filotera Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Hotel Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing