We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views of the sunset and islands.”
Review of Xenones Filotera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xenones Filotera
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning views of the sunset and islands.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We came here for our honeymoon and were not disappointed.
We were dropped off at the office and they had someone bring us to our room. When we walked up the steps to the pool area we couldn't help but gasp is shock at the beauty of the view we saw. It was amazing.
We went down the steps to our spacious room with a kitchenette and a balcony with a stunning view of the sunset and islands. A nice touch was having breakfast delivered to our balcony every morning we really enjoyed being spoiled like that ; ) The bed was nice and comfy and the first king size bed!! Not two singles, that was nice.
The only complaint would be the pool was cold, but others were swimming in it and it seems that is the norm, no heated pools in Greece.
The hotel is a little far from any town but we rented an atv and went all over the island so that wasn't an issue for us. It'd be a good 30 minute walk. The area was quiet and peaceful. It seemed the sunset was a nightly event where everyone would gather on the comfortable pool area to just watch the sun go down.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel provided free internet which we liked. The gym/sauna was ok, small.
Very romantic place for a honeymoon!
(I had read a review about bed bugs so I was very nervous about the beds, we checked as soon as we got in and the beds were very clean and comfortable. My anxiety kinda took away from my rest the first two nights unfortunately.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    64
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
178
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Greece, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Door rate on high season was 320 euro,but they were changing the sheets every 2nd DAY! and the towels possible for every day change but ONLY upon request.
The Volcano view villas had a great view except room 107,which had a "great wall view" instead of Volcano view.
When we arrived in that villa the pillows sheets where dirty,we ask for new ones and there were also dirty.
We moved then for 1 night to a Honeymoon master villa,but they have forgot to clean it!!!!
So we moved to the swimming pool waiting for the villa to be cleaned.
Regarding the east view villas had a great view on the hanging pool towels on a fence "waiting" under the sun in order to get dry.
I was in this Hotel also before 9 years with very good memories and this was the reason that i went back.
BUT NEVER AGAIN!NEVER!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanikagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a peaceful piece of paradise, located 15 minutes walk from the village of Imerovigli. The Honemoon Volcano Studio room has a view on the Agean Sea from both ends of the room! It is a very luxurious room, perfect for a honeymoon, or for couples getting married in Santorini (which was our case). It is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever seen, pool included. (The pool is smaller than it looks on the website.) You have to order your breakfast for the next morning before 10PM, but if you do so, you have your meal delivered at the time asked, on your terrace facing the sea. It is probably one of the most beautiful hotels in Santorini, and the pool is worth the price!

The staff is very friendly and polite, and the manager will do everything to help you in your special requests. He had the groom's suit ironed in just a few hours.

Great place for a wedding cocktail, as the bar and tables and ombrellas combine to the spectacular view (and the pool) makes it a cozy and confortable area for a cocktail.

Negative points:
- It is far from 'the action': you have to rent a car or take a taxi to go to Fira if you want to party.
- Very expensive.

MM

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MML19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon in August. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to be away from the crowds of Fira and Oia and found it easy enough to take the bus to the larger towns when we needed to. Many people rented ATVs but we didn't find that to be necessary. The room was clean. My only complaint would be with the climate control in our room. Apparently our thermostat controlled some of the rooms around us and as we preferred our room a little warmer, we would set it as such but when housekeeping came around, they would drop the temp again. But really, our entire experience otherwise was excellent. Breakfast was delicious, and after having it on our private patio the first few days, we then wised up and had it served to us poolside with the excellent caldera views. The walk to Imerovigli is about 15-20 minutes but if you walk cliffside, it's a very scenic walk.

Room Tip: Pool-level rooms have better caldera view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jv519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We were wowed upon arriving at the hotel. The caldera views are not to be matched by any place on the island. The common areas of the hotel, including the pool, are beautifully maintained and the daily breakfast delivery is superb. It is a quiet, out of the way location perfect for relaxation. The main thing to know regarding location is that you will need a car or scooter to get around affordably. As far as the rooms and the service- The room we were assigned had a distinct odor of cat urine that my companion and I noticed immeditaely, but the staff did not acknowledge. The front desk attendants were very impersonal and not particularly friendly and it seemed as though everything we requested was a hassle. The room, other than the smell, which we eventually aired out, was clean and comfortable, but far from luxurious. The internet access was spotty and only seemed to work sitting on the patio. Being at the top of the island, the winds can be extreme and nights were chilly.

Overall, a decent stay, but if I return to Santorini, I will likely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renees13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
1.3 km away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#26 of 50 in Imerovigli
390 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Katerina's Castle
Hotel Katerina's Castle
#47 of 50 in Imerovigli
71 reviews
1.6 km away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#38 of 50 in Imerovigli
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
401 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Sunny Villas
Hotel Sunny Villas
#19 of 50 in Imerovigli
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenones Filotera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenones Filotera

Property: Xenones Filotera
Address: Imerovigli 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenones Filotera 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xenones Filotera hotel offers luxurious accommodation in Santorini (Imerovigli) and was created for those seeking an exclusive experience of the Aegean ambiance. It is located 2,5 km from the town of Fira, 10 km from the port and 7km from the town of Oia. Offering 18 luxury suites & studios with breathtaking view to the volcanic caldera of Santorini or the Aegean archipelago, our hotel will be your comfortable home for unique Santorini moments. The guests of Xenones Filotera can choose amongst a variety of suites and studios, that can accommodate 2 to 6 people and provide comfortable lounges, separate bedrooms, and private verandas, all stylishly decorated with some of the finest pieces of traditional and modern Greek craftsmanship. Xenones Filotera Hotel offers a wide variety of facilities and services which include a 24hour operating reception, private parking area within our premises, swimming pool and jacuzzi, pool bar, sauna, massage, laundry and ironing service, car rental, Internet access (wi.fi), secretarial services and more. Public areas provide wheelchair accessibility for the physically challenged guests. The luxurious Xenones Filotera Hotel is the most romantic location to experience your wedding and honeymoon plans and we will be more than happy to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Xenones Filotera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenones Filotera Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Hotel Imerovigli
Xenones Filotera Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing