We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Control over the private jacuzzi”
Review of Above Blue Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Above Blue Suites
Ranked #1 of 28 Imerovigli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel except we had a couple problems with our balcony jacuzzi. First of all, they kept the hot tub at 30 degrees celcius. We turned it up on our own and the next day they had padlocked the controls. So we had to do much complaining to get them to turn it up from there. And on an April night with the cool sea breeze 30 C, which is 86 F is not doable. Then they told us that they would be back to turn it off at 10pm! The point of us getting a room with a private jacuzzi was for us to be able to hang out in it as late as we wanted without interruptions.

The rest of Above Blue was great, but unfortunately I don't think we will ever stay there again when we can't use the private jacuzzi how we'd like.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dskinsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Acqua_Vatos, Director of Sales at Above Blue Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations in Santorini Island. Your comments are very valuable for us and we are trying to improve our Hotel's facilities and services based on our guest’s reviews.

Upon arrival and after the warm welcome from the staff of our hotel these guests had a full briefing on the use of the Jacuzzi in the suite. We have presented a document setting out clearly the terms of use of the Jacuzzi, some rules of use for safety reasons ( international standards) and of course the Jacuzzi heating stages ranging from 35 to 37 degrees, which our guests signed up after they confirmed that all the above was clear. At that point they also requested from us politely to turn down the temperature of the Jacuzzi because the lady stayed with us was pregnant, and of course we rush to help with emphasizing how the temperature control is strictly in control of the hotels stuff.

Although these guests agreed and signed the paper, they tried to increase the temperature of the Jacuzzi, without asking it from us, where they set it at 75 degrees! That could have done so much damage to machinery, endangering their selves and the hotels estate .We think that it is totally understandable the importance to lock their Jacuzzi and of course that in other conditions, if they weren’t at the hotel for their wedding and honeymoon and due to the document that was signed by them, we should have disturb them and notify them for the issue.

We decided not to ruin their vacations with the matter and we tried to control the issue from inside. I think that at this point we by our side have given a full explanation about this matter and it is totally clear how much we tried to solve the matter discretely and without disturbing them. I would like to inform anyone that is reading this response that the hotel is trying to do its best to satisfy its visitors and always with discretion and care for every guests individual needs.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 296 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

My boyfriend and I just came back after an amazing trip to Santorini...we stayed at Above Blue Suites and it was the best place I have and/or probably will ever stay at.

We both travel quite a bit and I have never written a review about any place I stayed at, but Above Blue Suites really deserves it!

We were there from April 12th to the 18th...and I believe we were the very first guests to stay there (it just opened that week).

Upon our arrival we were greeted by the amazing staff with champagne...and we were upgraded to the master suite the "Golden Echo Room"...indoor turkish bath, outdoor heated Jacuzzi...the room was huge, so impeccably clean, everyday we had such amazing service!

We had breakfast (included) that was served to our room every morning...with everything and anything we wanted to eat...it was amazing!!!! I have never had such great service in my life!!!

I have read many great reviews about other hotels, villas, B&B's...but honestly this place beats them all!!! Above Blue Suites is the best place ever!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YouHeardItFromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in the Golden Echo suite in April and although the weather could have been warmer it didn't matter. We loved every minute we spent there. The staff are lovely and always helpful but not intrusive. The breakfasts were fantastic and the indoor jacuzzi was great to warm up after being out in the cold April winds. The views of the caldera are breathtaking from your own private balcony and the room has to be seen to be believed. The hotel couldn't be faulted for their service and cleanliness of the suites. Be prepared for walking up and down steep steps though. We didn't really mind this as we needed the exercise after eating so much delicious food in Santorini, but if stairs are a problem for you then maybe a hotel in Fira would be a better choice for you.

Room Tip: The Golden Echo suite is the largest and most luxurious. Definitely worth it for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were on our honeymoon trip last November and stayed at the Above Blue Suites in Imerovigli. We were put up in the Siren room on the first day and then we got the Golden Echo room for the next 3 days. The Golden echo room was absolutely grand .... we had a great view of the caledra, volcano, the aegean sea .... it was huge and luxurious. The room has both an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi. While the outdoor one was great as you could relax in the hot-tub and watch the setting sun, I would prefer the indoor one. During our visit it was bit cold n chilly and hence the heated indoors turkish bath was just perfect. The room was well-maintained, clean and well setup with subtle accessories.

We were served scrumptious breakfast each morning in our rooms and on the terrace when the weather was sunny and warm. The walk to the town is worth taking (traveling by car is another option) as it takes you over the cliffs ... giving you a great view of the volcano and passing by the beautiful houses around the narrow and winding path. The walk is a little long and does get a little up-hill at few places but its worth doing it.

We just had the most wonderful stay at Above Blue and would love to come back here another year. Thank you to everyone at Above Blue suites for making our stay so memorable and for all beautiful memories

Room Tip: Choose a room at the higher levels to avoid walking those 30-40 steps every time you need to walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It wasn't actually own first choice, but other hotels were closed in November, so if you choose to stay at Above Blue, go for a higher floor suites to have a good view. A hot Jacuzzi helped us to survive the cold wind.
It is a solid 4**** (by international standards) with a personalised service of a cute boutique hotel.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor suites to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imerovigli
1.1 km away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
788 reviews
0 km away
Heliotopos Hotel
Heliotopos Hotel
#25 of 51 in Imerovigli
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#7 of 51 in Imerovigli
945 reviews
2.4 km away
Aenaon Villas
Aenaon Villas
#2 of 51 in Imerovigli
600 reviews
0.2 km away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 51 in Imerovigli
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Blue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Blue Suites

Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Imerovigli
Price Range: €155 - €797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Above Blue Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Blue Suites represents a new concept of sanctuary where ten suites perched in the highest point of the stiff cliffs, facing the endless blue of the Aegean Sea, combine harmonically the unique architecture of the famous Santorinian caves, with the sophisticated luxury and the particular decoration, offering generously a truly romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Above Blue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Blue Hotel Imerovigli
Above Blue Suites Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing