We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
246
29
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
29
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception arearental carplace to staypoolsreceiptmountainskmcretehill
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here only for two nights on our tour around Crete. We were upgraded to a two-floor apartment without asking (room 204) . The staff (Aggeliki) is extremely friendly and helpful. The internet speed we found good enough to stream an Apple TV at all times of day, but maybe this is because the hotel was less than 50% full at our time of stay.

The breakfast is served in the small reception area and has different items daily. We asked for an omelette which was no problem at all.
The resort has three pools of which we used only the middle one. Next to the reception area there is a small playground for children.

The Lenikos resort is quitly located on a mountain about 4 km from the centre of Agia Galini, which in our case is too far to walk. Taxi's are available, but I would recommend a rental car for your stay.

The nearby Agios Giorgios beach is quiet, but has only a sandy beach. Underwater it's all pebbles and rocks, which makes it inconvenient for people with small children like us.

Agia Galini centre has many restaurants,shops and a pharmacy, but is very touristic.

Contrary of what other people have written on Tripadvisor in the past, we were given a receipt of our hotel bill without asking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Lenikos Resort which is located on the outskirts of Agia Galini and would happily recommend it to others. The accommodation is excellent and very clean, and despite the previous comments of others we have no complaints about the beds, nor did we hear of any. Breakfast are plentiful and good. All staff are friendly and helpful. It really does look like the pictures on the Lenikos website. There is a choice of 3 pools, all clean, and a short trip away is the excellent beach at Triopetra. There are plenty of shops in Agia Galini and a long beach with restaurants and bars along most of its length.

The negatives, Internet access can be brilliant one night and non-existent the next. There are no shops, bars or business meeting rooms on site. HOWEVER, WE HAD A GOOD TIME AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bald-Blokes-R-Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Flat was excellent and staff was kind. Swimming pool was clean as beaches which are so beautiful. Rent a car and go to the balos lagon. you can visit also the knossos palace but take care about weather.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_H2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The hotel is nice and clean and friendly.
There is no bar or restaurant on site you have to go about 5 miles in to the local town where there are a lot of places to eat and not very reliable taxis
the wireless speed was terrible and half the wireless access points didn't work

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Negatives
- hard, very uncomfortable beds: the worst we have ever experienced around the world. We are all fit and healthy and ended up bruised and aching after not a good night's sleep.
- No buffet breakfast: breakfast is expensive, you pay extra for it, and a massive amount of food is brought all at the same time to your table in a hot area in front of the office. Very overwhelming, no choice and you end up with a cluttered table and no spare clean plate to serve yourself. No cereal, cheap, sugary orange juice and too much sweet and egg based food. Not appetizing at all.
Pools: smaller than they look on the photographs but in nice settings. However, we noticed dirty and greasy tiles.
General upkeep of surrounding areas: Generally good though some buildings cracked and in need of paint touch ups which we thought strange at the start of the season.
Staff: Mixed - one of the younger girls was very helpful and friendly and tried hard. However, the main owners were not particularly friendly and hung around the limited public area eating and chatting on the phone and sometimes having a heated public argument!
Payment: We felt under great pressure from the start of our holiday to pay in cash, even though we had provided a credit card for payment. We were told by one member of staff that this was to avoid payment of some kind of tax. We do not agree with this as our family pays our taxes. It also does not feel fair to pay an agreed fee that includes tax when the proprietors clearly want to avoid paying taxes. As a family, we did not feel welcome unless we paid cash.

General
A quiet location, to reach which you need a hire car. There is nothing around, no tavernas, no shops but Agia Galini is just about 10-15 minutes drive away where you can eat out and shop if you wish.

It is a clinical place, on the one hand it is modern and facilities in the villas are good and working properly. The general feel we got was that this was not a happy place. We did not feel it was a great place for children. Although there is a play park for children and roads are safe, the rooms are probably not safe for younger children due to stairs. Breakfast is not good for chidren as you cannot pick what you want and the only choice you have is to have it in your room or on the very hot covered terrace in front of one of the pools. No entertainment and no common rooms for relaxing or meeting other guest. No bar or little shop. No beach nearby.

We have stayed in many different parts of Crete and enjoyed great hospitality and comfortable beds and wonderful breakfasts, even in smaller rent rooms. This place promises so much more but does not deliver. It feels like a whole lot of money has been invested into the resort but that maintenance of it, comfort and hospitality is lacking. Every single place we have stayed in Crete over the years beats this one from the traditional to the modern. It feels like a change of ownership, change of attitude, or some guidance on running an apartment complex/resort are its hopes for advancement in the future. As a family, we are sorry we cannot score it higher or be more complimentary. However, we would not want other families to be disillusioned or disappointed. There are others that try harder and who are not simply driven by how they can make a fast buck!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Posh N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews