We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
1,093
571
243
94
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
571
243
94
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relax pool animation team a la carte restaurant beach bar active pool sea view shuttle bus main pool greek taverna guest relations bar staff sandwiches pizza private beach scuba diving amazing views main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Athina palace does great cocktails, with such a variety to chose from and all very tasty. The bartenders are very skilled and equally friendly; Giannis and emmanoueh are our favourites! The whisky spurs are top notch.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caralheanue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_responsible, Guest Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear caralheanue,

Greetings from CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa in Crete.
Thank you for mentioning that the all inclusive drinks were of good quality.
Moreover, it is a delight to know that you were especially satisfied with our staff’s work and service, as we always do our utmost to accommodate our guest’s needs.
It was certainly a pleasure looking after you and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards from Crete
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Jo matter how You like or dislike the Hotel. Giannis does the best Cocktails i ever Taster so far.

Give him a visit at the Main bar next to the reception.

And, the balconey has a beautiful view.

Enjoy

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_responsible, Guest Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Marco B,

Thank you for having chosen CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.
It is also a pleasure knowing that you were impressed by our delicious cocktails.
Hoping to welcome you again for a future holiday in Crete.

Kindest regards
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This should have been such a lovely holiday. The views are absolutely stunning, most of the staff are very friendly. The food was very good and the pools and pool bars were good. The bad: the rooms are very basic and the bed is so so uncomfortable

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_responsible, Public Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear nicola p,

Our team was thrilled to read your wonderful review!We are honored that you have chosen our hotel for your holiday.
Our staff go above and beyond for our valued guests, and they really appreciate your kind words.
Also thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer.
At CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is of great importance to us.
All the pleasure was shared with the entire team and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards from Crete
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I visited the Athina Palace in April. It was our first time holiday in Crete. It was also something different as we usually go self catering. It is a very smart hotel, built into the cliffside overlooking the small bay. Very nice apartment blocks, each with about 6 to 10 appts in each block. We weren't overlooked on our balcony as each room faces a different angle - clever! We didn't have a seaview unfortunately but the view was still very pleasant. The room was clean and perfectly adequate. There were other rooms with a beautiful aspect over the sea and gardens, but ours was okay - and just a short walk to the restaurant in the main building. The food was plentiful and reasonably varied. We managed to serve ourselves and find a suitable table each morning and evening. The pools were too cold to swim in, but at this early time of year there were plenty of beds to relax on. The beach was a medium walk away, but there is a shuttle bus if you don't want to walk it. Also in April there were plenty of beds and parasols (if needed). The beach bar is again adequate, serving a replica of the biscuits and cakes which were on offer in the main hotel, as well as the drinks, alcohol and coffee and tea. We had a very pleasant holiday on the whole. The hotel at the time was only a quarter full - the full total of people would be over 1,000 I believe. How this would work in the height of summer I don't know and therefore I would never book to stay in the busy summer months. The number of sunbeds around the pools and beach were inadequate to cope with 4 times the number of guests. The seating in the quite spacious dining room would struggle. I draw this conclusion because our last day at the end of April, the hotel filled up considerably and we couldn't find a table to sit outside to eat (our priority). The amount of people had increased and to my mind would cause more problems. The highlights of the holiday were the visits to Heraklion. A bus picks up in the hotel grounds. Useful. We enjoyed the Greek night, with the dancers. The hotel staff deserve a special mention because they were so helpful and courteous. A definite plus. The real negative point I wish to make is the evening lounge where we liked to spend the time after dinner. It is a beautiful room with chandeliers and a highly polished floor and very pleasant bar staff and a good selection of drinks available. Unfortunately a lot of the guests brought their children into the lounge with them and as kids will be kids they proceeded to race around, screeching. One family even brought skate boards in and allowed the children to ride around on the polished floor! The bar staff seemed unaware of the problem, but it was quite a turnoff for ourselves. Would we go again - anytime? I doubt it, merely because there are other places on Crete I would like to stay and see. It wasn't such a marvellous place that I could only ever envisage staying there or nowhere, but it was a very picturesque and well laid out complex. The problem? Too many people and bad behaviour of their children - sadly.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_responsible, Guest Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Susan T,

Our team was thrilled to read your wonderful review!We are honored that you have chosen our hotel for your holiday.
We are delighted to hear that you also were fully satisfied with our food and beverage offer.
Thank you for valuing the size and the cleanliness of your room.
Last but not least, thank you very much for your very kind words regarding our friendly staff, good value for money and the general cleanliness of our hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again for a future holiday in Heraklion.

Best regards from Heraklion
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We had a very nice holiday here in April . Going at this time the Athina Palace Resort was not very busy, only about one quarter full. If we had gone later when it when it was full I don't think we would have enjoyed it at all. It is a little remote from every where with just one bus a day to take you out and so a car would be helpul.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank harbyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_responsible, Guest Relations Manager at CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear harbyites,

Thank you for having chosen CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.
Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
All these comments will help us to serve you better.
It’s always a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews