We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,023)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveller rating
1,059
557
231
92
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
557
231
92
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelax poolanimation teama la carte restaurantactive poolbeach barsea viewshuttle busmain poolgreek tavernaguest relationsbar staffsandwichespizzaprivate beachamazing viewsscuba divinglocal town
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Crete with a special feeling. We read a lot of bad things about the hotel but for us that's not all true. The rooms are good, the food was also fine especially the à la carte restaurant! But it's true what they say about the Coralia Club. But there is one thing nobody really mentioned. Ivona, Vlado en Micky are 3 animators of another company and they made it very nice to stay here. They spoke a lot to us and if there is one reason I would go back it is for them. They made our Casino night and Karaoke night very funny. So really, special thanks to them, you are amazing!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank SarahV3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 September 2017

Dear Sarah V,

Let us thank you for choosing CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa for your holiday.
We are delighted to hear that you also were fully satisfied with our food and beverage offer.
In addition, we are glad you enjoyed the company of our entertainment staff as well as our facilities in general.
All the pleasure was shared with the entire team and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We wish to thank you wholeheartedly for the perfect hospitality, great atmosphere, delicious food and courteous service above all else. We were very impressed with the island and everything it has to offer, we will certainly visit again and of course we recommend to all of our close associates. We would also like to thank Babi for the good advice and the courteous service. Thank you all
.Room 411 overlooks the sea and a spectacular view, the room is large, spacious and bright.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank belshosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 September 2017

Dear belshosh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We are pleased to hear that our team were professional, helpful and interested in guest satisfaction.
Also, thanks for your kind words and mentioning that hotel generously offers a good choice of menu throughout the week.
One of our major goal is to provide an outstanding customer service and we are pleased to read that you appreciated our efforts.
All the pleasure was shared with the entire team and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The location of the hotel is very nice.
On the high of the hill. Whats gives a great view of sea bay of Agia Palagia .
They have a nice swimming pools and a great beach with clears water.They provide with free cost sunbeds and beach umbrellas.
The snacks and drink provide on the bars are not so great but the beer is good .....
Food in main restaurants very testy and good quality,,, the alla cart restaurant was very nice.
Cleanness of the facilities could be improved....
Entertainment during night is very poor and almost non existent.
Shuttes bus to Heraklion three times a day at the cost of 3.6 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank albertosuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear albertosuja,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending time to write a review through TripAdvisor.
It’s always a great pleasure to hear that our lovely guests enjoy so much our ideal place on the island to discover the beauty of our island.
Thank you for highlighting the great food quality.
However, be sure that we are continually working to resolve all minor problems in our establishment to assure you the best stay as possible.
Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards,
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Well, I'm always a bit dubious about going somewhere new but we have just come back from CHC Athina Palace and it was amazing! We are a family of 2 adults and a 12 and 15 year old. We booked a maisonette, which we didn't get but we did get a large 2 bedroom apartment both rooms with separate balconies and it was lovely. The views are beyond spectacular and I agree with another reviewer that the photos don't do it justice.
Although it is a big resort, because they have 3 pools and their own private beach it never felt busy - sometimes we were the only ones in the pool! Obviously, going in August, the sun beds around the pool were usually taken quite quickly but, there was plenty of room at the beach.
One thing I would say is that the resort is on a cliff top so some rooms may be further away from the main hotel which could be problematic but there is a shuttle bus, but we had room 140 right under the relax pool which was perfect.
The food you could not fault. If anyone comments there is no choice they must be very fussy! There was pasta, fish, meatballs, bread, rice, chips, pizza and so it goes on. At breakfast there was fresh juice, a choice of boiled, scrambled or fried eggs, bacon, hams, fruit and cheeses and so much more. We could not fault it. They had snacks and pizza at beach and relax pool if you didn't want to go to the main restaurant.
The staff are friendly and attentive (although the receptionists need to smile a bit more....).
Entertainment staff put on lots of aqua aerobics and other things on during the day at the busier main pool but, if you want peace and quiet, go to the relax pool.
I would 100% recommend the shuttle bus to Agia Pelagia (2 euros 20 each) which we took one day and had a sofa boat ride (50 euros for 4 of us) - so much fun! Lovely restaurants there right on the sea.
It is an idyllic location and the views are out of this world.
Maid service every day with a change of towels.
A couple of negative points - there was no tea and coffee in the room but I am sure if we had asked they would have supplied this.
Wine is not great but lager is ok. All inclusive cocktails are ok but you can pay for other cocktails in lounge bar (around 5/6 euros) which are delicious - I'd recommend the mojitos!...
Go to the main lounge bar in the evening as you get served in a glass as opposed to a plastic cup which they have to serve you in around the pool because of breakages.
Gym is okay but could do with some investment.
If you are looking for a quiet location - with very few British (lots of French and German residents) then this will suit you down to the ground.
We had an amazing time. Thank you so much CHC Athina Palace!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear Amanda D,

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your detailed description of your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate it very much.
We are continually working hard to increase our service quality to give the best service to our guests It's great that our culinary offer also met your taste.
For us the best praise to know you had the fantastic family holiday.
Our staff is working hard to ensure your stay is as best it can be. They will be very happy to hear that they could let you feel fully welcome.

CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile


We stayed at the hotel in late August, the hotel is excellent, the staff are kind and nice and the service was excellent, there are two excellent clean pools and nice bars. The sea is close but not within walking distance, there is a nice shuttle that takes you there every 20 minutes. The hotel is close to Agia Plagia which is a nice place to go out and have an evening out. It is highly recommended to rent a car from the hotel also the person who rents the cars in the hotel charming and kind.
Good experience we enjoyed very strongly

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Boaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Dear Boaz H,

Let us thank you for choosing CHC Athina Palace Resort &Spa for your holiday.
It is amazing that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided during your stay and that you also experienced our beautiful food’s varieties.
Thank you for your good notes! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time with us.
Once again, we thank you for your feedback and would be highly delighted to have the possibility to welcome you back.

Kindest regards from Heraklion,
CHC Athina Palace & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews