We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
143
98
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
98
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast two nights spacious room pizza nice beach balcony island choices reception sea corsica meters beaches
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Stayed there 5 days in September 2015; location of the hotel is perfect if you want to explore the southeast of the island, as it is about half way between Ajaccio (north) and Bonifacio (south). It is literally on the beach, a beach of white sand albeit a bit coarse compared to other beaches but nonetheless beautiful with smooth rocks that create a heaven-like landscape- the view of the bay at sunset are amazing and it is so relaxing to enjoy a glass of wine on the little patio that each room has while watching the sea. The rooms are super clean and brand new, beds super comfortable and this is all pretty amazing at that price range. The negatives include that front desk is not available overnight, and overall I found not very helpful; friendly, but not helpful or willing to go the extra step - the internet was also a disaster and they did not do much to fix it ; they said it was not their fault but did not try to really address the issue other than saying that ; a bit of a problem for me as I really use internet to plan day trips etc (especially when said front desk is not very helpful in that regard). So they do not get 5 stars for that reason; other negative is the fact that the presumed owner of the place and manager at the restaurant (by the way fairly good) attached to the hotel, is not a very friendly man and a bit grumpy; the last night there (a friday) I made a reservation for 9 pm and his first reply was "ok but no later than that, ok? cause it's not august anymore".... well, sir, do you want my money or not? I stayed 5 days there, and ate three times at that restaurant; I would expect to be treated a bit better than that... Last little bit: if you are allergic to wasps, beware, the island is FULL of them and especially when you eat on terraces like the breakfast at that hotel there are tons and tons of wasps trying to steal your food.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank jiujitsu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B, Propriétaire at Hotel Abbartello, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Cher client, je suis ravie que vous ayez apprécié l'hôtel , il est exact que nous avons certaiins jours quelques difficultés avec le wifi malgré tous les moyens mis en œuvre pour y remédier.
Je souhaiterai cependant faire une petite rectification sur le personnage grincheux qui vous a mal accueilli au restaurant ( celui-ci n'est pas le propriétaire ni le gérant, mais le maître d'hôtel)
Je vous prie de m'excuser pour son attitude négative à votre encontre
Cordialement
La propriétaire
Marie B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed here for two nights during a mini tour of Corsica - our first visit to the island. The hotel - despite its postal address of Olmeto - is more accurately described as near to the little hamlet of Porto Pollo (5km in from the main N196 road between Olmeto and Propriano).

Our room was facing the sea with a balcony overlooking the rocks and the private beach and was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent - composed of a wet room layout. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was very effective. There is no pool but the adjoining private beach had clean golden sans and even at its peak hours was uncrowded. The large rock abutting the shore provide a great launch pad for kids to play safely and for snorkelling.

There is a good bar serving a wide variety of drinks (including cocktails) on site and the female waiter was very efficient and friendly. There is a restaurant on site and another 100 m away. Others are available 5km away in Porto Pollo.

We found it a good place to relax and it was also very suitable for families with young children.

One unusual feature for a hotel of this standard was that reception cover was only provided 08:00 - 21:00.

Room Tip: Very much worth getting a sea view. The land facing rooms looked pretty small from the outside.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmikemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I find it difficult to write a balanced review of this establishment because there is very little that is bad about it.

The most significant minus was the buffet breakfast (not included in the room rate) was to frenetic for us. It was also quite expensive. After the first morning, we enjoyed Danish pastries etc (purchased from the Spar across the road) on our lovely balcony.
The only other very small minus was limited draw space in the bedroom.

The plus points are numerous including:

The bedroom and public areas were clean, modern, stylishly furnished with tastefull art objects.
The bathroom and balcony are large, the bedroom slightly less so. The balcony had deckchairs in addition to a table and chairs. The room was quiet including the aircon and toilet extractor. Everything was well maintained and minor queries were dealt with promptly.
The hotel restaurant is has lovely views and arguably the best food in the area. It is fairly expensive. There are 5 other restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
The Spar across the road is a big plus on this quite expensive island.
We never had problems with getting hotel sun loungers and umbrellas on the (private?) beach. The rocky outcrops make walking the beach more interesting.
The staff were friendly helpful and knowledgeable.
The hotel is located in an unspoilt natural wooded area which is much nicer than Propriano itself which we congested and commercialised, even in June.

We loved the place and expect to return.

Room Tip: Room 401 is quiet (end room) with good view over gardens to sea.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cedric324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Really what I wanted in a quiet location. We were just over the road from the hotel and bar and pretty private, we had a shady terrace with a barbecue. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice, we were there at the start of May so the terrace wasn't ready to eat on yet but we were by the open window and the proprietor was very friendly. Not the cheapest of places but we had a very nice meal. There is a pizza place which wasn't quite ready yet but in course of preparation.

There are three restaurants within easy walking distance (and when I say easy, I mean easy - I cannot walk far). A little Spar just along open in the mornings, probably all day later in the season.

The accommodation was fine except for the bedroom - no dressing table or full length mirror but apart from that, pretty good. Kitchen area was basic but then I never plan on doing a lot of cooking when I am away.

Wifi available in the main building.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We designed our own mini tour of Corsica, flying from Dublin to Brussels and then onto Figari, hiring a car at the airport and taking in three hotels and ending here in the marvellous Hotel Abbatello, which though pricey at 270 euros for two nights b&b from booking.com, was head and shoulders above our other two choices and so much better value than the Hotel Shegara in Porto-Vecchio (€ 230 for two nights without breakfast) and the holiday camp like Marina Di Lava in the Golfe De Lava, Appietto (120 euros for one nights incl half board).

We loved everything bout this hotel bar the price tag but then when compared to the value we got in the others one has to just except Corsica is an expensive place to stay and by those standards the Hotel Abbartello actually gives way more bang for your buck and actually is very good value.

The location was divine on its own small private beach with plenty of wonderful terraces to sit on. Everything from the moment of hushed check in was super stylish and the huge room we got with stunning seaview and large balcony was a tribute to understated chic and wonderful designer touches especially in the luxe bathroom.

Gorgeous oversized bed, amazing breakfast on the terrace and all surrounded by breathtaking scenery - what's not to love?

Free parking and wifi and great service rounded out this memorable and romantic stay and we were so glad we saved the by far the best hotel for last as we were so disappointed with the previous two and had almost given up on hotels in general in Corsica.

Thanks to all who made our stay so fabulous.

Highly recommended and soo so chic A++++++++++++++++++++++++

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth the extra as views unforgettable!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews