We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay in Penzion next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cerny Orel Hotel & Penzion
Ranked #1 of 11 Kromeriz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked the hotel and the room and bathroom were of excellent quality. However, the room faced a cobbled road and the traffic noise was quite loud. When the traffic subsided there was some raucous singing so we did not sleep well. I asked reception what I should ask for on my next visit and they said that the Penzion rooms were quieter. As breakfast is all served together I suggest that you book the Penzion rather than hotel.

Also, the restaurant was busy with many reserved tables as we were there at the weekend so we had nowhere to sit for dinner or for drinks even though we were hotel guests. I suggest that you reserve a table if you intend to eat there. As one table was not needed until 20:00 the staff let us eat our meal there so they were friendly and helpful.

Free wifi was very useful too.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassiopeia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I took couple of friends to this restaurant for dinner. Restaurant was busy, atmosphere vibrating. We had a few beers from their own brewery (good selection). Food was really tasty and staff friendly. If you are in Kromeriz you should not forget to pop in this restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Penzion Cerny Orel, which is above the Pivovar. It is right on the main square in Kromeriz, so just a short walk from both the beautiful archbishops palace and famous UNESCO flower garden. We had a twin room with nice modern decor and I especially loved the bathroom! We had a gorgeous dinner and sampled a few tasty fresh beers in the pivovar restaurant, there are both smoking and non smoking areas. The breakfast buffet had a great choice as Czech b & b's go. Eggs, bacon, hotdogs, pastries, rolls, yogurts, cheese, fruit, veg and a decent coffee machine. The staff were helpful and friendly, I will probably visit again! Even just for the pivo mnam :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here in mid August as a quick stopover on the way back to Prague.
Plus points
- great location
- superb food and home brewed beer
- clean and well equipped room

Minus points
- some rooms smaller than others. Check rates and prices.
-sometimes surly service from the front desk. Not uncommon in central and eastern Europe.
- no lift or porter service. If you have a lot of luggage this is a problem
- difficult access to some rooms due to stairs

Make sure that I'd you order an additional bed, you request a larger room otherwise you will be pushed for space.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cromerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel with my husband and I must say, we were very satisfied. The room was nicely furnished, spacious, full of light and clean, bathroom as well. Location is also very good, the hotel is in the city centre, on the square, close to the castle and the garden. Breakfast was good. The hotel has a restaurant called brewery, because they produce their own beer. They have many kinds of beer. But the restaurant is not good only because they have perfect beer, they have great food there! We ate there 3 times and were always satisfied. Staff was nice, in the restaurant as well as in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kromeriz hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel La Fresca
Hotel La Fresca
#1 of 3 in Kromeriz
112 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Excellent
Hotel Excellent
#2 of 3 in Kromeriz
34 reviews
0.1 km away
Penzion Mensik
Penzion Mensik
#6 of 11 in Kromeriz
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Penzion Hrozen Kromeriz
Penzion Hrozen Kromeriz
#8 of 11 in Kromeriz
8 reviews
0.1 km away
Penzion U Kubesa
Penzion U Kubesa
#1 of 6 in Kromeriz
23 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Bezmerovsky Dvur
Hotel Bezmerovsky Dvur
#4 of 6 in Kromeriz
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerny Orel Hotel & Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerny Orel Hotel & Penzion

Address: Velke namEsti 24, Kromeriz 767 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Zlin Region > Kromeriz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kromeriz
Price Range: €41 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerny Orel Hotel & Penzion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of the building dates back to the 15th century however in 1734 there was the first mention of a pharmacy at „Černý Orel“ so one of the rooms in the restaurant was named “beer pharmacy ”. Our brewers brew unfiltered and unpasteurized beer according to classic Czech technology. The main brewer Martin Hrubes and his assistent brewer Vladimir Juchelka take care of the whole process. A team of chefs is led by Executive Chef Peter Formanek. The team prepares not just national and regional dishes, but try to satisfy the public with various special daily and weekly menus. The team is also able to prepare beautiful banquets and weddings. Executive chef Peter Formánek received a silver medal in the fruit and vegetable carving World championhips held in Luxemburg in 2010.During the first year of operation, in 2010, we received a reward in the Building category for the Zlín region . We also received a certificate in the project „ Czech specialities“ for regional and national Czech cuisine at the end of August. Our beer was awarded as the best beer in the country by a local radio station. Four of our beers have obtained a diploma on the beer festival . You will find us and our products at various festivals in 2011.We also support local music artists by organising live concerts. Twice a month you can enjoy a pleasant evening at a concert like jam session, or swing. We offer accommodation in our hotel „Černý orel“. There is a capacity of 8 rooms or 22 beds and 4 extra beds including breakfast.We are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cerny Orel Hotel & Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing