We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star hotel. Disappointing breakfast, cleanliness needs improvement”
Review of Hotel Burgas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Burgas
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Burgas
Canada
Level Contributor
350 reviews
280 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“A 3 star hotel. Disappointing breakfast, cleanliness needs improvement”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a satisfactory hotel - a solid 3 star property - but it is distinctly average to below average in key areas such as cleanliness, amenities, food quality, and facilities. I'll try and list the pros and cons of the hotel below.

ADVANTAGES
- good location downtown beside the pedestrian mall.
- lots of restaurants nearby within a very short walk
- general neighborhood of the hotel appears to be quite safe and secure, and is well lit
- reasonably quiet property (only has about 25 rooms, 6 rooms per floor).
- fairly new building (probably constructed sometime after year 2000).
- reasonable prices (€50 a night including breakfast and free wireless internet).
- excellent internet speed.

DISADVANTAGES
- very poor cleanliness and building maintenance throughout the hotel
--- burned out bulbs in the halls, the elevators, and in my room
--- very dirty carpets in the rooms, not vacuumed frequently, need a shampoo, lots of hair, debris, stains, etc. on carpet

- air conditioning did not work in my room (no cold air coming out of it)
- bathroom fan and air conditioner fan both very noisy - both sound like they were made by Harley-Davidson
- Not possible to lock the room door from the inside (no night security latch)
- Rooms are on the small side of average (although not extraordinarily small)
- Difficult to find the thermostat in the room, because it is mounted 1 foot off the floor!
- No garage or secure parking area - cars must be parked outside in public lot
- Very unimpressive breakfast, thoroughly picked over by 9:30 and not replenished
- Tang (flavoured orange crystal drink) instead of actual orange juice at breakfast
- Restaurant open only limited hours - not possible to get a coffee when restaurant is closed


To sum up, its an OK hotel, a solid 3 star, but not a 4 star by any means (there is no pool, no fitness facilities, only limited restaurant hours, breakfast is served for 2 hours only each day, etc.). It's probably towards the high end of average for Eastern Europe.

I would return and stay here again, but by the same token, I would also have a look around the town and see if there was anything better before I returned.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
16
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelos, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This place is really good.
Me and my family did not have a prior reservation and we found the hotel by chance while driving around the city center.
Rooms are big with a great view over the harbour. Bathrooms were very clean.
Staff went their extra way to make sure that our TV receiver had all the channels advertised.
Free high speed internet and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olsongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed there with my co-worker while on a business trip.
The hotel looks and feels great. The staff is very friendly and speak fluent English.
Rooms are spacious meticulously clean. Food was awesome.
If it was not for a policeman asking me for 50lv outside the municipality building because i did not have an ID with me, it would have been the perfect holiday. Oh well, I guess double standards are nothing new in the city of Burgas and the local Ministry of Interior.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maishe112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel is one of the most beautiful I have stayed at.
The design is stunning. Rooms were very spacious and clean. bathrooms were very clean.
It is right in the city center. There was a breakfast buffet as the staff was very friendly.
If you have a computer they have free very fast wifi connection.
They have a beautiful fountain outside of the hotel, which according to the locals has not been activated due to corrupt Chief Architect for the city of Burgas.

Room Tip: call in advance and book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fionna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I am usually somewhat skeptical about the places that I stay in while in Eastern Europe.
However this hotel takes the cakes and eats it.
Despite having some difficulty while navigating through the narrow streets, they have reserved spaces for hotel guests. The staff were very friendly and I was offered to use one of the complimentary hotel laptops. Internet is free and fast too.
I stayed in a standard double room, which was very clean and had a wide choice of TV channels. Bathroom was very clean.
I was right in the city center of the city, which is a good thing but also because the city does not clean the main beach, so many of the other places that are "right next to" the beach are infested by bugs.
Furthermore the hotel has a very good french type of kitchen restaurant on the top floor that overlooks the harbor. Overall I highly recommend it.
They have a very pretty fountain in the the front that I understand due to corrupt City Chief Architect is kept inoperable. Shame on the mayor.

Room Tip: will stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgas
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel & SPA Primoretz
0.9 km away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#2 of 21 in Burgas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Aqua Bourgas
Hotel Aqua Bourgas
#3 of 21 in Burgas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Orchidea Boutique Spa
#25 of 110 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
29.9 km away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#47 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bulgaria
Hotel Bulgaria
#4 of 21 in Burgas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burgas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burgas

Property: Hotel Burgas
Address: Khan Krum 5, Burgas 8000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Burgas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Burgas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burgas 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A state of the art building with 20+8 standard double rooms and 4 luxury apartments, Burgas Hotel is situated in the centre of Burgas just meters away from the Port of Burgas and the Rail Station. It is a central but very quiet area with many services and shops situated nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Burgas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing