We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I imagined”
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luz de Luna
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“More than I imagined”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

What a find. I hadn't decided on my last spot in Costa Rica and followed advice from a fellow traveler. I was able to book a room at the Luz de Luna and luxuriated in the care of Felipe and Patricia, hoteliers. It's about a 20-to-30 minute walk to the beach (there's a free beach and the National Park beach--$6 entry for non-Ticos.) and offered AC (which I didn't think I needed but I was grateful for) TV (again I think I wanted this but used it) and a great deck for early morning yoga or late afternoon whatever. There's even a pool. The hotel has a nice restaurant and breakfast is included. There was also a good restaurant on the highway nearby (also a grocery store. At the end of my stay I was able to book an Easy Ride into San Jose for $55 from the Tourist Info center on the North side of the highway bridge. The mini-bus driver picked me up at the hotel--super easy, good ride and on time.) I enjoyed speaking with Felipe and the other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllMimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    39
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
69
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a great B&B in the heart of Uvita.

Our double room was simple, clean and reasonably priced (even for peak season).

Beach access is about a 5-7 minute drive away.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place is definitely a great option if you like to be close to the beach as well as to Uvita center. Most places in the area are not easy to access if you don't have your own car. This place is located on a side road just off the main road in Uviat. It is about 1 - 1.5km from the park entrance of the National Park and has a restaurant on spot.

The rooms a nice and heading on to a terrace where you find space to sit and relax. All rooms come with A/C and TV. The bathrooms are speacous. The food at the restaurant is very delicous, I ate there before when visiting Uvita.

Owners are very friendly and helpful with information about the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeckoTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunham, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Wonderful stay at the Luz de Luna. Owners are very nice and kind (Felipe brought back our wallet we forgot at the restaurant) and easy to talk to. Central location, yet quiet (not directly on the main road), comfortable, clean. The food (specially the chicken) is very delicious, the best restaurant in Uvita. We recommand this place with no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myleneoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke poges
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Definitely the place to stay. Great location, within easy reach of the main road yet very quiet and peaceful. Rooms were great, fairly basic but comfortable, clean and air conditioned - a must! Service was excellant - nothing was too much trouble. Always looked forward to typical Costa Riccan breakfast on the veranda and the spit roasted chickens by candlelight in the evening were delicious. A great base from which to travel and a very welcome dip in the pool when it was hot. Would love to return..............
.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bofaStokePoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
6.2 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.8 km away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 12 in Uvita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.0 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 12 in Uvita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.1 km away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Property: Hotel Luz de Luna
Address: 200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing