We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
334
316
105
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
316
105
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews csm road baga beach cleaned every day reception staff fantastic holiday excellent location bars and restaurants curries private beach week stay indian food north goa nice pool rooms are big visited goa off season titos lane
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed from the 21st-25th of December.
Decent size rooms was the first thing that struck us. Hotel's back entrance opens out on Baga beach which is its biggest USP!
Service is adequate, staff polite and rooms were always cleaned up and properly. Housekeeping was prompt.
Wifi doesn't really work in the rooms which is a big big downer!
Bathrooms- Hot water is not always hot and shower area could do with foot mats and better drainage of water. Given the pricing however and we were 3 guys it didn't really matter.
Hotel being walking distance to all the hotspots at Baga is a real advantage.
Breakfast buffets were adequate though their North Indian fare e.g. Aloo Parathas are bad.
Overall decent experience given the location and if one is travelling with friends.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank romitnagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Shri Nagpal, it is so pleasing for the Team CSM to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria. As for wi fi, it is a problem all over Goa. The wi fi is provided complimentary at the reception, restaurant and pool area. In the rooms it is paid service.
Our break fast Buffett has a very large spread of both Western and Indian. Indian items cover regions of India and is not restricted to North. If there was any issue with hot water, we wish you had brought it to the attention of the house keeping.

Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

To begin with, the main picture of the hotel here in tripadvisor (of the pool area) is not at all up to date, it doesn't look like that anymore. It is now renovated and much nicer.

The hotel is located very conveniantly, by the calmer part of Baga beach.

The rooms are not luxurious, but they have everything you need . 2 of the houses are by the back street, and if you enjoy following the local life from your balcony, these are the houses to choose from. If not, ask for a room in the gardens which are quieter.

The restaurant was excellent! Very affordable. The same prices as the beach shacks, but for a better quality. We ate there every day and enjoyed everything.

Pool area is very nice, with good poolside service. Toilets are clean, everything worked just fine.

Personnell thoughout the hotel were all very conserned of your wellbeing, including the cleaning staff.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tomy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Tomy, it is so gratifying for the Team CSM to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria, Goan haven on Baga beach. And that you enjoyed the food at the resort's multi restaurant. We are grateful to you for writing a very incisive review . We look forward to serving you again I the not distant a future.
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Nice hotel close to the beach in Baga, Goa. Everything worked smoothly, hotel was clean and very pleasant. Extra thanks for exceptionally good service! We got useful tips and knowledge regarding the area, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OLM_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear sir, thank you so much for writing such a nice and precise review appreciating the resort and that you found every thing to be perfect and working smoothly. It is the endeavour and motto of the Team CSM that our guests must feel fully relaxed and rejuvenated after their holiday with us at Colonia Santa Maria.
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

OK So where do I start?

We first visited Goa in 2011 and stayed at the Riverside Regency Hotel near Baga River. As most of you frequent travellers are aware my partner and I caught the Goa love bug and after 5 years had to go back which we did in November this year staying at the Colonia Santa Maria.

After a fantastic flight from LGW to Goa on the Thomson’s Dream Liner we were dropped off by our excursion bus which looked like a long dusty dirt track. Due to both being tired from the flight, lugging 2 large suitcases down a dusty track was not what we had in store. Setting aside the tiredness, the adrenaline kicked in from the experience we gained walking down the track meeting shop sellers, looking at the restaurants and being followed by a number of friendly dogs. I guess the locals pieced together, the new arrivals are here 

We finally got to the Hotel which we noticed was very secure with security on the gates of the hotel. This made us feel very safe. We got to the check in desk and had to wait around an hour or so for our room which unfortunately was not ready. As we were waiting the heat was kicking in so we decided to go and have a beer while we waited for our room to be ready. After knocking back a large king fisher in a place called Cuba Bar (which ended up being our local) we walked back down the dirt track and was kindly escorted to our room. I have to say the hotel porters were great giving us a hand with our bags.

We were given room number 71 which was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the room. The room was very large with a big comfy double bed and also a sofa bed. The air con seemed to work very well. The TV also had a large selection of channels. The bathroom was also very nice with good supply of hot water when needed. The mini bar was constantly stocked and we were given fresh towels every day along with lots of bottles of water which was nice after being out in the sun all day.

After dumping our bags we decided to fight the jet lag and tiredness, put on some swim wear and find out what else the hotel has to offer. As we walked through reception we noticed a mixture of Indian, Russian and English travellers lapsing up the sun round the pool and having fun. The pool was a good size along with enough sun beds. The pool water was also a nice temperature. We noticed every morning when having breakfast the pool was cleaned to a high standard which was nice. So after a few back flips into the pool we were starting to build up an appetite.

The restaurant area round the pool we noticed was very nice with lots of choices of seating. Within moments the waiting staff were there on stand by asking if we would like to eat or drink anything. We decided to go for the chilli mushrooms, chicken lolli pop, lamb rogan josh and a garlic cheese Nan. 15 minutes had passed and another king fisher had been washed down we were presented with our food. My partner and I did not speak for around ten minutes while eating as we were so blown back with how tasty the food really was. We ate at the restaurant a number of times over the two weeks and would thoroughly recommend the chilli mushrooms, chicken lolli pop, lamb rogan josh and a garlic cheese nan. What we also found which was a nice touch from the hotel is they give you six food vouchers where you can spend up to 350 rupees per person per sitting. 5 stars for the food could not fault the restaurant. The food and drink was top draw.

Throughout are stay we became closer and closer, friendly and friendlier with the staff where we greeted each other by first names. The staff really do work hard day in day out and do their very best to provide you a world class experience. From the Gardner who watered the plants on our balcony every morning to the receptionists we did not have any issues with any of the staff. If I have to mention names we had a few favourites. Let’s start with Maria on Reception desk. What a star!

Every morning she would great us with a lovely smile and do anything to help us. She helped us with arranging excursions, making telephone calls, changing money, photo copy passports, and places to go. If you need advice or support with anything, Maria is your girl and a great asset to the CSM hotel. A big thanks also to the bar staff who looked after us over the two weeks and always made sure we had something to eat and drink.

Getting around Goa is very cheap and staying at the CSM really helps you getting to places due to the location of the hotel. The beach is stone’s throw away, and all the bars, shops and restaurants are within a 2 minute walk. Due to the great location we really got to visit lots of different beaches, restaurants, shops (chemist) and bars.

Here are a few recommendations

Beaches – Our favourite was Morjim Beach
Bars – The red Lion, by Calangute round about. Cuba Bar
Restaurants – Jamies, CSM Restaurant, Go with the flow, Retonda, Cuba Bar
Experiences – Taj Mahal (Outstanding)

Feel free to private message me if you require any further advice.

We will certainly be going back again in November next year! Don’t look any further, if you’re going to Goa, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank burman964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, Front Office Manager at Colonia Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

How very nice of you to write such a detailed review of your stay at Colonia Santa Maria. We are grateful for your very complimentary review and your appreciation of our staff, Team CSM is committed to ensure that our guests who come for their holiday with us from across the continents really enjoy their stay and feel relaxed and rejuvenated with their holiday. Sure we ensure that the food served at our multi cuisine restaurant is right. We look forward to serving you again hopefully not in the too distant a future and assure you of our very best services.
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

stayed there from 22nd Dec to 25th Dec with 2 friends. This property is adjecent to the beach and the main Baga beach road. Just nicely off the main road to get away fromt he noise and close to the beach and shacks.
The property is slightly old with interiors very basic. Staff were pleasant. Very well secured with security guards at the entrance and at key vantage points across the property. The charge extra for airport transfers which was a let down as I booke on makemytrip and was assured of a free transfer which was turned down by the resort.

overall good value for money and would love to go back

Room Tip: fantastic location on Baga beach
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhinav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Abhinav ji, team CSM is gratified reading your review that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria. This resort was designed by the famous Goan architect late
Mr. Lucio Miranda. This heritage property is built as a Portuguese village with villas surrounded by gardens, as you saw - a four star resort with five star facilities. Itis our endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy their holiday and feel relaxed and rejuvenated apart from being secure during their stay with us. We look forward to serving you again, hopefully not in the too distant a future.
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews