We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“my best choice ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
dining table upstairs. Nice spot for breakfast
living room
Sail on a local fishing boat directly opposite the villa
upstairs leading to the master bedroom
master bedroom upstairs
emerald green bathroom
blue bedroom
blue ensuite bathroom
shower in the blue ensuite bathroom
roof terrace
bar on the roof terrace
view from the roof terrace
Kytesurf spot in the lagoon directly opposite the villa
garden pergola
patio
patio
kitchen
gym at the back of the house
the lagoon at low tide
the beach opposite the house
swim in the lagoon at low tide
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sandro N
Matemwe, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my best choice ever”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

this house and his architecture is amazing. Very well maintained. Stunning entrance area with lobby character in arabic style. Very nice rooms!!! Some with seperate entrance, some with garden entry. A big and nice bathroom with shower in the groundfloor. Amazing water pressure and very comfortable shower heads- You have Chillout areas everywhere around the house. Beautiful garden with a big table, lounge chairs, bbq, beachbeds, and the birds singing by the morning breakfast down there. A sweet kitchen with all utensil what you need. Go to the local people and buy your food there. The absolutly highlight is the first floor and his bedroom with bathtub and an amazing terrace with ocean and village view. You can enjoy upstairs the sunrise and sundown. You watch to the ocean in a very privacy atmosphere and you can not believe how many colours and impressions you get. The staff is friendly and made a great job. The chef and his assistant cook all what you want in a very nice taste and with a nice service. The booking and payment is well organized! You feel absolutly safely and care there. You make 30 steps out of the house and jump in the indian ocean. And when you leave...you can`t wait to come back there. Thanks for this place!

highly highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the architecture is the best what i have ever seen on zanzibar for a rental vacation in this size
Liked least: enjoy sunset with a gin tonic from the house own rooftop bar!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne48
edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa, ocean views, great food and experience of village life”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From our first diary entry - "Kim was there to meet us at the airport and took us to the ATM and then the Villa. We are now sitting on the balcony overlooking the Indian ocean. One thing that we did not imagine was being in the centre of the village life! It was wonderful to arrive to children's laughter, the call to prayer and the smell of cooking and the beautiful colour and sounds of the ocean."

The villa is beautiful and we loved the top floor bedroom and adjoining veranda with its views of the beach, the ocean and village. We loved watching the daily life of the people of Jambiani - soccer games every evening, children running and playing on the beach, women and children digging for clams, the harvesting of sea weed, dhows leaving at sunrise, children walking to school at 6:30 AM... and much more. We thought that this would be a typical "beach" holiday but it was a much better experience because of being directly adjacent to the village.

Mohamed, Saide and the rest of the staff are lovely and we felt very pampered and well looked after. Breakfast is included Mohamed alwasy served fresh fruit and juice eggs prepared as requested. We took advantage of the optional dinner at the villa that Mohamed prepared. We enjoyed his cooking so much that we ate all but one dinner at the villa. Snapper, Kingfish, prawns were all prepared by the wonderful and creative chef, Mohamed with the assistance of Saide. The three course meals began with soup or salad, main course of fish (at our request) was accompanied with very fresh local vegetables, and then a delicious dessert. (We often saved some of our meal for lunch the next day). I do have Mohamed's recipes for pilau rice and banana bread, which I hope try as a memory of our stay.

The villa and our bedroom were very clean and well-maintained. We were always comfortable and felt safe and secure. We loved the resident cats Ginger and Zuzu, who became our friends during the 5 days we were there.

There are a lot of things to do in and around Jambiani. We walked through the village several times, went to Stone Town (Mohamed arranged transportation), swam when the tide was in, walked on the beautiful clean shell covered white sand beach and sat in the back garden which was so well tended by Saide. We also went on a dhow cruise of the lagoon (also arranged by Mohamed). Most of all we just loved the chance to rest, read, and enjoy the sounds of the water crashing on the distant reef and the sounds and smells of the village.

Raphael provided excellent support during the booking and throughout our stay... even helped us with the ATM arrangements.

Thank you to all who made this an amazing visit to Jambiani.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review... everything was wonderful
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryLeeTr...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, wonderful staff, very near the beach”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I'm not sure how to rate this house. In some ways, I loved it, and in some ways, I didn't. Stayed here with 6 other family members, including 2 children and 2 seniors. The kids loved the back yard, but this house is NOT right on the beach. There is a small hotel between the house and the beach. However, it is right on a sand 'road' and not more than 25 feet to the beach. The house was quite unique and lovely. The house cook, Mohammed, is an amazing chef and an all-around great guy, I'm not sure if I'd come back here, but if I did, if would be for Mohammed. One of us has very dangerous food allergies, and he worked around that with no problem. Ask for his garlic soup!

The beach anywhere near this house is fairly unswimmable. It's full of coral, seaweed farms, and lots of trash. A very nice beach area is only a ten minute walk away, but we were disappointed with the immediate area. Don't walk barefoot on the beach unless you want to cut your foot on glass. Speaking of the area, it was loud. LOUD! People talking and yelling till late and night and children being loud early in the morning. In addition, we were there during Ramadan, which apparently includes a parade and LOUD drumming from 1-2 am most nights.

The manager, Kim will take you to a store to get anything you need. You might want to plan on that on the way from the airport. There are no stores within walking distance and no stores anywhere that take a credit card. And no ATM. Get all the cash you need before you leave Stone Town!

There is no WiFi in the house at all, despite what this site says. So, if you need connectivity, walk down to the Coral Rock Hotel Restaurant. They have fairly good WiFi and good food. DO NOT go to the hotel restaurant right in front of the villa. They have just about the worst food and service I have ever experienced in my life!

In the end, my review for Mwendawima is - some huge plusses and one huge minus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing chef!
Liked least: The beach near the house - lots of trash.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Hi Mary, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a nice stay in my villa. As discussed I am sorry with what happened with the beach during your stay. The tide brought some rubbish from the sea but this could have happened anywhere.. I only experienced it once in many years and it was very unfortunate. A fishing boats or oil tanker must have discharged their rubbish in the sea and it ended up right in front of my house that day :(
But I can assure you that usually the beach is as per photos, beautiful white and clean. I traveled 5000 miles to build this villa and wouldn't have done it if it wasn't on one of the most beautiful beach in the world. Zanzibar and Jambiani especially are famous for their beautiful white sandy beaches. I also work with the hotels nearby to ensure it gets cleaned in the very unlikely event this happens.
The whole of Jambiani is very swimmable and even at low tide you can walk 5 minutes towards the reef and as per photos you can swim also. Some people only swim at low tide as the colors are even more beautiful.. The photos speak for themselves.. The sea view and the landscape are unique..
The village was loud that week with traditional music and drumming for the end of the Ramadan cerebration, I actually wish I was there to experience it with the people from the village, it must have been real fun, and marriages also in that period. But never late at night.
Zantel the internet provider had to be switched to a more efficient provider and you are right, there was no wifi in the four days you stayed in the house. I am sorry fro this, it is now sorted and very efficient.

Kind regards, Raphael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogihog
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best ever!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband, son and I have travelled to Mocambique, Seychelles and Mairitius. Staying in this Villa made us totally fall in love with Zanzibar. We loved the location and the closeness of the community and the beach. The house is glorious, worth every cent. Mohammed the chef a MUST. Such care overmeals. In house massage, everything totally totally wonderful! Tks so much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisaTM
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Beautiful Getaway Beach House”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Six friends and I stayed in Mwendawima Villa for four days. The house was beautiful, with wonderful staff and right on the beach. The food prepared by the house chef was delicious, so I would highly recommend having dinner at the house during your stay. We even had a friend who has food allergies and he was able to accommodate for her. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the East Side of Zanzibar.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing